We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
92
36
7
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
36
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiddie rides factory museum amusement park gift shop carousel animals self guided tour band organ hidden gem young children admission includes hand carved on display indoor carousel niagara falls full size get away back in the day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Kids had a blast and continue to talk about it months later. They’ve expanded since I was a kid!!! Nice to have a local place to get away with the kids for a few hours!

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum is a historic carrousel factory in North Tonawanda. Purchased by Allen Herschell, a Scottish immigrant, in 1915, the complex (seven interconnected structures originally built around 1910 for the King Lumber Company) was home to the Allen Herschell Company, a notable manufacturer of wood carrousels and kiddie rides, until the late 1950’s when the company moved to Buffalo. The company shipped its first ride from the factory complex in 1916. The museum opened to the public in 1993 with a fully operational, Allan Herschell Company carrousel from 1916. Areas of the museum factory accessible to visitors include the carving shop where 50-75 carvers worked, a woodworking shop, a paint shop, a storage area, an upholstery shop, a machine shop, and a roundhouse. Note that carrousels were assembled and tested in the roundhouse before shipping. Look for the Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum at 180 Thompson Street in North Tonawanda. Admission ($7 for adults, $5 for seniors, and $3.50 for children) includes access to all museum exhibit areas and one ride token. Extra ride tokens are $0.50 each. All interactive ride exhibits require one token per person. Fun facts: The vintage carrousel in the roundhouse, a “Number One Special”, is 40 feet in diameter and features 36, hand-carved, jumping, wooden horses in a three-abreast configuration. It was built in 1916 and operated in London (Ontario). The carrousel rotates at 6.5 revolutions per minute and was intended as a thrill ride for adults. Its lead horse, a white stallion with a gentle face, is named Billy. Visitors can ride the historic carrousel for one token. During the fall season, the Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum is open Wednesday through Sunday from 12:00 in the afternoon until 4:00 in the afternoon. The museum is closed from January through until April. Tours of the museum are self-guided. Budget between 90 and 120 minutes to appreciate everything including the Wurlitzer Music Roll Department exhibit. Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum is operated by the Carrousel Society of the Niagara Frontier and is listed on both the New York State Register of Historic Places and the National Register of Historic Sites. There is a small, on-site gift shop stocked with carrousel-themed apparel, candles, kitchenware, jewelry, jewelry boxes, music boxes, and ornaments. There is no on-site food or beverage outlet. Parking is available on site at no cost.

Thank burr6013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

My sisters and I went to visit the museum while we were visiting Buffalo. I had been to a great carousel museum in Connecticut and really wanted my sisters to see what my attraction was to the carousel horses. We were not disappointed. They have quite a collection of horses and other sculpted pieces such as hogs, dogs, and chickens that people usually don't think about. There is also an old ticket booth, kiddie carousel, and workshop where restoration can be done. The collection of Wurlitzer sheet music is really impressive. The highlight of the visit was our ride on the old large carousel. We were given each a wooden token to ride with our admission and we certainly loved the experience with the music playing and all. Outside is a collection of children's rides such as the horse and buggy, helicopter, boat ride, and car ride. It was wonderful to see how these were restored and how community members and businesses donated funds and time to complete the job. They have a well-stocked gift shop with something for everyone. The staff was outstanding.

Thank bravefilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

This carousel museum was very interesting and historical. We especially liked the horse carving section. Just think how long it took and with great talent these artisans were to make such wonderful rides.

Go see this place!

Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

I was checking for "other things to do" in the Niagara Falls area, and as soon as this museum popped up I knew it was a "Must-do"! The very modest admission price lets you into the workshops and storage rooms of a Carousel and Amusement ride factory that was once one of the largest employers in the area. The self-guided tour brochure is enhanced by informative videos. The displays cover the history of the carousels and carousel horses, the music players that were part of the carousels and other amusements, as well as the growth of the amusement park industry and additional amusement rides. There are, of course, many beautiful carousel animals on display. And the price of admission includes a ride on a 1918 carousel! There are special activity areas for the younger patrons, as well as a special kiddie carousel. This little museum is a gem!

Thank newland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Yes, the Falls are amazing, awe inspiring and powerful, but face it, it all looks the same after a while. That's why my wife and I love to look through local information displays for little known gems like this. It is not expensive and will not take a long time to do, but it is a fascinating look at the history of carousels, including how the "player piano" type rolls for the carousel organs were produced and how the horses and other types of riding seats for carousels were carved and produced. There are local volunteers who are only too happy to answer your questions and there is an active 1918 Carousel to ride and a (more rare) Kiddie Carousel (under 50 pounds only, sorry!) On the big Carousel, couples should ride in the "Love Tub", a feature not usually found on today's modern versions.

Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Located in North Tonawanda, New York, this museum is a short car ride from Niagra Falls. If you have a passion for this old fashioned amusement ride, are a child at heart, or just have an interest in local history, this is a great place to visit. They have a collection on display of various carousel animal styles dating over a sixty year period. Beautiful horses, a wild boar, and even an ostrich are among the variety on display. If you're more interested in the creation of these works of art, there is a large wood carving shop to explore that also includes a department of music rolls for the Wurlitzer.

There is a small Kiddieland testing park outside for little ones to ride old fashioned amusement rides. We were too big to ride, but what a blast down memory lane! I had to take a picture with the boats. We had this ride at our local amusement park when I was a child. I remember when I was five or so and ringing the bell on the boat every time I passed my grandma watching me from the gate.

The highlight of our visit was riding on the 1916 #1 Special carousel accompanied by a Wurlitzer military band organ. The antique wooden horses along with the American band music transports you to a glorious past, imagining a time when these carousels thrilled adults on their jumping and racing horses.

If you plan your trip in advance, check out their events. You might be able to enjoy a special presentation, woodworking class, or even meet Santa.

Thank emilymaehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We were able to stop by when there were a number of charming and well informed volunteers working there. They took time to show us things and share stories. What a fascinating visit. In addition to preserving the history of the Carrousel factory, there is a lot more there. The display on making the paper rolls to play these old organs was a particular favorite. The passion with which these folks brought the stories to life made all the difference.

Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

The museum is a little gem. Travelling back from Niagara Falls we stopped by. I had my 5 year old daughter with me and thoroughly enjoyed the tour and riding the Carrousels. This is a must on any visit to the area. The staff are knowledgeable and passionate about carrousels. And there is more than carrousels on offer. Anyone remotely mechanically inclined will enjoy the visit. There is also a nice gift shop!

Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae P, Manager at Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you so much for visiting and for taking time to write this positive review. I am happy you and your daughter enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Allow an hour. You will leave feeling years younger, a broad smile across your face & a carousel song in your heart. A children’s & separate “adult” sized carousel to ride, demonstration of carving a horse in factory, gift shop ( no food so eat off site), & children’s indoor toy/old time creative area (coloring, crafting, wooden games of checkers, etc). Can be hot on a hot day as only gift shop is air conditioned. Cool off by riding carousel! Free parking area on site. Also small amusement area for children & used to test rides & amusements. This museum is a visual treat for all ages. Just go!

Thank Off_Beaten_Tracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae P, Manager at Herschell Carrousel Factory Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope to have the Children's Gallery air conditioned by the end of 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews