We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MAGICAL TIME IN SANTORINI”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fira, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Karen C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MAGICAL TIME IN SANTORINI”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My stay at Villa Dakoronia was beyond amazing. Everything I expected and way more.
The care from the Owners was fabulous from picking us up from the Airport, to baking
my daughter a birthday cake. Nothing was too much trouble. We had excellent space
for us all and everything was just perfect. I would recommend this Villa to anyone. You
won't be dissapointed. Karen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I love the feeling of being part of the owners family and the care they gave us
Liked least: there was nothing to not like
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patsydog
new york
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, limited view”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The hosts here are wonderful, they truly care about you and your vacation. Everyday they bring you yummy things to eat and want to help make everything perfect for your stay.
You should be aware that there are no windows on the front, sea side of the house. All windows face to the side, so when you are in the rooms, there is not a sea view, which for us was important. You need to go to the window, and slightly lean out to enjoy the famouse view. The roof has a nice view but it is marred by a huge electrical post and wires that is directly in front.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts
Liked least: the view
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2014
I would like to thank you for your kind review, also I hope that you have kept the best memories from your stay in Santorini. As you may have figured out , the town (Fira) has electricity wires along the caldera path. As about the orientation of the windows of the house the fact is that, there are also 2 window doors, facing the volcano, which is exactly in front of our house. From these window doors, our guests have access to a 30 square private balcony, where they enjoy all day the view of the town of Fira and the most part of the caldera till the southern part of the island. All the other windows are sunny, facing our lovely little garden, Fira town and a big part of the caldera. Except from the balcony, our guest can enjoy the view of caldera from the private patio of the garden. The view from there, is one of the best you can find, unlimited, without any wires.
Our daily care is all our guests are well informed and finally happy. For this reason all the photos of the house are new ones representIng the reality.

We will be very glad to see you again,
Joanna Dakoronia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Magical Villa Dakoronia”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Villa Dakoronia is a very special place. Perched on the cliff above the Caldera, the villa is lovely and very comfortable. It is also handy to the restaurants, shops and the funicular. The views are absolutely breathtaking, and the sunsets from the rooftop balcony are stunning.
We all felt sorry for the cruise ship passengers who daily hurried by taking photos of our beautiful villa as they passed.
Our hosts, Joanna and Memos are charming and delightful people, nothing was too much trouble. Memos even took us shopping, and carried our heavy suitcases up the steep path to his car! Thank you both for a wonderful week in September 2013 that we will never forget at beautiful Villa Dakoronia.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doctorait...
Abbotsford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant - if you go to Santorini, stay here.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

It is impossible to rate this place highly enough. Everything about it is great. As others have said, Memos and Joanna are the most delightful hosts. The location of this house is perfect overlooking the caldera and other islands. Very short walk to the shops and restaurants of Thira. We did the tour with Memos and this was a great way to start our stay with a comprehensive overview of the island with extensive details of history, contemporary info and recommendations. The little cooked surprises that Joanna left us were great and a delightful extra touch. I don't know how to describe any better how good our stay at Villa Dakoronia was. All I can say is, if you are going to Santorini, this is where you should stay. Thank you Memos and Joanna for the most delightful 4 days of our European holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, hosts, location, comfort
Liked least: As others have said, having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy L
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Left our Hearts...”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our expectation of the Villa and the Owners of the Villa were high. Everything that we read and researched about the island, the property, and the Owners of the Villa was incredibly lovely and might I say, "too good to be true." As we all know, if it's too good to be true...then, it is. Well, let me rest your mind and reassure you that our expectations were met beyond what we could have ever imagined.
All of the good things that are written about this property and the Owners are true...YOU DO NOT NEED TO LOOK ANY FURTHER. Trust me, you aren't being misled by this or the other reviews. We got to spend 8 glorious days of our 2 week trip at the Villa.
Memos and Joanna are the Hostess' with the Mostest. The Villa is spacious, clean, private, well appointed, and perfectly located. We loved the Welcoming Basket of Fruits and nice bottle of wine. The freshly baked breads that Joanna made were incredible. The lovely breakfasts that was prepared by Joanna and served in the outdoor patio under the portico was yummy and a great way to begin the day.
Memos took us to the grocery store to stock up on some provisions for the meals that my husband was planning to prepare. Then, we went to a bakery that had wonderfully baked breads and other baked goodies. My husband and I ate his tasty and beautifully presented Greek meals on the table located at the front terrace where we watched the sunsets. Each moment that the sun slowly dipped into the horizon presented a magical picture that can only be described as exquisite.
At the end of the day after walking around and exploring Fira, Memos and Joanna would ask us about our day and we'd share our experience with them. They offered other things for us to see and explore, but more than that we'd talk about life. We couldn't have ended our day any better.
Also, we highly recommend the 6 hour tour that Memos offers to the South side of the island. We stopped at the Monastery, visited a traditional Greek Village called, Megalochori, stopped at Red Beach, drove to the Lighthouse and White and Black beaches, then ended our tour at the Santo Winery where the view is phenomenal. Memos was a wonderful guide...informative, educational, and fun. He answered all of our questions and made us appreciate the rich history that Santorini has to offer.
While there, I celebrated my birthday. On that day after consuming one of Joanna's yummy breakfasts, she and Memos surprised me with a sweet birthday cake that was not only beautiful, but fragrant. They also presented me with a lovely gift. I was so surprised that I got emotional and shed a few tears of joy. I knew then that we were home. They made all of our dreams come true. We left something there that we hope they will find and keep forever in their care and that would be...our hearts. Efxaristo, Wendy and John Larsson. October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Memos and Joanna and watching the sunset.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev W
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Villa Dakoronia for 8 nights and it was truly amazing. It was in a fantastic position and the views were beautiful. The owners hospitality was all and more we could possibly wish for. We were met at the airport and on arrival at the villa were given a huge bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine to welcome us. Throughout the week we were supplied with various home made goodies - such a thoughtful thing to do. We were also supplied with a folder of all the local attractions to visit which was so helpful. It was like a home from home. I would certainly recommend this villa to anyone wishing to visit Santorini.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hospitality of the owners
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emkmcd
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss, unbelievable view!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A group of six of us stayed here for four nights, we were blown away by the view, the villa, and the incredible hospitality of the owners.

The location is perfectly close to everything (downtown, grocery, bike rental, shopping) and well equipped for a lengthy stay. Bedrooms were beautiful, but the rooftop patio stole the show. Caldera view without leaving the villa.

Thank you so much to the wonderful owners, you were a big part of what made our visit to Santorini special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View!
Liked least: Steps leading upstairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing