We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, family run” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden Star
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Fira
2 reviews
“Great location, family run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay at the Golden Star was fantastic. Katherine was extremely welcoming and helped with anything needed. The rooms were very clean, the bathroom was a little small but not a huge issue. The pool was fantastic. Definitely worth a stay if you want to be extremely close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia123girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    79
    35
    19
    17
See reviews for
33
94
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trogen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a really nice place with comfortable big and clean rooms and a great Swimmingpool. It is within easy walking distance from the busy citycenter, yet quiet and relaxed. The family is very friendly and helpful. The only disadvantage is the breakfast. Fresh cheese and fruit would make it a lot better.

Room Tip: If you want some privacy, ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. 2 min walk into the centre of town. Great pool. My room had a little balcony with a sea view and I slept with the door open to let the cool breeze in. They picked me up from the airport and dropped at the port for free. Breakfast was basic but nice. Everything was great and Katherine was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here if I come to Santorini again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muxika, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice experience, very close to the center. Wonderful family in all aspects. They picked us up in the port at night and back again perfectly. All informations in the hotel and all facilities to make you stay wonderful. Pool was incredible!
Only to review: breakfast was simple and expensive. Better options in the centre.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool have big terrace area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacmen_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice before and both times have not been disappointed. The rooms are clean, the location is central and the pool is generous if you want a dip to cool down. We arranged for pick up to and from the airport which was handy and the service was excellent, with all our requests adhered to. Would definitely recommend this hotel for your next stay in Fira.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaP1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This family-run establishment is welcoming, clean and very accommodating. The family arranged to pick up our mother from the port, who was coming in on a ferry at 1am, and we were so thankful for that. They also were willing to take us to the port at midnight a few days later to catch our overnight ferry. It made transportation so much easier and I thank them for this special service. We especially loved the daughter Katherine, who offered us a taste of authentic Santorini wine and gave us recommendations for all things to see and do around the island. The whole family is wonderful, the pool is beautiful, the rooms are very clean and the location is perfectly close to the center of town and everything you need.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are larger and open up onto the pool, which is perfect if you want the easy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel twice now and ive been exceptionally happy with their level of service both times!

They are very accommodating with their rooms, brekky, transfers to/from airport or port.

Amazing pool.

Staff were also wonderful natured people.

i give 5/5 to these guys

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.3 mi away
Galatia Villas
Galatia Villas
#38 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#42 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Ilios
Villa Ilios
#59 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#45 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Star

Property: Hotel Golden Star
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden Star 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOLDEN STAR HOTEL is a family hotel 150m away from Santorini’s main town of Thira, with traditional Cycladic architecture and with a sea view to the east!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Hotel
Hotel Golden Star Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing