We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Tour with a wonderful tour guide”

Santorini Wine Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.46*
and up
Private Custom Tour: Santorini in a Day
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the most distinct wineries and traditional cellars of Santorini through a unique wine-tasting journey! Small-group Wine Tours, Food & Wine tastings, Greek cooking classes & Private tours are some of the trips offered daily to experience the wine, food & culture of Santorini and Greece.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Tour with a wonderful tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This tour came recommended, and we are glad we had the oppertunity to make a booking very last minute. The tour was both fun and educational, and also an excellent way to experience the island. There were just 4 of us on the tour, so that was very nice. We were picked up from the ship by Dimitris (sp?). We visited three different wineries on the island. Dimitris was very professional and courteous, my husband is a veteran amputee and although he can walk without assistence, he is not as fast as most people, this was not an issue at all, Dimitry took every bit of time to help my husband into and out of the mini van, and made sure the other couple on the tour knew beforehand that the tour would be at a slightly slower pace. Dimitris took his time explaining the history and the importence of wine in Greece, but mainly the Santorini wine region. It is very facinating to see 3 different wineries that are completely different from each other, and have changed very little over the centuries. Growing grapes on these islands is very facinating and not an easy task. We are far from being wine connoisseurs, and in all honesty we had never even heard of Greek wine, luckily for us this has now changed. We enjoyed numerous wines both red and white on this tour that came served with some equaly delicious cheeses, breads and olive oils. There was absolutely no pressure to buy, but we did end up buying 4 bottles of wine, 2 red and 2 white for just 12 Euro a bottle we also bought some cheese and olives.
Everyone we met on this tour was very friendly and they all made it an unforgettable experience.
Thank you Dimitris for your patience and showing us your island, we will definitely be recommending your tour.
Regards - Ron and Brenda from New Paltz - NY
(photo's coming soon)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron and Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    44
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Dimitris took my wife and I on a really good tour of three different wineries on Santorini. We really enjoyed learning about the different types of wine, how the grapes are grown and how they are turned into wine. We really appreciated the local wine we were drinking in restaurants after the tour and I would highly recommend taking the opportunity to do the tour if you are in Santorini.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Dimitris is a fantastic guide! Three friends and I were picked up efficiently near our lodging in Santorini in a comfortable, air conditioned van. Dimitris obviously loves what he is doing and was a fountain of enjoyable knowledge! We learned much of the history of wine making in Greece and how the climate influences the grapes and how they are grown. We visited 4 very different wineries, each with its own unique characteristics. I highly recommend booking a tour, we were offered a variety of the local wines and given great instruction on their differences. There were opportunities to purchase the wine and vinegars but, absolutely no pressure. What an enjoyable afternoon! Dimitris even took us to our ferry to leave for the next island on our adventure!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our last day on Santorini we scheduled a wine tour with Dimitris. We had a limited amount of time before catching our ferry to Naxos and were pleasantly surprised with the personal touch when booking this tour. Dimitris picked us up in Oia and scheduled a tour that fit our schedule. We did not have to worry about where to store our luggage as he had plenty of room for it and everyone in our group. We were able to tour three unique wineries, enjoying each of their differences while tasting their wines and learning their history. Dimitris was a gracious host and extremely knowledgable about wine. He was friendly and engaging. There was never pressure to purchase wine, but we eagerly bought several bottles from each winery as well as tomato paste, capers, and balsamic vinegar. Following the last winery, he took us to the port with plenty of time to catch our ferry. I recommend Santorini Wine Adventure Tours as a must do while vacationing there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SlynnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWArkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Overview of Wine and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked a wine tour with Dimitris in July and are so glad we did. I had contacted another tour first and was told that they could not accomodate our schedule. Dimitris picked us up in Oia, took us on a custom tour (it was just us- a party of 4), and delivered us to the port to catch our ferry - and the cost was less than the other tour company.
He was charming, knowledgable, and lots of fun. We felt like we learned more about Santorini, and Greece as well as the wine. It was one of the highlights of our stay on the lovely island of Santorini.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ockerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Wine Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Wine Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing