We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athina Luxury Suites
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location and views were excellent. Very helpful staff and clean comfortable and spacious room. Lovely continental breakfast served on the balcony. A few steps to negotiate which not suit all travellers but overall a great place to stay close to the centre of Fira.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobinsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena R, Manager at Athina Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again in Athina Suites soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    55
    23
    6
    21
See reviews for
58
210
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights whilst the views were amazing and sunsets beautiful the same cannot be said of the room. It appears very little maintenance is being carried out. Room was very small with a very small bathroom. My husband had to fix the shower door I could not slide it!! Shutters on outside broken. Bellboy was amazing he carried our bags up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rene008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena R, Manager at Athina Luxury Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you for your review of our hotel! Pity that overall picture was shadowed by room condition. I would love to offer you another room/suite, if you mentioned that during your stay. Hope that you had a good time in Santorini, in general and would return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booking a hotel room in Santorini is a difficult task considering the range of hotels and facilities the place has to offer. We booked Athina Suites only for one night and did not have a lot of expectations, however it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The steps that we had to climb down seemed nothing when we saw the view and the overall hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and enthusiastic. They offered us a free upgrade to one of their finest suites. The welcome with wine, the neat rooms and the lovely breakfast all were good. Only negative is the room lacks freshness, but that can be totally overcome with everything else this place has to offer. Overall a decent place and a steal at the price that we booked it for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swapna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena R, Manager at Athina Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Swapna! I am very glad that you have plesant memories from you stay. Hope you will return for more days in Athina Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We originally booked another hotel and 2 days prior to our arrival Expedia contacted us to say it was overbooked so we would be staying at the Athina instead. Lena and her staff arranged for someone to pick us up at the airport (10 eruos each) and her staff met us at the top of the cliff to carry our suitcases down what seemed like hundreds of step. (They did the same on the way back to the airport.)

At reception we were offered glasses of a local wine while we completed the paperwork and then were taken to our room. The room shared a balcony with a 2nd room which was not a problem for us. The continental breakfast each morning on the balcony was lovely and was a lot of food. Views from the balcony were beautiful, when it didn't rain.

Lena was extremely helpful and one night when we were too tired to climb the steps again, she had menus of local restaurants and once we had chosen the food she called in the order for it to be delivered to our room. The food was yummy!

When it rained on our last day, she allowed us to stay in the room past the normal checkout time until it was time to catch the shuttle to the airpoirt. During that time we wished that the internet worked in the rooms rather than not just outside reception and we wished there were more TV channels in English. Had it not rained that day we would have had no negative comments about the place.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena R, Manager at Athina Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and beautiful photos! Hope to see you soon in Santorini and, of course, in Athina Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
217 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite places on the planet. We love to hike, so the many steps everywhere were not a problem. Cosy rooms, great location, and gorgeous view of the caldera. In Santorini, expect lots of steps and small rooms because of the location. Everything on the caldera is packed together, but just use your terrace with it's gorgeous view as much as possible. That's why you're on the caldera in the first place. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bweis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena R, Manager at Athina Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest! Thank you for your wonderful words. I am very glad that after more then 8 months, you still remember our hotel. Best regards from sunny Santorini!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Santorini was going to be our second stop on our island hopping adventure in Greece. We knew that we were going to have a once in a lifetime view like no other, so we decided that instead of hiking, boating, walking, shopping, etc., that this would be the part of our adventure when we would splurge on an ulta luxurious room and do absolutely nothing, but enjoy our fantastic view from the balcony while sipping well made drinks. ...Unfortunately, this did not happen.

We hunted for a luxurious room with a fantastic view for months before making this booking. We were disparaged to find that we simply could not afford the kind of room we were hoping for. By chance, I came across the Athina Cliffside Suites Website. It looked fantastic, but again, I could see that it was well beyond our budget for this trip...we had several other Islands, Athens and Olympia yet to go. One night I decided to take another look at the hotel website..even if I was just daydreaming. That's when I noticed that they were having a 50 percent off discount on some of their rooms! I let my fiancee know and waited for a reply. Dadly, due to our busy work schedules, I did not hear back right away, and by the time I did, the sale was over.

I scoured the internet looking for other hotel deals, when I came across the same hotel at a very similar rate on Hotels.com. I booked it immediately. I often book with third party vendors and I never think twice about any potential issues that may arise. After booking, I went back to the internet to read up on more reviews of the hotel. Even at 50% discount, it was still quite expensive for us. I began to read about other travelers who had booked through 3rd party vendors and had arrived to find themselves without a booking. In some cases, they travelers were put into nearby hotels of a lower standard. I called Hotels.com to find out if these were true reports and what would happen if this were to occur on my trip. They informed me that it does happen on very rare occasions, but that they can be reached from any country and if it does, I will be placed into other accomodations at the expense of the original hotel or of Hotels.com. I asked if the replacement hotel would be of the same quality and she informed me that they would do their best to put me into a comporable hotel, but that it all depended on what was available at the time of arrival. She told me that in some cases, they have had to find a lower rated hotel for the guest, but that they offered refunds and other amends in cases like this - which she assured me over and over again, was VERY RARE.

The night before arriving, I sent an email to the hotel to let them know we would be arriving and to see if they offered a shuttle to-from the airport. The next morning, about 2 hours before our departure from Mytellini, we heard back that there was no booking due to "an error or their end", they informed us that they would shuttle us to a different hotel, which was just next door to theirs, for free (there is usually a fee for this) and that they would make up any price difference. I was very concerned, but went forward in good faith that they would find us a COMPORABLE hotel. They had booked us directly next door at the Porto Fira Suites.

When we arrived, I was relieved to find that the Hotel Porto Fira was a beautiful hotel with a gorgeous view and excellent service. I was told that Athina Suites would cover the substantial difference in price between the rooms (remember that I booked Athina at almost half price and Porto Fira was a regular price). I will make a seperate review of the Porto Fira Suites, but here I would just like to say, that I'm not sure why people who book via 3rd parties can sometimes find themselves without a room. I wondered if it was some kind of scam. They get to book the room at a greatly inflated "regular" rate to somebody else, while putting me in a less expensive room that I will probably love just the same? I have no idea. And you, the guest, must hope that an equally beautiful hotel is available at the time of your arrival. Who knows where we might have ended up if the Porot Fira Suites had not had a room available? Maybe it would have been equally fantastic, maybe not. I just don't know.

We did take a walk over to the Athina Suites and have a look around. Although the Porto Fira Suites were very lovely, cave rooms which were built into the cliff/volcanic rock, Athina Sutes did look, at least on the outside a lot more luxurious.

In any event, we were happy with the hotel they found for us and we decided not to worry about the "what-ifs" and just be satisfied that our vacation was not ruined. Especially given that this was supposed to be the most luxurious and beautiful part of our journey. Instead, I choose to thank the Athina Suites for putting us into a lovely room, in the same area where we expected to be - with almost an identical view.

...but be fairly warned that this kind of thing DOES happen at Athina Suites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanieFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great hotel in Santorini! All rooms have a balcony view with Caldera view. The room we had was a little small but it was just enough! Very clean. Although there is 115 steps to climb from the hotel to the city center! But there are steps everywhere in Fira so you would probably end up having to climb steps unless you stay in the city center without the Caldera view.

Breakfast is served directly at your room. It is delicious: fresh bread, fruits, yogurt, cheese, etc.

One of the only hotels with a swimming pool which is really nice when it's a really hot day. You can swim while looking at the gorgeous Caldera.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nade644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.2 mi away
Nefeles Suites Hotel
Nefeles Suites Hotel
#32 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina Luxury Suites

Property: Athina Luxury Suites
Address: Fira | Caldera of Fira, Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Fira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#35 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athina Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the most privileged location of Fira, on the cliffs of the caldera with unlimited views to the famous volcano, the sunset and the whole island, only a few steps away from the centre of Fira, but still with a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, Athina Luxury Suites is the place to stay in Santorini. Renovated in 2016 with exclusive materials, minimal design, upgraded services and rich amenities for those who want to enjoy privacy, high class services, comfort and luxury, always with this majestic scenery from every spot of the hotel. Athina Luxury Suites consists of one Junior Suite for 2 people, two Master Suites, loft style for 3 people, four Deluxe Suites with separate bedroom and living room, up to 4 people, two Honeymoon Suites, strictly for couples, with heated jacuzzis on their balconies. The unique Royal Suite is actually a 140 square meter villa, with a large heated jacuzzi on the private balcony, rare and precious pieces of art and furniture for up to 6 people. The new part of the hotel which is built in 2017 is the section with the 4 cave suites. Large jacuzzi on the balcony, unique design, luxurious decorations. All suites are equipped with LCD Sat TV 32", desk, hi-fi, free wifi, telephone, safe box, mini-bar, ironing facilities hairdryer, scale, beauty mir- ror, fine Guy Laroche linens and towels, bathrobes for every guest, slippers, luxury Hermes cosmetics, pool towels and much more... The large swimming pool offers a unique experience swimming and enjoying all the view from Oia to Akrotiri, a pool to infinity... Our coffee- bar-restaurant is open all day, with the most refreshing cocktails, serving some carefully selected dishes combined with a glass of fine wine or champagne during the sunset 'till the late hours. Athina Luxury Suites is also the ideal location to have your dream wedding by the pool facing this romantic scenery or just to enjoy your honeymoon in our special Honeymoon Suites. Our joy is to offer leisure and delight and to make the accommodation of every guest exclusive and unforgettable, emphasising individuality and privacy. Our concierge desk is always open, to every demand and request, arranging from VIP excursions, transfers, car rentals, yacht rentals, heli- copter rides, private dinners and every other need or request a demanding guest can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Athina Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athina Repose Hotel Fira
Athina Repose Fira
Athina Luxury Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing