We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.”
Review of Dream Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dream Island Hotel
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The hotel is on the quiet side of Fira town. It's 3 min walk to the center of Fira.
The owner of the hotel will pick you up from the airport / port. All the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is very good. If you don't care for the caldera view from your room, this is the best place to stay in Fira.
Don't forget to take the bus to Oia for the sunset and dinner. It's about a 20 min ride from Fira. It's the most beautiful town I have ever visited.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easttravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 516 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

This hotel is run by a very nice family and is very clean and darling. The staff is really nice and very helpful. The hotel is walking distance to Fira and luckily off the main road that is extremely busy. They steered us in the right direction for great food. The shopping is not great...lots of cheesy jewelry shops, rude store owners and tons of cruisers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We were not impressed by Dream Island Hotel. It was very average and I expected more for the money. The room and bathroom were just ok and I felt they could have been a bit cleaner and the breakfast was sparse. We preferred Oia over Fira after our first day. We cut our 3 night stay to 2 nights at Dream Island and moved over to Oia for our last night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateGeorgiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

When we originally booked this hotel, I was a bit worried about the hotel being on the non-Caldera side. We didn't need to worry as this hotel was the best of any other we passed on the Caldera side. The pool was huge and very welcoming after a long day sightseeing. We would have been lost without it. It is about a five minute walk up to watch the sunset and there are lots of little bars and restaurants that have a magnificent view of the sunset to sit at anyway. The room was lovely and spacious. Comfy beds and a great bathroom. There was even a clothes line, much to my mum's delight! The breakfast was delicious and a huge variety to choose from. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the free cherry water we received when we arrived after our flight. There is free internet in the lobby area. The hotel has been beautifully decorated and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Overall, I'm so glad we chose to stay here instead of the Caldera side. Everything you need is a short walk away, and this hotel was calm and peaceful. If we ever return to Santorini, we would stay here again in a heartbeat! Oh, and we also love Athina the 'watchdog' of the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_solo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We recently traveled to Santorini with two little ones, and had a great stay at the Dream Island. The owner and his wife spoke excellent English, and were very friendly and helpful in a genuine way. We felt very welcome. The free car service to and from the airport was reliable, and very convenient!

The hotel has a great location, outside of the rather dumpy Fira town center (on the main drag), but close enough to easily walk, and far off the road so that it is quiet. Good car rental outfit across the street. Lovely pool, with a view of the sea in the distance (not on caldera, though). Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The maid service was top notch. Great balcony overlooking the stylish pool. Only negative was very weak water pressure in the shower.

The free breakfast is not spectacular, but it competes with other free breakfasts at family run hotels, and is more than adequate. Good continental style options, plentiful coffee, in a pleasant breakfast area with arched stone ceilings.

If we return to Santorini, we will quite likely choose this hotel again, it has everything we look for, including free wi-fi, at a fair price for the island (which is beautiful indeed, but will suck all the money out of your pocket pretty quickly, especially Oia!!).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John6757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The staff and service at this hotel were both wonderful. They arranged our pick up from the airport and everything went on time and smoothly.

The room was pleasant (a lot of attention to detail in some areas, but not in others -a bottle opener would have been nice). There was no couch or separate table/desk with chair. I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time in the room for those reasons. But it was a pleasant room nonetheless.

Our own clothes line was provided on our balcony which we really appreciated.

The pool is absolutely gorgeous. The pool area has little couches under cover which create a very romantic relaxing atmosphere.

It is a short walk into Fira down the main road ( a little hectic and hairy with the traffic, but its okay.)

If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Fira with a brilliant pool at a really reasonable price, then this Hotel is it.

PS Loved the breakfast room (no view - but lots of character!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstravel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

When we first arrived to the Dream Island hotel we were dissapointed that it was not on the water. Some of the pictures from the website looked like it was located right on the shore. After we got settled, the room and the owners made us feel so welcome that we forgot that. Every question or request we had was addressed by them. The rooms had so many little touches that you knew a lot of pride went into the accomodations. I would recommend Dream Island.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank FLTraveler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.2 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
2.1 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Island Hotel

Address: 25th March, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $112 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "dreamy" hotel was built in 2006 according to the best requirements and specifications for you, since our aim is your best stay on our island all year long. We provide transport to and from the harbour and the airport. Our services include daily room cleaning, laundry, internet, safe box, mini bar, hair dryers, television, telephone, air-conditioning and best of all dreamy holidays and exceptional experiences for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Dream Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Island Fira
Hotel Dream Island
Dream Island Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing