We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a phenomenally ENIGMAtic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enigma Apartments & Suites
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a phenomenally ENIGMAtic experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The Enigma staff was very courteous and equally helpful in directing us around Santorini. Their recommendations and travel tips saved us a lot of research time and effort - something we constantly had to do in Athens and Crete during our Hellenic honeymoon. To say the least, it was very comforting to know that we could always ask the girls at the reception desk for information about getting around the island.

The room service was excellent - everything from our bed (located on the mezzanine level) to the coffee table (located on the first floor) were nicely made up. We got a fresh set of bathrobes and towels (in the bathroom and on the hot tub) daily. The complimentary breakfast that was brought/served daily was ample and was almost always promptly brought to our room. Before breakfast was served, we received a courtesy call from the staff on a daily basis - this was a nice gesture that we really appreciated because, like most honeymooners, we stayed in bed a little longer on days when we didn't have to join a tour group.

The suite was, in a nutshell, perfect for honeymooners like us. The ambience was very romantic and comfortable providing us a haven to get the much needed rest and relaxation we sought. The "bath cave" was simply awesome. The daybed was set up perfectly next to the door - practically an open invitation for an after-breakfast/pre-lunch nap which we gladly accepted on a daily basis. It was nearly impossible for us to forgo the ritual.

Sipping the complimentary white wine in our personal hot tub outside the suite while enjoying the breathtaking view (of the Caldera) we only hoped to see in your dreams was perhaps the best thing we liked. It provided us a reason to spend more time at the suite during the morning and evening hours. It was also one of the things that made our trip phenomenally memorable.

Situated right in the heart of Fira, everything from the bus station to the cable car station were within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The town's most popular gyro/souvlaki joint and several souvenir shops were just around the corner from the hotel's entrance. The hotel's cafe that's built on top of it was very convenient to have on nights when a cup of hot tea was desired. The view of the Caldera from anywhere along the hotel's steps was amazing.

The one thing we enjoyed the least was the walk up the steps from our room to the street level. Fortunately, the walk was relatively short and bearable. Otherwise, we liked everything else about the hotel. We hope to revisit it again in the future. Thanks Enigma!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYTeamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    34
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
159
509
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My wife and I had been looking forward to this trip for some time. We came here on our honeymoon for 4 nights. Enigma definitely lives up to its number 1 slot on tripadvisor. Chrisoula and Lisa are great. They made sure we had everything we needed and would rival any concierge at any other hotel. They made dinner reservations for us at all the best places, booked a dinner cruise one night one of the Thirassa (highly recommended by the way), and made sure our whole Santorini experience was perfect. Chrisoula sat my wife and I down upon arrival and went through a map of Santorini telling us all their favorite things on the island and even which dishes to get at different restaurants. We had a jacuzzi suite (#8) and it was awesome. Two level suite with large kitchen, sitting area with tv, free wired internet access, and bathroom downstairs. The two bedrooms are on opposite ends of the room on the second level. The air conditioner works very well to cool the place down. The temperatures were mild while there but we were at a resort in Crete where the A/C didn't work at all and it got very stuffy in the room overnight. The view is great anywhere on the caldera side but having your own private balcony with a jacuzzi makes it even more special. We spent one morning just watching all the cruise ships and private yachts arrive at the old port. One of the major walkways/alleys was right outside the suite and we could watch the donkey parade go by as they made their way down to the port. Wonderful breakfast every morning delivered to our room. All kinds of breads, cheeses, fruit, smokey turkey, yogurt. And you can special order items if you want. The only slightly negative thing I could point out was the slipperiness of the stairs due to water drains. You must be very careful, especially at night when it's hard to see the surface. I'm sure this problem is not unique to Enigma.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyTheGreek_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Visited Santorini for 5 days this summer. Enigma Hotel Apartments was the right choice so as to enjoy the island to its full.
The room was comfortable, clean and well decorated with a perfect view on the Caldera and the Aegean. Not to mention the jacuzzi which added a nice touch of luxury and relaxation.
The service was perfect - the staff was friendly and willing to help at any time. At the reception, Lisa, always with a smile on her face and very fluent in german and english - giving the best pointers!
The breakfast was fresh-prepared, on time and above all... delicious!
All in all, I'm delighted I chose Enigma and I'd recommend it without any doubt.

Thank you all again for the great stay!
G

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Many many thanks for a uniquely romantic and calm honeymoon. Our room with the intimate balcony and Jacuzzi were so special and seeing the sunset, while soaking in the hot tub and drinking wine was perfect! We were promised a perfect honeymoon and were not dissapointed! We were very sad to leave and we will keep Enigma and all the staff in our fondest memories, because the true beauty we have experienced are the people of Enigma hotel. You all hold the true beauty of greek spirit! Our Santorini stay could have not been more perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Enigma, waking up to the views of cruise boats arriving, donkey trains going down to meet them with tinkling bells, and a couple of spectacular sunsets. Centrally located, with lots of good advice from Lisa, and wonderful service from the staff. Very friendly and homey.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

From the moment we saw the view from the door on the main Fira road we thought we were in a magazine. In fact, there was a magazine on the coffee table in the room and I thought, we are actually in that magazine - the room and views being featured in that magazine were where we were!
Room - a loft - clean, huge, comfy bed, all the amenities, an amazing full bath, the view - stunning (I can't put it into words), we had a jacuzzi with temperature control which overlooked the view of the water, other small island you see on the map interior of the crescent main island. umm, if I say anymore I would not do it justice - the most amazing view at a luxurious place.
Breakfast - great - served on the balcony - you should see the view from the private balcony - did i mention the view?
Service - I don't remember the reception's name - I know she was from Katerini! What an amazing person - she would ensure you put sunscreen on before you went out! Crazy how nice, and informative she was.
Look, pay the money, we only stayed one night - you will never forget it. Yes, it was worth the money. No doubt about it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellas199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The hotel is comfortable.
Nice location. Early morning volcano view.. mmm..- it worth seeing!
The best and friendliest staff we have ever met! Breakfast is wonderful. Free WiFi Internet is no bad. Nice service.
We will be sure to visit again in the future! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.0 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enigma Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enigma Apartments & Suites

Property: Enigma Apartments & Suites
Address: Ipapantis, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#2 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enigma Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Enigma Hotel in Santorini (Apartments & Suites) is perched on the cliff side of western Santorini, in the heart of Fira, the capital of Santorini island. Its wonderful location provides its guests with a spectacular view of the famous Santorini volcano and Caldera complex, the Aegean Sea, the island’s traditional old port and, best of all, the celebrated Santorini sunset. This view, along with the hotel’s excellent service and facilities, places it as a fine Santorini hotel in Fira.The Enigma Fira Santorini luxury hotel provides an amazing atmosphere for your holidays in Santorini. Enigma’s luxury Santorini suites, apartments and studios are elegantly-designed and feature a plethora of modern amenities that fuse harmoniously with the charming island-style architecture, creating one of the most picturesque hotels in Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Enigma Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enigma Apartments And Suites
Enigma Apartments Hotel Fira
Enigma Hotel Fira
Enigma Apartments & Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing