We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Philippion Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visited this hotel twice. The first time we found it so great, that we decided to visit it again the year after. Philippion is a beautiful hotel, with wonderful view at the sea and amazingly friendly personnel. The manager of the hotel Mr. Konstantinou is very nice, friendly and works with great professionalism. Last year we decided to get married at Santorini and booked about 10 rooms for our family and friends. Everything worked out fantastic and the organisation was just perfect! All our guests arriving at the airport or port of Santorini on different days and times were picked-up from the hotel, all reservations were right and all rooms were excellent!!!
The rooms are made of white minimal stone-look construction, which fits perfectly to the island´s unique style. They are fully equipped with new devices (TV etc) and they are probably the cleanest rooms we have visited in Cyclades. The pool is very beautiful with great chilling music and the pool bar very nice and convenient. Every day we and our guests would spend our mornings at the amazing hotel-breakfast-buffet and then at the pool. The breakfast is perfect, we really missed absolutely nothing!! Because of the wedding there were many issues that we wanted take care of, so Mr. Konstantinou, his wonderful daughter and all the personnel was by our side all the time. At the day of the wedding our room was amazingly decorated by the hotel and a bottle of Moet champagne was waiting for us in the wonderful suite they reserved for our wedding night. They even brought me a huge mirror, so that I can get ready before the wedding! The hotel is only 3 minutes walking from the center of Fira, but without the noise and limited space you usually find in hotels located at the center. All our guests were so amazed by the great service and the beauty of the hotel, that we received only the best comments. Important is to mention that more than the half of the guests were speaking German or English and this was absolutely no problem for this super friendly personnel. Philippion and all the people working there made us feel like a family during our stay and this will none of us forget. We know for sure where we´ll be staying the next time we visit Santorini!!! THANK YOU.

Katerina & Kimon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We picked the Philippion mainly due to its location. Just slightly out of Fira but only a 10 minute walk. I'm still not sure what a boutique hotel is, but neither am I in the UK. There is a free airport pick up but a charge of €5 pp for the return!!! The hotel was very clean and we found the service excellent. Although we had a balcony (room 104) it got no sun so was rather wasted. We only had breakfast twice but it was very nice with the usual European selection of cereals, breads, meat and cheese. The lunchtime / pool menu is quite limited but everything we tried was nice. The food was good value but a small beer a little expensive at €4. The biggest complaint we had was the pool sun loungers (mentioned by a number of others on Trip adviser), which are brick hard and very uncomfortable. We did speak to the reception about this and mentioned others reviews / complaints, but quite frankly they were not interested. A real shame as in general we were quite happy for the 11 days we stayed there.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Spencemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I were booked to stay at this hotel on the second leg of our Greek holiday for four night while on the island of Santorini. We chose it due to its location as we had little knowledge of the island and wanted to be central. It also looked very modern and clean from the pictures which it indeed was. We did not request a port pick up which we should have done really as the hotel were very good at transporting guests to and from the port/airport free of charge. On arrival we were a little gutted to hear that our room was unavailable due to an "issue" which was not really explained. We were told we were going to stay in another hotel in Firostefani which was the same standard. As we were keen to get out for the evening and see the sunset etc we obliged but on reflection when we arrived at the other hotel we should have really been a little less complacent as the hotel was awful - dirty and old. We were offered as compensation 10% off a meal at their restaurant in Firostefnai. A bit cheeky to be honest, 10% off a meal in Santorini is pretty much 2 glasses of wine! We were told we would be picked up the next day early, but when we called they said 2 hours which wasbad and then when we did get there the room was not ready, so we just went out and enjoyed the island. When we eventually got in to room late the second evening I have to say it was a great size, clean and large with everything you need. If I went back I probably wouldnt return to this hotel as I think you could maybe find better locations the other side of Fira nearer to Oia and Stefani, and sadly the attitude regarding the error just wasn't great, but overall for under £400 for 4 nights it was of a good standard and the transfers were very useful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventurer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in room 106 from 11th until 15th of September. On our arrival at the port of Athinios we were greeted by Giannis who drove us to the hotel. The location is excellent only 7 minutes walk from the centre of Fira. There is also a Carrefour supermarket very close. Our room was spacious and very clean. The pool area was great and certain services such as the use of safe, fridge and ironing of our clothes (which are charged in most hotels) were complimentary. Staff was very friendly and helpful and prices at the pool bar were low. I would like to thank all the staff and the manager for our great staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADVISOR2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I totally agree with the comments in Mathew T's review 13th Sept. we stayed 2 nights in room 102 and the mattress was a real let down for the room.
The room is right on the road, we heard no road noise and our balcony had fantastic views of the sunset.
Friendly helpful staff, emailed the hotel 2 days before arrival enquiring about transfer from airport and received free transfer with their driver waiting in arrivals with a sign for the hotel.
Cheap laundry service 5 euro for a small or 10 euro for a large bag of laundry

Room Tip: Organise your free transfer via email directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is very regular and gray, I think you can get better hotels for the same price. The staff is very indifferent and full of tourist. Comparing with other hotels that we have been in Greece, this one was no more than o.k. if you loock for an experienced staying, this hotel is not the one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Philippion Boutique Hotel. The location was great, just a short walk to the centre of Fira. The staff were very friendly, the room was very clean (cleaned daily) and the pool area was very nice. My recommendations to improve the hotel and make it even better would be:
- More comfortable beds. The mattress in the room was very hard and caused back-ache.
- Better breakfast. The breakfast options were very basic.
- A more modern bathroom
These changes would change my opinion of the hotel from 'very good' to 'excellent'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#19 of 80 in Fira
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Astir Thira Hotel
Astir Thira Hotel
#51 of 80 in Fira
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Greco
El Greco
#20 of 80 in Fira
1,787 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#26 of 80 in Fira
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#23 of 80 in Fira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippion Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippion Boutique Hotel

Address: Fira 84700, Greece (Formerly Philippion Villas)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $93 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Philippion Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011-12, Philippion boutique hotel is situated on the main street of Fira, just 250 meters from the city centre. This ideal position combines magnificent views of caldera and volcano with all major attractions. Offers comfortable and quiet rooms with unique design and all amenities, swimming pool, restaurant –bar and quality services from experienced staff 24 hours daily. Free arrival transfer and free high speed Wi-Fi are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Philippion Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippion Villas Hotel Fira
Philippion Hotel Fira
Philippion Boutique Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing