We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent--highly reccomend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John W. Engeman Theater

John W. Engeman Theater
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The John W. Engeman Theater at Northport is Long Island's only year-round professional theater, casting its actors directly from the Broadway talent pool. Featuring stadium-style seating, state-of-the-art lighting and sound, and The Green Room Lounge.
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent--highly reccomend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great show(s). Beautiful venue. Free valet parking. Bartenders are very good. Acting is terrific. I will be back and you should definitely check out this spot. All seats are good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“*GREAT SHOWS*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Extremely well done performances ! a Very close 2nd to Broadway ! We always ENJOY the shows we see here and and the Children's Shows are Wonderful for the kids. The staff is so friendly and looking to please. Well worth attending ! Great Value !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dbalboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Staff were very friendly, seats were comfy. Nice cafe and good quality show for local theatre. Pizza place across the street was awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jowanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved this place... it is so beautiful inside....and we enjoyed the show. The village of Northport is extremely charming and very walkable.
we will be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful addition to Northport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've lived in this town for many years and continue to love every part of it. The Theater replaced a cheap movie theater that actually was a town favorite on weekends. Live theater is wonderful especially locally when most residents can walk there and eat in town.
I've taken my grandchildren there for their special weekend plays for kids and they loved it. The Theater is beautiful and,at $60, compared to NYC, a good price. Some of the local restaurants have dinner/theater combos, but it's usually less expensive eating on your own.
The reviews of the plays are always excellent and it's a night out without the hassle of driving and paying for parking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliajjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John W. Engeman Theater also viewed

Old Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to John W. Engeman Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing