We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Theoxenia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 50 Fira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2006

I arrived late and had some trouble finding the hotel since it's nestled between store fronts.

Cleanliness and the breakfast were the real pluses of the hotel. The balcony is also a nice feature (I had a private but some are shared so try to specify when you book) and a great way to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. Breakfast was always very prompt.

Although this hotel doesn't have a pool, I was able to use the pool at their sister property. It's only a few minutes walk from Theoxenia and well worth it.

If I returned to Santorini, Theoxenia would not be my first choice of hotels. This is primarily because of one staff member (all the others were great, especially Kris) and the noise. Although the noise was greatly diminished when I closed the windows, I could still hear loud, drunk people, store owners vacuuming in the morning and rolling luggage along the cobblestone (horrible at 6:00 am when the overnight ferries arrive).

Net-net, it's sort of a trade-off... location is convenient but noisy, balcony is nice but you might have to share it, access to pool but you have to go to another hotel.

The price was reasonable (at least in April), just be prepared for a few of the downsides mentioned in this review. Regardless, I'm sure you'll fall in love with Santorini!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    74
    17
    6
    16
See reviews for
46
125
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vathia, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

Was there four days ago. Low rate but i assume it gets higher while the summer kicks in, helpfull staff, gave us a lot of information and assistance, the place is small and almost hidden in downtown Fira, next to everything with minimum steps related to other places located on the rim(i am 45). Very clean, top floor rooms have views to the volcano, breakfast with home made french toast served in bed every morning. Best value for our money.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tainaron_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2006

Agree with most of what has been said about Theoxenia. The first room we stayed in was one of the large rooms with the caldera view. I was very impressed with the room itself and of course the stunning location. We ended up staying at the hotel an extra night, but in one of the smaller rooms overlooking the jewellery street. If you stay here, pay the extra for the room with a caldera view, it is definitely worth the extra money! Also make sure you take a hot tub on the terrace - very relaxing. The breakfast served at your bedroom was also a really lovely bonus and a great way to start the day! The hotel is very centrally located in Fira but not easy to find - especially when you arriving with heavy bags and you don't know where you're going. Although not cheap, it is quite reasonably priced for Fira. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples looking for a romantic break. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2005

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Theoxenia Hotel. The room was lovely, with a nice jacuzzi bath tub and a view of the Caldera. It also had a lovely terrace but it was too chilly to enjoy it. The breakfast is a delight and was delivered to our room in the morning.

Also the location can not be beat.

Since is was off-season we got an excellent room rate. May be a bit pricey during high season.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jezdc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

We have just returned from our trip to Santorini earlier this month and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The hotel is central to everything and is tucked away in the middle of shops and restaurants. The staff was remarkably attentive and very courteous.
Each evening before heading off to bed, we told the staff what time we wished to have breakfast served...like a "wake up call" you would get in the states. With a knock at the door and a "breakfast is served", we awoke every morning to sit on our balcony for breakfast. Robes and slippers were provided and useful as there was always a chill in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and more than enough. The staff was always available if we needed more coffee.
The room we had was on the corner of the hotel so we had a window to the caldera and to the city street on one side. It was a bit noisy from the city side but nothing we couldn't sleep through after a day filled site seeing and a night of celebrating. The bed was very comfortable and the room was much bigger than we expected. There was a tv, stocked refrigerator, couch and table, and a dressing table off to the side. The bathroom was big enough and very clean. The staff came in every morning when we left to make our bed, change our linens and bed sheets and empty the trash cans.
We would definitely stay here again as the view was unbelievable (especially the higher common balcony at night), the service was excellent and price was just right.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#25 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#3 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#41 of 82 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theoxenia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theoxenia Boutique Hotel

Property: Theoxenia Boutique Hotel
Address: Fira Downtown, Caldera (via d'oro), Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Theoxenia Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique design, center location and quality rooms for this small and cosy B&B. Conveniently close to all banks, taxis, bus station and with magnificent view, is a definite choice for a few days in Santorini. Just 9 rooms, bathtubs, sofas, metal frame beds, an outside refreshing hot tub (summer) with view for six people and excellent views, this hotel has to be booked as earlier as possible, due to limited room availability. Perfect for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Theoxenia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theoxenia Boutique Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing