We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location.”
Review of Melina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melina Hotel
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for a week at the end of July, and had a lovely time. It was very close to the airport, just a 5-10 min taxi journey. The staff were very helpful when we first arrived, they provided us with a map of Fira town, and information about where is good to eat and what to do on the island. The rooms were kept very clean and tidy by the maid, who came to clean every day leaving fresh towels. The breakfast was simple but nice. The location of the hotel is perfect as you are only a five minute walk into the main part of Fira, where all the bars and restaurants are. The restaurants along the front are all lovely, as you have a beautiful view over the caldera. You are also only a five minute walk from the bus stop, where buses run (regularly throughout the day and night) to the other towns on the island. The swimming pool area is also very nice, with a good sized pool and plenty of sunbeds. Overall, we would definitely recommend staying here, as we really enjoyed our stay in there. (I would also recommend going to the open-air cinema in Kamari, it's a really good experience. And the Thalassa & Bella aurora day cruises are definitely worth going on, they're a little more money than the other excursions at 56 euro but worth the extra money. The boat is an beautiful old looking sailling boat, which takes you to the volcano, where you get off and climb the volcano and then to the hot springs where you can jump off and swim. Later on you have food on board and a saxophone player plays whilst you watch the sunset go down. It was a really nice day/evening).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel does not have a nice view. I would recommend this place if you're visiting santorini on a budget. I was satisfied with the experience but disappointed with the location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ntouchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were so happy with the staff and Melina herself. She is so friendly and just went out of her way to help us and make sure we knew all we needed to know. The establishment itself Is lovely and a close walk to town.
The only things that took my review down from 5 stars was the wifi didn't work in our room, we had to stand outside to get it. The blankets on the bed really aren't nice or comfortable at all.. (They feel like a floor mat).
But that didn't ruin my experience, we still really enjoyed staying here.

Thanks for having us :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent three nights at the Melina hotel and we were pleased that it was right at the edge of downtown where you could walk to everything but not be kept up at night by all the late-night parties. The staff were extremely helpful and on top of everything. We had an early flight the day of our checkout so we would miss the breakfast that is included, but to our surprise, they left some items in our room the night before just so we wouldn't be hungry on our way to the airport. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We liked the location of this property, just a short walk to the town of Fira. The grounds are well kept and the pool area is very nice. Melina (owner) is very friendly and provided good tips and information about things to do on the island. The rooms are on the small side and the beds definitely need updating. The breakfast is monotonous and carb filled. It was an acceptable stay but could be improved with better mattresses for a better sleep quality and a better breakfast options.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. It was a short trip from the airport and easy to find. Unfortunately our flight was so early we got here before 7am and had to wait outside. After getting some breakfast we came back to the hotel and waited in reception, they have a lovely setup to the side with chairs and cushions near the window. Our room ended up being ready early which was great.
The rooms are very clean and neat and keep with the white/blue theme of santorini.
Breakfast the next day was served to our table. Great if you like bread, not so great if you don't but for only 2 days it was ok.
Maria was very helpful in explaining where everything was when we arrived and booked us a day tour as well. The pool is a lovely place to relax and cool off. All in all a nice quiet place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have recently had a short stay in Fira, Santorini, and were lucky enough to stay at Melina Hotel. It was spotless, comfortable and very conveniently located within minutes walk of the centre of Fira, At the the same time, well away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Our room was tastefully decorated, with a nice balcony and views of the Aegean from a distance. The price was reasonable, including a generous breakfast. Unfortunately, we were too busy sightseeing to be able to enjoy it. Yiannis, the owner and his assistant Maria, were very helpful and organised
our transport and all our tour details. We were totally satisfied.
Spyros and Amalia, from Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theodora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#44 of 80 in Fira
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astir Thira Hotel
Astir Thira Hotel
#51 of 80 in Fira
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#42 of 80 in Fira
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#50 of 80 in Fira
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#64 of 80 in Fira
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daedalus Hotel
Daedalus Hotel
#65 of 80 in Fira
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Hotel

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range: $77 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Hotel Fira
Melina Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing