We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Totally recommend it!”
Review of Amerisa Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amerisa Suites
Ranked #68 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staying in this hotel was an amazing experience. The owner, George, is one of the few people in the island that made us feel welcomed. We were not expecting much as we booked it through an agency, however when we got there and saw the amazing room we staying in, with that fantastic view, we were really glad to have booked this hotel. I totally recommend it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 122 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a nice time at this "boutique" style hotel... with a small (shared) terrace/ porch with a view, and a bright and clean suite (bedroom and lounge).. breakfast was on a terrace room with lovely ocean views..
The manager was very helpful with info about the island, restaurants and helped organise a car rental - which is a nice way to see the island indeed..
the Fira town centre and old port (for ferries etc) is a few minutes walk from this hotel so the location is very convenient indeed... The villa / building is done in the Greek style and is quite charming to look at.. recommend this place - for a short stay, at an economical price!

Room Tip: upper floor will give you an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearytraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Although located on the non-pricey eastern side of the island this hotel still offers broad sea views from most rooms. The double room balconies have barely enough room for two people but do have good views. The 'suites' are in reality large open plan living areas but they do have larger balconies with better views and are located right next to the pool (which some would consider a bonus and others would dislike). The pool's size is more for dipping and relaxing than swimming but as the hotel has few rooms the pool is normally quiet (or unused) and it's not overcrowded.

George and his wife are excellent hosts/receptionists who go the extra distance to be helpful with information and assistance. All rooms are large, air-conditioned, spotlessly clean and have all the amenities you would expect. Fira town centre and the caldera side of the island are only five to ten minutes walk away (of which the first hundred metres or so is up a rather steep hill).

Here is the but...

During six or eight weeks of the summer tourist season the Fira authorities turn a couple of the streets into one-way affairs. This decision has the effect of forcing ALL traffic through the town to travel past the front door of the Amerisa. During the day there is the constant noise of water delivery tankers and tourist buses grinding their way uphill three metres from your door; which isn't a problem if you're planning to be at the beach or shopping. However, the annoying buzz of the noisy quad bikes that every second tourist seems to have hired persists through the late evening into the night. The noise can be considerably reduced by closing the heavy (inside) window shutters and the doors are very solid but the effect is not enough if you are a light sleeper. Alternatively, you can ask for a cheaper interior room which has no noise at all but at the expense of all views because they have no windows.

Without the summer diversion there would be hardly any traffic at all and at any other time of the year we would not hesitate to recommend the Amerisa but, if you have trouble sleeping, it is probably best avoided during tourist high season .

It pains me to have to write this because we liked this hotel and it's owners very much. It truly is a lovely hotel with great views and George and his wife are excellent hosts who try to make your stay pleasant and memorable. It's a pity they are on the wrong end of a town planning decision.

Room Tip: Although pricier, the open plan 'suites' are roomier inside and have larger balconies with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

First up, a warning: George, the owner, used to be a professional racing driver, and so the trip down to the port to catch your ferry will a white knuckle ride. But it is a complimentary trip - you'll be picked up and dropped off as part of your stay. And it's a good spot to stay. It's not on the caldera side of Fira, but it's a two minute walk from the centre of Fira, and its restaurants, shops, and arresting views. The hotel has its own views across the east of the island, which are breathtaking at sunrise if you can rouse yourself at dawn. George and his team look after you well; breakfast is simple, and WiFi is haphazard, but the welcome is warm, and tourist information always at hand. Small swimming pool, large rooms with private balconies (the upstairs suites are particularly spacious), and an easy location to get in and out of (hiring a car is highly recommended to get around the island). Avoid Lithos, no matter how much it's punted by the hotel - worst restaurant I've been to in Greece - but otherwise very happy tourists with no complaints.

Room Tip: The upstairs suites have the best views, and lead out onto the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanNicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We discovered this hotel when searching for an overnight get away to Santorini. George and his wife were so helpful in every way - directions (since we don't speak Greek), guidance in what to see during our short stay and recommendations for a most memorable sunset dinner overlooking the caldera.

The room was lovely and the amenities perfect. Breakfast was delicious and enjoying a great cup of coffee overlooking the sea was amazing. The hotel was in a perfect location and just the right size for anyone wanting to experience Greek hospitality.

we will definitely be returning to Santorini and can't imagine not spending that time staying at this Greek gem!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judylteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Amerisa Suites in May, 2012. George, the host, went out of his way to make us comfortable. Even drove us to the trail head to walk to Ia (a must for any traveller). Amerisa is clean and cozy with lovely, private patios looking out onto the sea. The breakfasts were very good and the setting of the dining area was perfect on the patio rooftop. It's a 5 minute walk to town and be prepared for some uphill climbs but you get to see a little of the local homes. The price is right, too, since you're away from the busy, touristy side of Fira.
I would recommend Amerisa Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

we really enjoyed our stay here. Coming from Vancouver, Canada I woke up at 4:30am and could not get back to sleep due to the jet lag. The hotel faces east so for 3 days I saw 3 incredible sun rises. And in the evening my wife and I walked about 15 minutes up the hill to Fira town center and watched beautiful sun sets. The breakfast is excellent; top floor and we would look out over the ocean. Afterwards we would move to the patio to finish breakfast sipping coffee. Breakfast took us 1 1/2 hours. It was our first time to Santorini and we would suggest you stay in Fira. We walked to the bus station(15 minutes) and picked the town, site, or beach we wanted to go to. The owner treated us really nice and included some very nice surprises. When we go back we will stay at Amerisa Suites again. Great price, great location, great people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garygreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
San Marino Suites
San Marino Suites
#23 of 81 in Fira
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
4.2 mi away
Marquise Suites
Marquise Suites
#53 of 81 in Fira
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dream Island Hotel
Dream Island Hotel
#15 of 81 in Fira
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#66 of 81 in Fira
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 81 in Fira
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerisa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerisa Suites

Address: Kontohori, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Price Range: $49 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amerisa Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amerisa suites, located in a captivating and unforgettable scenery, on the east side of Fira (the capital city of Santorini), 650m from the main square, the Amerisa Suites consisted of 10 Rooms and 4 Suites, is a new brand accommodation proposal to live and dream.Far from being an impersonal hotel, the establishment is more akin to a beautiful private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amerisa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerisa Hotel Fira
Amerisa Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing