We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good "go to" place”
Review of Bistro 44

Bistro 44
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 44 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Woodbine Avenue
Transit: Public bus stop located in short walking distance.
long island, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a good "go to" place”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bistro 44 is in our rotation of places we visit pretty regularly, we sit at the bar 9 times out of 10

The food has never dissapointed - but to be fair we usually will stay in the appetizer/Salad/Burger mode.

Red wine choices are not abbundant but they are decent wines.

Yes the place is cozy and go from "looking dead" t packed within minutes.

If you are NOT going to the theatre be careful what time you go there as those tables will get preffered treatment as they have to be there by 7:45

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longisland_NYKleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not running back anytime soon.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went here for dinner on a Sat. night. Did not have reservations and had a short wait at the bar. We were seated in the middle of this small restaurant and the tables around us were empty at the time. Other guests were seated at the surrounding tables a bit later on. I should have seen the signs up front when our waiter started taking care of those tables that came after us and left us for last. We ordered a cheese plate for an appy in the hopes of splitting it. Oh well. That didn't work. A mouse would have walked away hungry from this dish. My wife ordered a Kobe burger and I the french chicken. The food was good, but the problem was that tables that had ordered after us had been served well before us. The staff seems very disorganized. We watched everyone who came in after us leave well before our waiter came by to find out if we wanted dessert. The cotton candy was a nice touch, but did not make up for the lousy service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank insidegame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Service and nice cozy terrace !”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went with our kids. Food was ok, I expected a little better. The service was great. The waiter went out of his way to make us the drinks we wanted and was very attentive to our request. The terrace was great, we felt like we were in Italy. Cute little place to go with the family and then stroll around the town, go by the water and take kids to the playground.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VPonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
368 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food in Northport!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went to Northport on a Friday evening, had many choices- heard good things about Bistro 44...what a pleasant surprise...excellent service and amazing food!! Somewhat pricey but not excessive...great for foodies....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjeff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you can sit outside...”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This small resturant on Main Street offers fair priced good food. If you can sit outside in the grape ivy covered courtyard, well it makes the food taste better somehow. Really nice spot to dine al fresco.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joekonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 44 also viewed

Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 
Northport, Long Island
Northport, Long Island
 

Been to Bistro 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing