We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Mia in Real Life”
Review of Galatia Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galatia Villas
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mama Mia in Real Life”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This hotel was incredible. It is in the main town of Santorini and only a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. The views around the entire island are breathtaking.

Upon our arrival we were treated like royalty. We received a map with directions and instructions for what to do/when to do it/ and best way to see Santorini. The hotel manager is very friendly and happy to do whatever he can to improve your stay. My sister and I had three large bags (I do not recommend taking that many -- but she had just finished a study abroad program in Paris) and we had booked a small room. He was concerned that our luggage wouldn't fit so he upgraded us to the suite! I was shocked!

The hotel is only a quick 5 minute walk from the main streets/market in Fira, but well worth the price for location. On walk towards Galatia, you can see ocean views. The hotel also offered free wi-fi. It was really strong - we were able to use video streaming with Skype - and had no problems.

On the day we were leaving, the hotel manager's wife had the same plane flight. Instead of booking us a taxi, he volunteered to drive us to the airport with his wife! Overall, I was touched by the kindness and generosity I received at this hotel. It was a fantastic stay and I would absolutely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanSouci_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    95
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
181
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Excellent place to stay.The only small problem was the tiny bathroom. The staff-owner was very friendly and helpful.The distance from the center of Fira, is only 5 min walking.The breakfast was excellent and the room is comfortable and nice.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFSTATHIOS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I'm more than a little tardy with this, as my girlfriend and I stayed here in May of last year, but my opinion is the same now as it was then.....we loved this place! The room was perfect - very unique and lovely, but very comfortable as well. The owners were fantastic - we didn't see them often, but when we did they were always helpful and kind. On our final day, they even gave us a ride to the bus station (actually, we were all set to walk, but they INSISTED that we let them give us a ride).
As for the location, as I said above, it is off the beaten path, but it's still no more than a 15 minute walk to the heart of Fira (slightly uphill going to town, downhill coming back), and frankly, we liked being in a more quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayarea74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Firstly, I would like to apologise for the very late review here. It seems that our feedback maybe only one of small number of less the favourable reviews for this particular establishment. My partner, best friend and I chose this small hotel because most of the reviews on Tripadvisor were favourable at the time of booking. We accept & understand that feedback and advisory sites like Tripadvisor are designed to purely offer help to potential travellers.

So with all this `mostly positive´feedback in mind, we booked Galatia Villas. The place looked great. It was neat and tidy. And yes, the bathrooms were quite small in comparison to the room size. But no real drama there. The hotel was, as suggested, slightly off the main thouroughfare. But the daily walks through the safe and mysterious alleyways were pleasant at any time of the day or night. Sometimes we even had the pleasure of watching the sad old donkeys wander past us to their stables. Exactly what you would expect to experience in Santorini.

What we didn´t expect to deal with was the fact that our room had been double booked on our first night at the hotel. Upon arrival we were politely directed to the `good friend´s spare room next door´ (a very tiny room NOT quite what we paid well in advance for). At first this could well have seemed a genuine oversight except for the fact that my best friend accompanying us also had her room double booked on her second night. Thus when we moved to our actual room for our second night, our friend had to pack and move her things into the `good friend´s spare room next door´. All this double booking left a bad taste in our mouths. It seemed that the overly friendly (bordering on too smooth) owner Yannis (John) had a habbit of overbooking in order to double his income. A bit unethical we suggest! We weren´t happy about this as this seemed an extremely ordinary way of practicing business. Especially considering the accommodation competition out there.

Added to this was the way in which Yannis requested us to mention his name at any eatery or car hire place we were advised to dine or rent at. As if implying that he was to get a personal kickback for promoting business within the community. Understandable if our host hadn´t let us down. But this was a tad insulting given the circumstances.

The Galatia Villas are a decent place to stay if you can be guaranteed that the manager doesn´t let you down by overbooking. The breakfasts he prepares are not the breakfast he rush sells you into upon your arrival. Don´t let him talk you into the Spanigh Omelettes as they will not appear. The best you will get is some very dried bread and a boiled egg. So if you want try risking your first breakfast there do so for your first morning just to test if you like it. Otherwise we suggest you walk those cute alleyways and just go eat in the main parts of Fira. You can get decent breakfasts for around the same price as the hotel. Or for a similar price you can even buy your own stuff and put them in the small fridges provided. Our room had a small kitchen. So we bought cereals, bread, fruit, milk and juice for a few euro and prepared our own. The weather was nice enough to eat outside on the tables provided. And the breezes were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OZMARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I would recommend staying here if your on a budget but still wanting nice, clean accommodation. I would definently stay at Galatia Villas again. The owner is fantastic!

Pros - Staff were very friendly & helpful, great location (10min walk to centre), good breakfast, nice views, great atmosphere, good value for money, free internet, clean rooms, quiet area

Cons - hard beds

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We enjoyed three nights at Galatia Villas and were favorably impressed with the hospitable hosts, fairly quiet location, decent breakfast and clean room. Our hosts were able to help us locate our luggage, which had gotten delayed in Rome, and didn't arrive until the next morning, find taxis, and find reasonably priced restaurants, etc. Although the room was fairly small, it was very clean, with a nice balcony area outside with ocean views (other side than the caldera). My only caveat is that the beds were very hard, but that was the case in all the hotels we stayed at during our visit to Greece.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandyAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We booked Galatia Villas through Expedia and got an excellent price for a five night stay, I booked Galatia Villas based on the previous reviews and photos from trip advisor, its proximity to Thira, and price!

On arrival and booking we were given the room right next to reception, it was quite noisy the next morning, but the owner offered us another room round the other side and, as we had booked a day trip, kindly moved all our belongings for us. The other room was nice and quiet. The rooms are spotlessly clean and, apart from the teeny tiny bathroom and regular flooding of after every shower! the rooms were great, good size, everything you need, however the studio we booked was described as having a kitchenette which would suggest facilities to cook with. There was plenty of plates, cups, glasses etc but no pots or pans to cook with, there were two hobs. We checked if we could borrow a pot but were told the hobs were for warming milk for coffee only? Of which a small utensil for milk had been provided. We werent too fussed about this as we intended on mainly eating out, however if you had planned on using the kitchenette for self catering purposes I could imagine you would be a bit miffed!!

Another negative, unfortunately, was that the mattress on the bed appeared to be made of bricks and we struggled to sleep, it was a shame as otherwise the rooms are lovely and I do have to strongly state that for the price we paid it was an excellent place and only a couple of minutes walk to the town centre.

Santorini is incredibly beautiful with an amazing dreamy setting, you could literally spend every evening in one of the many lovely restaurants and bars watching the sunset. We spent a few evenings in Cafe del Mar which had a great setting but not so great price tag, 9 euros for a glass of wine!! And sampled some wonderful authentic Greek cuisine. It is obvious but you pay premium prices for the restaurants/bars with the caldera view, going just a couple of streets back from here you find some great restaurants with much better value pricing.

We did take a day trip to the volcano and the hot springs on the smaller volcano, it was a great day, very good value, booked with the tourist info in the town centre, it is really busy on the big volcano though with loads of boats/tourists on the trail, and this was out of peak tourist season! But it was definitely worth the trip and to see Fira from the boat on the way out and back. We also spent a day at Kamari beach, unfortunately is was a bit choppy the day we went but there were still plenty bathers and sunworshippers!! We aslo went to Oia for dinner and to watch the famous sunset, Oia is beautiful and smaller than Fira, it did though seem more touristy as all the coaches are coming through and the streets were lined with people as the sun began to set.

All in a great holiday and good value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.3 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#45 of 79 in Fira
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#40 of 79 in Fira
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#57 of 79 in Fira
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#27 of 79 in Fira
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galatia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galatia Villas

Property: Galatia Villas
Address: Next to the Laografik Museum, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#24 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galatia Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galatia Villas offer 6 double rooms and 4 studios that can accommodate up to 4 people. Some rooms have sea views while others overlook the relaxing patio or even have access to it.All rooms feature modern amenities and are decorated with taste by paying attention to every single detail. The wood and burgundy in conjunction with the dominant white color gives warmth to the rooms that will make you feel relaxed all day.Studios also have a sofa bed and dining table to give even more comfort to you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Galatia Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galatia Villas Hotel Fira
Galatia Hotel Fira
Galatia Villas Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing