We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Return to Excellence”

Garnet Hill Lodge and Ski Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Winter arrives early to the Adirondacks. It is not unusual to be cross country skiing at Garnet Hill by Thanksgiving. Early season storms quickly transform the Adirondack wilderness into a beautiful world of white mountain vistas and snowy woodland scenes. Come up to the magic world of winter! Discover snowy forest trails and the winter scenery of the New York Adirondack Mountains. Garnet Hill is a true mountain resort where you can discover all the fun and adventure of cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. Enjoy miles of scenic groomed trails. Take a ski lesson! Watch your kids ski. Enjoy a backcountry ski journey. At day’s end find the warmth of friends and good cheer by The Log House fireplace. At Garnet Hill you will find: • 55km trails, groomed daily, set tracks & skating lanes • Complete ski shop – rentals, sales, & repairs • PSIA certified ski school with lessons daily • Kids! Ski program, weekends and holiday weeks • Unique “ski down – ride back” shuttle bus – the longest ski lift around! • Full moon night skiing • Center, Lodge and Restaurant open daily
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We moved to NYS in 1974 and immediately became avid cross country skiers. Over the years one of our favorite places was Garnet-Hill Ski Center. Our children, now young adults, spent many of winter weekends there skiing with us, in lessons and in ski-club. The place has changed owners several times since these years and the quality and dedication to the sport and families had waned to a point of us not choosing to frequent it. However, it was with heartfelt enthusiasm my husband and I skied there Sunday. The trails were well groomed, the ski shop staff was once again helpful and knowledgeable and several families were there for the "No Child Left Inside" ski program. For the first time in 8 years I will reconsider purchasing a season pass!!! Thank you Don & Mindy!!!

Thank NYaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

16 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

great value and really friendly people, ski hire was helpful and had an excellent lunch for $11
room was mid week and we were upgraded to an excellent room, with a stunning view, would happily stay there again

Thank AlexS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just returned from five days at Garnet Hill Lodge and Ski Resort. It was wonderful! We arrived during the brief warm-up to 46F on Sunday, hopeful that ski-friendly temperatures would return. A fall to sub-zero that night brought winter back to the mountain, and the icy conditions on Monday morning were resolved with aggressive grooming by the staff. We skied every day, and with a little new snow mixed in, trail conditions kept improving. Every time we went out we had more fun!

We snowshoed up to Balm of Gilead Mountain one afternoon with some other guests from the Lodge and had a great time. What a view! Back at the Lodge, sitting around the fireplace we met up with some old friends and made some new ones. We've met some very nice people over the years right there by the fire.

Dinner was great, the staff was friendly and attentive, and we even got a piano concert from Don, the owner! We've been going to Garnet Hill for many years, and have seen many changes. Don & Mindy (and staff) are doing a great job of making the Lodge the sort of place that feels like home. We can't wait to go back!

Thank Moses A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife & I returned from our annual XC ski trip to Garnet Hill Ski Center today. We've been going to Garnet Hill to XC ski for the past 12 years. Garnet Hill has had an excellent reputation as a first class Nordic ski center for many years. We noticed last year that the trails did not seem to be well maintained or grommed. We attributed this to the new ownership and assumed that things would "get better". This year the trails were even worse! They were very icy, unsafe, and scarey! There were very few other skiers over the weekend (Presidents' Weekend) and everyone we talked to on the trails at Garnet Hill and in North Creek agreed that the new owners are not interested in grooming the trails as they should be maintained even though they have the appropriate equiptment. We were very disappointed in the XC skiing at Garnet Hill and will find somewhere else in the Adirondacks to do our XC skiing next year. We would not recommend Garnet Hill for XC skiing to anyone unless the owners make a dramatic committment to improving the grooming and care of the trails. (David & Debbie, Allentown, PA)

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don P, Owner at Garnet Hill Lodge and Ski Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear David,
I'm very dismayed to hear that you had such an unsatisfactory experience at our cross country ski center. It must have been this past Monday that you visited us, as that is the only day where the cold weather produced icy conditions on our trails so far this season. And I admit, we did not handle the situation properly. We had had a major rain storm the previous Friday which soaked the trails with moisture, but grooming and skiing were still great because the temperatures were warm enough to prevent icing. But by Monday that had changed dramatically as temps dropped below zero and we were not able to groom as well and as easily as it had been earlier. And so we failed to change our tactics sufficiently and soon enough to allow skiers to still enjoy the trails as they should have been able to. And so I apologize for this lapse. By Tuesday we had recovered a good deal of skiable trails and with the help of a little fresh snow our trails are once again as pristine and beautiful as they have been all season. I can only apologize again and promise you that this situation will not happen again.

In the big picture, I would have to say that Mindy and I are wholeheartedly dedicated to maintaining and improving the trail system, grooming and overall skiing experience at Garnet Hill Lodge far beyond where it has been in the years leading up to our ownership. That's not to say that we haven't made our share of mistakes but it is not because of a lack of trying or dedication. What we have done is make significant improvements in the trail infrastructure with proper mowing and trimming, new bridges and culverts where needed, trail smoothing and leveling, as well as signage improvements and upgrades. We've also invested in new machinery as well as in maintaining existing machinery to manage the extensive trail system that we have in summer and winter. We've also invested in a larger, better trained staff that is dedicated to providing a great skiing experience at Garnet Hill.
So with all that as our personal commitment to improving every aspect of skiing at Garnet Hill Lodge it is very disappointing to hear that you are not planning to return based on what happened to you this week. While so many people have been telling us what a wonderful time they've had skiing with us this season and that things are so much better than ever before, it is only those who can tell us where we are lacking that can help us improve in the future. So I thank you for your honest feedback and hope that you will consider coming back to try us again in the future. If you do, just let us know and you will have a free trail pass with us.

Don Preuninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Manicured miles of trails were wonderful. A great mix of pick-your-own adventure trails. We found even the most challenging trails enjoyable. $22/person is a little spendy so we tried to ski as long as possible.

Thank emily o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garnet Hill Lodge and Ski Resort also viewed


Been to Garnet Hill Lodge and Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing