We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Theoxenia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Fira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Position”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and 2 friends arrived by taxi, walked up the cobbled street with bags bouncing behind and were greeted by Paris the Manager who bravely carried up all our baggage! We had 2 rooms adjoined to the balcony, and as the 3rd room nearby was vacant, were able to use the top of the hotel as our own balcony where we ate breakfast together and watched the sun set over the caldera at the end of the day. The views were spectacular, the hotel well positioned and accessible to the main shopping area right in the middle of FIra Town. Paris was a mine of information about the area and advice on where to eat, where to catch transport and the less expensive way to see Santorini. We had a very memorable 3 days there and can highly recommend Theoxenia.

Room Tip: Try to travel light to Santorini. There are a lot of steps to get to where you want to go and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    75
    17
    6
    17
See reviews for
51
131
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We caught the bus from the airport to Fira and the bus driver enthusiastically pointed us in the direction of the hotel - his directions were spot on. A short walk up a cobbled hill and we were greeted with the reason people go to Santorini...the breathtaking views. After taking this in we reached the hotel, a short walk from the cathedral. The staff at the hotel were incredibly welcoming and told us all we needed to know about Santorini, pointed out tasty truly local restaurants and things we should do. Our room on the upper floor with a balcony was very clean and right next to an irrisistable looking hot(ish) tub. A well stocked and fairly inexpensive mini bar provided the perfect bottle of wine to enjoy in the hot tub watching the sun set after a trip out the the volcano and walking up THAT hill.

We were only going to stay on Santorini for three days but liked the island and the hotel so much we stayed there the whole week and decided to go to Mykanos another time. Very romantic, very relaxing and just what I needed to take me away from everyday busy life.

If you stay here you have full use of the sister hotel's pool and spa facilites (Aressana Suites) although the Theoxenia was enough for us. Breakfasts were delicious and promptly served on the balcony in the morning sunshine. The home made plum jam is highly recommended!

The only draw back was that some of the sound of a nightclub in the town does make it through the walls and I'm a light sleeper but it wasn't put me off the hotel.

Thanks for a great holiday (you even arranged the best weather!)

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Caldera view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltyseasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past summer on our second trip to Santorini. Our room in the hotel was supposed to have caldera views (we reserved it and paid extra) but we could only see the caldera from a common patio in the hotel, not from the room. Even then, we saw rooftops and antennas along with the view. The problem is that it is on the wrong side of the street, behind all the buildings, hotels and restaurants that line the cliff side, which we didn't appreciate when we read the other reviews. The room was also pretty small. Overall, we didn't feel there is any character to the place. If you want caldera views and lodging worthy of your trip to Santorini, do yourself a favor and skip this hotel. We spent the second half of our visit in one of the hotels across the street, which had MUCH better, unobstructed views, pretty outdoor pools, and frankly, much better service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank planettrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a superb hotel. The location was superb - right in the middle of Fira Town, overlooking the caldera. We chose to upgrade to a caldera view room - our room was huge (for Greece) and the furtiture, deco and king size bed were wonderful. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough for us - the service proved by them was exceptional. Breakfast was served to the balcony outside our room. What a wonderful way to start the day, looking over the bay to the volcano and islands on the rim of the caldera. Truly a magical hotel. To make it even better, access is permitted to the pool and spa facilities at their sister hote, The Aressana, also a very nice hotel. A downside for unfit people is the fact that you need to walk in to the hotel as there is no traffic permitted in the area, so you will have to carry your baggage - better you stay at the Aressana and leave Theoxenia to me - we will return for sure.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Caldera View Room - worth ever $/Euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We can't say enough about this hotel, from the time we arrived until we left it was a pleasure to stay there. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful, The location is perfect, in the centre of Fira amongst shops, cafes and restaurants. The views from the balcony were amazing.The room was very clean and tidy and was attended to each day. Breakfast was delivered to our room was more than we could manage. Paris, one of the managers is also a DJ at one of the night clubs, great guy, you can listen to his music as you are having a drink on the balcony. Thank you Manos and the staff for a great time, we will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter48778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved the view from the balconies and the room was very clean. The guys working the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The location is also great, just on the edge of all the shops and restaurants. Just be prepared, you can't flush your toilet paper down the toilet in the hotels in Santorini. But over all we really liked the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floor, the lower floor has balconies that are right over the walkway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived by ferry and took a taxi to the hotel. Our driver dropped us off at the edge of the cobblestone road (no cars allowed) and pointed in the direction of our hotel...thankfully the shop owners in the area were super helpful! We treked up a steep hill to the front of the hotel--only to be greeted by very steep stairs. Nervous moments...but no worries, a shop owner saw us looking defeated, came out and rang the doorbell; Paris came flying down the stairs to grab our bags. We were so happy to see him!!

Before taking us up to our rooms, Paris spent about 20 minutes telling us all about Santorini: what to do, where to go--with our 2 days in mind (we stayed an extra day in Mykonos!). He layed out a great plan including all the highlights:

*Loved Oia!! But if you go by bus, be cognizant of the schedule. We got stuck there after dinner and had to wait for one of very few taxis to happen upon us. We ate at an amazing place there, of course can't remember the name, but if you ask the front desk, I'm sure they would recommend it to you too! (It was set off the beaten path and had a wonderful patio). Views were amazing and shopping was great in Oia too, I only wish we had more time there!!

*Lucky Souvlaki--not a likely place for vegetarians, but they made us the best Greek salad I had in Greece, and a great shrimp pocket (though all the locals later told us we should have had the Greek salad in the pocket). Either way, it was the perfect lunch!!

*They recommended a sunset cruise to the caldera with a saxophone player...can't remember the name of it, but it was great! My own recommendation though is that you bring extra clothes--we had opportunities to swim in a hot sulphur spring as well as other swimming. Once you get wet and the sun goes down, even though they have blankets available, you may get a tad chilly--so just be prepared. Other than that tidbit, it is not to be missed!!

*We rented a car to go to the red beach and black beach--it was nice to drive around the island and experience those beaches! We layed at the black beach for half a day and got some much deserved rest in...

*Had we more time we def would have used the pool at their sister hotel, Arenessa. We visited to rent our car...it seemed like more of a boutique-y hotel, typically more our speed, but was lacking the beautiful views that Theoxenia had. We undoubtedly made the right choice by staying at the Theonexia!!

Our room overlooked the caldera, which was just amazing! The room itself was traditional and large. There was also a patio for all the hotel guests, but we had such a great view from our room we never used it!

Oh, and yes--they bring you breakfast in your room every morning--eggs, yummy breads, and juice/water (or coffee). Such a nice touch!!

We stayed in Fira as everyone said it was more lively (we are 2-30 something girls); we didn't get to experience this as we had been to Mykonos and partied ourselves out, but it did have more going on than say, Oia (like I said above about getting stranded). Oia was more romantic and shut down early, while Fira had more of a pulse to it (Paris dj's at one of the bars there, so ask him about the nightlife if you're interested). I really loved Fira and found that it was a great jumping off point for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l4lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#40 of 80 in Fira
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#37 of 80 in Fira
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theoxenia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theoxenia Boutique Hotel

Property: Theoxenia Boutique Hotel
Address: Fira Downtown, Caldera (via d'oro), Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Theoxenia Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique design, center location and quality rooms for this small and cosy B&B. Conveniently close to all banks, taxis, bus station and with magnificent view, is a definite choice for a few days in Santorini. Just 9 rooms, bathtubs, sofas, metal frame beds, an outside refreshing hot tub (summer) with view for six people and excellent views, this hotel has to be booked as earlier as possible, due to limited room availability. Perfect for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Theoxenia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theoxenia Boutique Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing