We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay ... Outstanding Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athina Luxury Suites
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Perfect Location ... but what made our stay at Athina Cliffs was the special attention we receieved from the hotel staff, especially the efforts (over and above) and hospitality we received from the hotel's manager, Lena. She was delightful from start to finish.

My wife and I enjoyed every second of our visit and we will surely return.

Steve & Alexandra Dodds

Room Tip: the views are exceptional regardless of room from what we could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked this off I Internet without much research...And what a find....the price is great, the service is incredible, includes breakfast every morning at a time that you request...fresh fruit salad, local Greek yogurt and honey a basket of bread, tea or coffee and fresh juice..enough to stash away for the day of breath taking views, excursions and walks you can do....a great big pool to cool off in..The best views you can get in Santorini as well, gets the first sun and keeps it all day until sunset..sunset views amongst the best in town too....we stayed five nights and loved every minute...I'm sure it's family feeling of welcome is due to the fact that it's family run....making everything just perfect.....Thank You to the lovely Lena and all.....

Room Tip: Every room has it's own charm, you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had our booking done through a travel agent who has not visited greek island's. We got the view! We got great attention and service from the morning porter breakfast gentleman and always with a smile. He works very hard! I must agree with other patrons that the wifi needs to get into 21st century and the rooms although clean were a bit under the weather! Room 3 was very quaint....with a very ordinary bathroom. You could say our shower became a shub!
The owner needs to visit and maybe take a check of what she is giving patrons for their hard earned money!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carotone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The night before checking in to the Athina, I scanned reviews on trip advisor and was left with mixed feelings due to members' differing accounts of their experiences.

Now that I have completed a 3 night stay (September 2013), I would confidently recommend room # 6 which has a loft and its own access to the pool and shared verandah.

My wife and I had an awesome stay and the only adverse comment or warning would be for travellers who have issues with walking up and down flight of stairs as Santorinin is full of them including the hotel.

Room Tip: Book with an agent or directly with the hotel. Remember that you get what you pay for - Santorini is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casinojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my first time at the Athina Suites, but my third time in Santorini...so I am writing this review with an honest and experienced opinion of Santorini. The Athina suites were fabulous.. our booking was fine and the rooms available when we arrived. The suites overlooked the ocean, and we had a private balcony. The rooms were generous in size, clean, and provided a mini bar and a fridge. The staff were fantastic, from the time they carried our bags to the room, to the endless cocktails they bought me by the pool. The only negative is that the Wi-Fi doesn't work in the room, and you need to go to the reception area to use the Wi-Fi. It was however, always available one in the reception area. The pool was clean, and the pool area small but sufficient. It is a fair way down the side of the caldera, but the walk up each day helps to burn off the cocktail calories. I would definitely stay at the Athina Suites again.

Room Tip: It is worth spending a bit more money if you can and getting the suite with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna_Llewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From start to finish we loved it here. When I booked through booking.com Lena from reception sends you a welcome email with lots of information. Then our plans changed and we needed to adapt the dates, Lena arranged it all through booking.com who had put the prices up, but Lena kept the original rates. When we arrived in Fira we were looking for the hotel, a nice guy from the Enigma suites offered to show us where it was and helped us with the suitcases, that shows that amongst the staff they know each other and are good between business colleagues. We met Lena who gave us lots of information about the town, the restaurants, the activities... She took us to our room and our suitcases followed. We had a welcome drink and later on a basket with fruit and a small bottle of wine. The room is big, it has a living room, a bedroom an ok bathroom and a nice terrace where breakfast is served whenever you want in the morning, it is a luxury!!!!! The room was a bit hot and the airco did not cool it enough in my opinion, but I use a hair dryer so I need the room extra cool. The swimming pool is great and the launch area is a beautiful place to watch the sunset. I did a lot of research before going to get "the view" I wanted and I was not disappointed. Once in Fira I was checking other possible locations for the amazing view and... there is simply no other hotel that offers the scenery. Also is far enough from the few bars that have music at night, so if you close the windows you hardly hear anything at night. Lena helped us organising activities for us and the rest of the staff was always friendly and there for you. When we left, very sad... they took our suitcases upstairs, so don't let it be a draw back because of the climb as they help you. We really loved it!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I dont know if all rooms have sea view but you should pay the extra and get the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the view is unbeatable and the pool most likely in the top 5 on the island but quite a few minor flaws (that added up quickly over the 4 nights we stayed at Athina Suites) made us grateful we hadn't paid full price.

Firstly a few good words for Renato's dad who seems genuinely commited to customer service and always responded with a smile and the words 'no problem'. He's a real treasure.

Now for the rooms which supposedly had a makeover recently. Nice design concept - poor finish and execution. Bathroom layout is completely retarded with door not opening fully, showerhead falls off the hook, front door is a nightmare to lock (or just broken?), air con wasn't working, complimentary fruit on arrival consisted of an apple, an orange and one kiwi (which looked sparse to say the least - why bother?)

Also hugely disappointing is the wifi signal. Most days you couldn't even get any right outside reception and if you could it was incredibly slow due to the fact that someone in reception considered streaming movies as working.

Breakfast was ok but we felt the amount of jam, butter, cheese etc on the greedy side and 2 out of 4 mornings there was no black tea only herbal. Nothing against twinings yellow label but again if you're paying top dollar how about the selection of earl grey, englisch breakfast, green, fruit and herbal or at least be asked for preferences?

As for the staff we are sure it wouldnt hurt much if the reception lady cranked a smile every now and then and if someone taught Renato the difference between being cool and polite.

Overall we feel Athina Suites need to rethink their concept and what end of the market they want to be at. Currently the room rates are wishful thinking when there's a dozen other options on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nAndyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
1.6 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#7 of 81 in Fira
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#3 of 81 in Fira
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina Luxury Suites

Address: Fira | Caldera of Fira, Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#35 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $284 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athina Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the most privileged location of Fira, on the cliffs of the caldera with unlimited views to the famous volcano, the sunset and the whole island, only a few steps away from the centre of Fira, but still with a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, Athina Luxury Suites is the place to stay in Santorini. Renovated in 2016 with exclusive materials, minimal design, upgraded services and rich amenities for those who want to enjoy privacy, high class services, comfort and luxury, always with this majestic scenery from every spot of the hotel. Athina Luxury Suites consists of one Junior Suite for 2 people, two Master Suites, loft style for 3 people, four Deluxe Suites with separate bedroom and living room, up to 4 people, two Honeymoon Suites, strictly for couples, with heated jacuzzis on their balconies. The unique Royal Suite is actually a 140 square meter villa, with a large heated jacuzzi on the private balcony, rare and precious pieces of art and furniture for up to 6 people. The new part of the hotel which is built in 2017 is the section with the 4 cave suites. Large jacuzzi on the balcony, unique design, luxurious decorations. All suites are equipped with LCD Sat TV 32", desk, hi-fi, free wifi, telephone, safe box, mini-bar, ironing facilities hairdryer, scale, beauty mir- ror, fine Guy Laroche linens and towels, bathrobes for every guest, slippers, luxury Hermes cosmetics, pool towels and much more... The large swimming pool offers a unique experience swimming and enjoying all the view from Oia to Akrotiri, a pool to infinity... Our coffee- bar-restaurant is open all day, with the most refreshing cocktails, serving some carefully selected dishes combined with a glass of fine wine or champagne during the sunset 'till the late hours. Athina Luxury Suites is also the ideal location to have your dream wedding by the pool facing this romantic scenery or just to enjoy your honeymoon in our special Honeymoon Suites. Our joy is to offer leisure and delight and to make the accommodation of every guest exclusive and unforgettable, emphasising individuality and privacy. Our concierge desk is always open, to every demand and request, arranging from VIP excursions, transfers, car rentals, yacht rentals, heli- copter rides, private dinners and every other need or request a demanding guest can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athina Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athina Repose Hotel Fira
Athina Repose Fira
Athina Luxury Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing