We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantic Spa Resort
Ranked #55 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at Villa Romantic for 3 nights in early September. First off the owner is wonderful, anything you need she will take care of. The room and bathroom was spotless clean, fridge and AC provided plus balcony with nice view. Breakfast was good with bread/butter/jam, yogurt, boiled egg, cake and canned peaches. You can have it brought to your room if you like.

The only downside is the location. Yes if you dont like walking and you choose this place you must rent a car or scooter. It is a 15 min uphill walk to bus station and main part of Thrya. On the way back the walk is not so bad because its downhill.
IF you dont mind walking then this place is just absolutely wonderful !!
I would definately stay there again if i returned to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParTime13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    25
    5
    12
See reviews for
21
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here in late August this year, the manager is extremely friendly and very helpful. Location is just out of earshot of all the action but close enough to walk comfortably. Rooms are comfortable and cool, TV aircon and decent bathroom. Lovely pool and friendly, welcoming and homely staff, Would recommend for families, couples or singles

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is a good 15min walk uphill to get to the city centre. We were misled by the location on the site and walked for 30min with our suitcases under the hot sun. Apart from wrong location, the bathroom was extremely small and the shower didn't hang on the wall. Room was good with a nice balcony and the pool is good too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luca1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have only dropped a star on this review is because the hotel website is not particularly accurate about the position of the property. It is about 15minutes down a very dark and busy road from the town centre and it is certainly NOT city centre as even the address on this site suggests.
That said, once we had got over the shock at where we had ended up, we had a lovely stay and really appreciated how much less expensive it was than other places in town. Santorini is really really expensive, and this is a little oasis of old fashioned hospitality with a nice pool and great breakfasts. The owner simply cannot do enough to help. Rooms are clean and well looked after but not very spacious for a family of four + luggage (hardly any storage space), so pack light!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Santorini is unique and therefore the accomodation is expensive. Villa Romantic is a good option for security of accommodation without blowing the budget but it is not romantic or plush. The accommodation is basic, which is all we were looking for as we were only there for 2 nights to spend the day with friends arriving on a cruise ship for the day. If you want a memorable and romantic place to stay you are better placed in other hotels on the caldera - but you'll pay 3 times the price! If you don't need the upmarket accommodation or price you can get similar properties from owners selling accommodation at the port for half the price, but you risk getting something further away than yu'd like from Fira or kissing out completely.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in a quadruple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icklefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Clean, spacious, air-conditioned, a refrigerator for all the treat you can buy and our host, Kristina could not do enough for us. The breakfast is prepared with love, and so is the service. As a frequent traveler I would recommend this hotel. Great value, grate amenities and if the walk to Fira is a little long for you, just hire a scooter. Too easy!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank godmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice clean hotel run by a mum and her son who are very welcoming and friendly.

It's a 10 minute up hill walk into Fira but as we hired a motor bike we loved it was away from everything - it was so peaceful. We had a beautiful view overlooking the pool to the water and the rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. The bathroom is small but that is normal for Greece and at least there was a shower curtain. The breakfast consisted of bread, honey, jam, tinned peaches, an apple or peach, cake, tea or coffee and juice. The lady who runs the hotel is absolutely lovely gave us great recommendations and supplied us with a plate and knife so we could ave our super market bought lunch on our balcony (a lot of hotels won't let you bring food in).

Highly recommend for those who hire a bike or a car (best way to see the island anyway) but not for those who would struggle with an uphill walk and have no other transport.

Room Tip: Hire a bike or car to see the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#39 of 82 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#59 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#57 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thirasia
Hotel Thirasia
#65 of 82 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Petros
Pension Petros
#67 of 78 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Spa Resort

Property: Romantic Spa Resort
Address: The Center, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantic Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a quiet location just off the lower main road in Fira Town, the Villa Romantic is a small family property offering comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. This friendly property is the perfect choice for guests looking for a homely environment. This family-run property has 11 guest rooms,all of which are neatly decorated. All of the rooms feature a balcony or offer access to the pretty courtyard.Villa Romantic is built in a traditional Greek style. Each of the rooms at Villa Romantic is well-furnished and appointed with Greek paintings, satellite TV and spacious balconies. Enjoy a great start to each day with a sumptuous continental breakfast included in your room rate. From the privacy of your balcony, admire beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and the sea. During the day you can soak up the sun around the spacious pool area or enjoy a Greek coffee at the relaxed pool.Take a short walk to Fira's vibrant main square and visit the many local shops and traditional restaurants and bars. Fira town square is just 800 metres (15minutes walking) away from Villa Romantic. Benefit from free wireless internet access in the public areas of Villa Romantic. There is also a PC in reception that you can use it with small extra cost. If you're driving around Santorini, you can also enjoy free private parking here. Villa Romantic can also arrange the rental of a car, bike or motorbike to help you easily explore the surrounding area. Villa Romantic provides a free minibus service to collect you from the airport or port at your arrival.(That service is free for only one way at the arrival). Reception open/08:00-24:00 Check in/24hours Continental breakfast served/08:30-10:00 and included fresh bread, orange juice, butter, marmalade, croissant, yogurt, coffee or tea or milk, fruit salad - compost and homemade cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Romantic Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Romantic Hotel Fira
Romantic Spa Resort Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing