We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel in Fira,Santorini”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel in Fira,Santorini”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

At first I only stay in this hotel for one night but due to strike in greece we are force to extend one more night in this hotel and it turn out to be a good stay,eventhough its relatively simple hotel but its very easy to find a good food around the hotel and its very peaceful so you can relax your mind.Staff of this hotel also quite friendly and ready to accomodate your need

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    58
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
48
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We had already spent two nights in Oia so a Caldera view was not important at this point. We were looking basically for a convenient place to sleep while in Fira and the Pelican met our needs. The room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom included a tub and shower. Others mentioned noise being a problem but our room was facing the back and did not bother us. This place is recommended if you need a clean and comfortable place to sleep in Fira but do not need a view. Restaurants, shops and the bus station are a short walk away. Continental breakfast is included and consists of a boiled egg, assorted breads and jelly, juice, tea and coffee. Free wireless internet is available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISPpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perevilain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Convenient for shops, restaurants and bars and with an especially nice outdoor bar/ snackery next door this is a good choice. it's well-run, clean and the accommodation is of good standard. Nice room with good air con and comfortable beds. View was to road - but good d glazing - not conscious of noise. Breakfast is a bit Greek - slightly odd choice of stuff - but lovely service. Fira is though astonishingly expensive and the hotel has no view. Recommended as a good mid-price choice especially if touring the islands. I would certainly stay there again - but this location - and Fira itself are best visited for a couple of nights rather than a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

We stayed in Pelican Hotel during the first week of May, 2007. Indeed
is located exactly in the central square of Fira, which is the capital of the island! The location is very central, so you have everything next to your room.

The rooms were as we were promised, clean an comfortable.
Surprisingly, nice bath tubs; usually in low-budget hotels, you find showers. Another surpise was the breakfast that was served all the day, no time-restrictions! Really enoyed that!

The guys at the reception offer great advise and travel agency services, because of "Pelican Travel" that belongs to the same company.

We would certainly recommend it!

  • Liked — Grear Services and breakfast served all the day!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kenrobins32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

I stayed at Hotel Pelican last weekend for two nights and it was fine. It was in the middle of town, a great location in walking distance of restaurants, etc. The rooms were simple and very clean, and the bathroom looked like it was recently updated--very night! The only problem was the noice level at night--it sits on a main strip of road, and the dogs barking all night long are tough to ignore!

  • Liked — Great location, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Noisy area at night
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ejpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

This hotel is right in the middle of town, so it’s very convenient. However, it’s also a very busy/noisy area not to mention pretty stinky from the exhaust. Luckily little of the noise or smell made it into the room.

Our room was actually quite spacious, but very worn. Nails on the wall and stains, but no pictures. Bare bulbs where a light fixture’s cover was removed. The fridge took a whole day to kick in.

The bathroom was clean but the tub was only about 3 feet long, so you could take a sitting bath but not much more. The showerhead was entirely hand-held; there was no holder for it, so you’re showering one-handed. Everything was moderately clean.

The service was friendly, but only as long as no actual work was requested. The lobby stank of cigarettes – probably because the receptionist was smoking behind her desk, even while she was giving us directions.

Breakfast was a low point of our stay here. I don’t ask for much in the morning, but a cup of lukewarm water and a pack of instant coffee is pathetic.

We had to check out very early in the morning. The early breakfast that we were promised never happened. In fact, the night manager was asleep on the couch in the lobby.

This wasn’t worth the 95 Euros/night, even in high season. We won’t stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khw225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

I stayed here during the off-season. It was a nice size room and bathroom. There is a balcony you can walk onto. The only thing was housekeeping kept leaving the windows open and it was cold at night when we returned! Freshly prepared breakfast for you. Staff was friendly. Everything in Fira is close walking distance so the location was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#46 of 80 in Fira
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Soula
Villa Soula
#58 of 80 in Fira
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#47 of 80 in Fira
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa Marina Villas
Costa Marina Villas
#5 of 80 in Fira
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: Central square of Fira, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the vibrant central square of Fira, the capital of Santorini, just a few steps away from the famous caldera, shops, restaurants and bars, bus and taxi station, Pelican is an all-time classic hotel in Santorini and it is open all year round.Pelican Hotel offers free WiFi internet access, air-condition, central heating and travel agency services. Right next to the property is the café-wine restaurant “Pelican kipos”, in a beautiful garden where the hotel guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks.The rooms, simple and clean, include free WiFi internet access, private bathroom with a bathtub, hairdryer, LED/LCD TV, air-condition, safe deposit box, electric kettle and a fridge.Perfectly located and with very reasonable prices, Pelican is one of the best value for money hotels in Fira, right next to every single hot spot of Santorini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Fira
Pelican Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing