We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely overpriced and overall not a pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hellas Santorini
Ranked #78 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hugely overpriced and overall not a pleasant stay.”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Very overpriced. It is a 1pm hike up a hill away from the town centre. Advertisement led us to believe it was a lot closer. The images on the website certainly make it look a lot nicer than it is. The pool is very small and cloudy. It was not clean and we didn't swim in it for that reason. I saw one person swim in it in the three days I was there. The beds weren't made each morning, instead only fresh towels were given out. Not great room service considering you're paying 85 euro a night. The reception area wasn't very clean and felt more like stepping into someones house as there were kids toys scattered everywhere. The breakfast didn't consist of much and was almost an inconvenience when you turned up for it. The end time was 10 and ebb I arrived at 950am there was nothing laid out and 10 minutes later I got tea and a slice of bread.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah198h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    16
    18
    39
See reviews for
8
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful in accommodating us. The hotel was close to the Fira (10 min walk) and the bars, restaurants and bus stops. Staff was helpful in directing us how to get to various locations on the island. Room was standard for the price compared to other places we stayed during the trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylan41245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We got the last room available. This room should simply not be rented - the room is a dungeon, probably a converted storage room. It had NO windows except translucent ones 10 feet off the ground. While there was absolutely no view, the high windows did allow in a bright spotlight at night, with NO drapes to close, so the room was very bright as we tried to sleep. The owners did offer us free breakfast to compensate for the poor room, but the breakfast was instant coffee, bread and ham. This was by far our worst hotel experience in three weeks in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeb123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fira hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Very Close to Town Centre- Fira. 10 minute walk. Pool was great as weather is very hot. Owner of Hotel spoke English!!! was able to help us on questions. Quality of room was very poor. The rooms were not cleaned during our 4 day stay. Beds are very uncomfortable and showers are extremely small. Pillows are as flat as a sheet of paper.
Our family can adapt to all conditions,however comfort in this hotel was not there at all. If you want to stay somewhere affordable but with NO comfort this is the hotel for you. We kept on thinking we ARE in Santorini after all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_501960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

When we called and asked for a room the owner described it as a good room for 4 girls, with wonderful view at the sea in her wonderful hotel which has a pool and it's 300 m from the bus station. Not even close! We struggled our way to the hotel for more than 1 klm of uphill under the hot sun to find a plain room with view of fields and the "sea" - meaning something blue on the other side of the island.

Pros:
- Close to Firostefani [5'] and about 15' [on your way down] to Fira.
- The room was big with 4 separate beds.
- It did have curtains
- The owner was very kind [she didn't admit though that she lied about the distance bus-hotel although we seemed very upset]
- It had a small pool
- we got towels on our first day there
-The prices were very low: 100 euros/room for 4. U can't ask less than 25 euro/person in such an expensive island

Cons:
- The room was Awful! No phone [!], tv, refrigerator, hairdryer. The smallest bathroom I've ever seen, we could even move in there without touching the walls, not to mension the fact that having the toilet almost IN the shower makes u fall in love with the free showers of the beach, which are cleaner!!
- There was a cleaning lady but no fresh towels - they expected us to use the same for 5 days.
- The walls where extremely thin, everyone could hear u and u could hear the next door couple fight for nothing
- The pool seemed dirty and hot, it was extremely small and I can't see why anyone would go in there. Not much of a con though, when u can take the bus and go to the sea.
- After complaining about the distance bus-hotel [don't even try it without a car when u're carrying luggage] the owner booked as a cab to the bus station [which is as mentioned in about 1 klm away]. The cab owner turned out to be her husband and he charged as with 5 euros [for 1klm!!] and not 7 [!] as he would normally do, because we stayed in his fabulous hotel...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules_Cristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The room I stayed was very comfortable. I liked the location as well. It is the first time I stayed in this wonderfull island and I want to come back soon. Nice owners, very friendly. See you in my future stay with you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea of Aegeon
Sea of Aegeon
#73 of 80 in Fira
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Odyssey
Hotel Villa Odyssey
#69 of 80 in Fira
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#46 of 80 in Fira
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#60 of 80 in Fira
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Asimina
#67 of 80 in Fira
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#59 of 80 in Fira
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellas Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellas Santorini

Property: Hotel Hellas Santorini
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hellas Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hellas Santorini Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing