We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, a bit far..”
Review of Thea Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thea Studios
Ranked #21 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, a bit far..”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a nice hotel, all is very clean, the pool is nice and clean, you have a nice view from the hotel (but not a view of the caldera).
The owner is really helpful, he come get us at the port at 2:00 AM, he is always ready to answer our question and help us to find some good activities.
The rooms are a bit simple but really clean and soundproof.
The breakfast is good, not much choice but enough to eat different food everyday. Also, the owner offers free special coffee (frappe, freddo, ...)
One thing really annoying is the distance between the hotel and the town center. It takes around 15 mins to reach the bus station and 5 mins more for the town center, and the path going uphill.. but if you don't mind, this hotel is really a good value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipotlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    45
    20
    13
    20
See reviews for
39
81
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

While it had some appealing aspects, it was not up to the standard required for the price. Its best asset was that it is located on spectacular Santorini. There are no caldera views but a lovely view to the sea on the other side of the island. Hard to find initially (had to describe location to tour operators in Fira), but 15 minute uphill walk to bus stop in Fira made it relatively easy to get around if you like walking and are quite fit. The pool area was lovely. Outdoor breakfast area - breakfast was OK but very limited choices- fruit, yoghurt, bread, cheese, cold boiled egg. The staff were pleasant, helpful but quite casual. Rooms were very basic- at level of hostel only. Beds uncomfortable. Advertised "fully equipped kitchenette" was not even equipped with even the basics - hostels have much better. Would not stay there again - overpriced for standard of accommodation compared to others we saw on Santorini. Felt mislead by some previous reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

These studios are located 15 mins out of Fira which is good as it gets very busy. The walk is quite hilly and not to be done during the day. Although this was a necessity as there is no food served apart from breakfast. The pool area is lovely and peaceful. There are no caldera views as pointed out, but this is why it's so cheap. If you want caldera reviews, pay for them, and you'll pay through the nose too. Dimitri, the manager, is helpful. The rooms are very average, but are clean. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Without a doubt our stay in Santorini would have been more memorable if it hadn’t been for the poor choice of accommodation we made.
It took us forever to find this place, soon realizing the misleading address of Fira MAIN Street could NEVER have been where it was located out in the country side!
Was lead to believe it had a Caldera view, but soon realized all we had was a view of the back of the island.
If you love mosquito’s, this is the place for you!!!
Manager was helpful, but the rest of the staff unfriendly.
Bizarrely they swept the yard twice during our stay here, but never swept the dusty, dirty floor in our room once.
The bathroom was not clean and had limited hot water.
Was astounded to discover, the double bed duvet had no cover on it.
TV channels were snowy and dirty AC filter ended up making us so sick we needed to be on penicillin for a week.
Don’t bother rushing down for breakfast as this is better missed.
Hope I never make a mistake like this when booking a hotel again!

Room Tip: If a GOOD room is what you want with a CLADERA view, dont book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked this place to use for the day as we had a very late ferry ride. We didn't use it much since the room was kind of dingy, we had no hot water for our showers, the tv didn't work, and then we had trouble with the internet. The staff tried to be helpful, and I can see how this is a good option for those on a budget who want to be out of town but not too too far, but it didn't work well for us. The pool and common areas seemed nice, but we didn't use them. It was a little too basic for our tastes, and since we were really paying to be able to shower, I could have used some hot water and a few tv channels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenrothg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thea Studios is located neraby the busy city of Fira but....it is incredibly quiet and nice.The Studios are clean and spacious, the common areas are beautiful and from them you always have a stunning view of the sea and the city.The owner and staff are helpfull and friendly and from Thea you can easily reach every part of the Island in a few minutes.......very very very recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljoy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed for 9 days in early June of 2012. It was relaxing to be out of the bustling tourist area. Those cruise ships can make Fira quite chaotic. The only noise comes from the roosters and donkeys. I was able to go running in the hills. It was a short walk in and out of town. Grocery and bus stop were right as you got into town.

The staff is super friendly and one of the hardest working crews I've seen during my 7 months of traveling. Whether it was power washing the pool area, doing laundry, tending the landscaping, driving people around, answering questions, these guys were always doing something. The result is an extremely clean and well maintained place. There's not a chair or cushion out of place. They set such a great example that all the guests were mindful of leaving public space the way they found it.

Don't let clean leave you to believe this place is boring and strict. Theres nice music in the breakfast area. Two sweet dogs oversee the property. The staff while very professional is funny, nice, and laid back and cool to share a joke or have a beer with in the evening in the public area. Ask Kostas to cook you one of the rabbits he raises. He's a great cook! People who have older sons or grandsons, these young guys are what you wish your sons were like. Really a lovely place. I would definitely return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Khoyuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.5 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#46 of 80 in Fira
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#40 of 80 in Fira
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#9 of 15 in Karteradhos
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thea Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thea Studios

Property: Thea Studios
Address: Main Street | Panagia Stathiani, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thea Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thea Studios is a modern, newly build cluster of studios, apartments and rooms in original Cycladic style, located in a peaceful and relaxing corner of the most unique and erotic Greek island.Only 10 minutes – walking distance – from Fira, the capital city of Santorini, Thea Studios is the destination point as regards the accommodation, in this amazing island of great natural beauty. You may commence from Thea Studios your daily excursions and explorations to islandʼs resorts, beaches, sight seeing, night life … and not only! All rooms are well equipped, offering to our quests the required convenience so as to enjoy unforgettable relaxing vacations, throughout spring, summer and autumn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thea Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thea Studios Hotel Fira
Thea Studios Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing