We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay anywhere else - they have it all and deliver the best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dream Island Hotel
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else - they have it all and deliver the best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We really enjoyed staying in Fira and at this hotel during Easter 2011. It is a family run business and this shows in the top quality service provided. The family invited all the guests to a BBQ on Easter Sunday which is a tradition for greeks. The hotel is close to the town centre and market street - about 5 minutes walk and a few minutes more to the bus station. We did not hire a car and relied on the buses which was fine. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated and there is free wireless throughout the hotel (also a business centre you can use for free if you don't have a device with you). The breakfast served between 8 - 10 was good quality and fitted us up for hours. The pool is not really big enough for swimming lengths but it is big enough for a number of people to relax in undisturbed by kids playing down one end. If you tell the hotel when your flights/ferries are they will pick you up and drop you off for free. Thira was a lovely island and this hotel (despite the slightly cheesy name) was excellence would definitely return and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwikirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    85
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
96
223
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

It has been nearly a year since I stayed at the Dream Island Hotel, but it is still a fresh memory. We greatly enjoyed the hospitality and the quality of the accomadations. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was a nice touch. It was nice to be so close to the shops and the restaurants. If you plan to stay in Santorini for more than a few days, I do recommend staying here and staying at a hotel on the caldera side. We decided to do that because we wanted to be able to see the sunset and the sunrise. If we ever make it back to this beautiful island we will do the same thing and stay at the Dream Island Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikaBXDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We found the Greek people to be the friendliest we've ever met, and our hostess, Georgia, and everyone at else Dream Island, to be the best of the best. When we left, we felt like we were leaving dear friends. They were accomodating above and beyond the call, even managing to schedule a tour to the volcano during the offseason, when no one had started running them yet. Santorini itself is a great destination and one we would highly recommend. Very relaxing, yet plenty to do.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

The hotel is on the quiet side of Fira town. It's 3 min walk to the center of Fira.
The owner of the hotel will pick you up from the airport / port. All the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is very good. If you don't care for the caldera view from your room, this is the best place to stay in Fira.
Don't forget to take the bus to Oia for the sunset and dinner. It's about a 20 min ride from Fira. It's the most beautiful town I have ever visited.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easttravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

This hotel is run by a very nice family and is very clean and darling. The staff is really nice and very helpful. The hotel is walking distance to Fira and luckily off the main road that is extremely busy. They steered us in the right direction for great food. The shopping is not great...lots of cheesy jewelry shops, rude store owners and tons of cruisers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We were not impressed by Dream Island Hotel. It was very average and I expected more for the money. The room and bathroom were just ok and I felt they could have been a bit cleaner and the breakfast was sparse. We preferred Oia over Fira after our first day. We cut our 3 night stay to 2 nights at Dream Island and moved over to Oia for our last night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateGeorgiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

When we originally booked this hotel, I was a bit worried about the hotel being on the non-Caldera side. We didn't need to worry as this hotel was the best of any other we passed on the Caldera side. The pool was huge and very welcoming after a long day sightseeing. We would have been lost without it. It is about a five minute walk up to watch the sunset and there are lots of little bars and restaurants that have a magnificent view of the sunset to sit at anyway. The room was lovely and spacious. Comfy beds and a great bathroom. There was even a clothes line, much to my mum's delight! The breakfast was delicious and a huge variety to choose from. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the free cherry water we received when we arrived after our flight. There is free internet in the lobby area. The hotel has been beautifully decorated and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Overall, I'm so glad we chose to stay here instead of the Caldera side. Everything you need is a short walk away, and this hotel was calm and peaceful. If we ever return to Santorini, we would stay here again in a heartbeat! Oh, and we also love Athina the 'watchdog' of the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_solo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
2.1 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Island Hotel

Property: Dream Island Hotel
Address: 25th March, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "dreamy" hotel was built in 2006 according to the best requirements and specifications for you, since our aim is your best stay on our island all year long. We provide transport to and from the harbour and the airport. Our services include daily room cleaning, laundry, internet, safe box, mini bar, hair dryers, television, telephone, air-conditioning and best of all dreamy holidays and exceptional experiences for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Island Fira
Hotel Dream Island
Dream Island Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing