We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need with Friendly service”
Review of Melina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melina Hotel
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what you need with Friendly service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to Greece for our honeymoon and stayed in several hotels some a lot smarter than Melina. The service and the personal touch at this hotel is really great and better than any other hotel we stayed in. You are not just a number like in other hotels. We were welcomed with a drink and nice panacotta. Yannis, gave us a map and explained the Island to us, where to go see what and also where to go for dinner and lunch. When he heard it was our honeymoon he even gave us a free bottle of wine. The hotel is a short walk from Fira town centre and the bus stop from where you can go to anywhere on the island. The room has got everything that you need but I would also recommend that you replace the shower curtain with a door and maybe to change the breakfast every 3rd day or so, otherwise we really enjoyed our stay, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neels P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    79
    40
    7
    12
See reviews for
36
106
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My rating of 5 has to do with the fact that the hotel exceeded my expectations. When the Melina Hotel was recommended by a travel agent who had never seen it, at its low price, I never expected such a pleasurable experience. The hotel was off the main road and away from the Caldera, so it was quiet, but not isolated. It was a 5 minute walk to the center of the crowds, restaurants and shops. The pool was fantastic and larger than any other pool around - and since Santorini is not known for its beaches, this was a great way to end each day. It's true - the shower is too small and the breakfast left a lot to be desired, but neither took away from our experience or our delight with the Melina. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were comfortable.. Yannis was very helpful, always with a smile. He made arrangements for us, answered questions and was willing to help with whatever was needed. My daughter and I loved the Melina and would go back again any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the Melina Hotel. It is a small, family-run hotel but with friendly and attentive service. Yannis, the owner, gave us some tips on where to eat, sightseeing, etc. and was readily available to assist with queries. The hotel was spotless and the room spacious with a balcony. Although the shower was a bit small, it was the same at other Greek Island Hotels that we stayed at and is obviously how they are built there. Breakfast consisted of toasted sandwiches, egg, etc. but it was freshly made and more than enough to start the day on. We will definitely be returning.
Gary & Yolanda Horne
Port Elizabeth
South Africa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Melina in September 2012. The staff are really friendly and the pool and other facilities very clean and neat. The location of this hotel was great but two things were really poor. Firstly the breakfast was terrible, 4 days of toasted ham and cheese sandwiches and 6 slices of toast with a hard boiled egg and cake will literally kill you!! Don't breakfast here go somewhere in Fira. The other thing was the size of the shower, so small and a horrible shower curtain that clings to your body as you try and wash yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this smallish family run hotel for 4 nights in September. I was a bit tentative about staying there due to the fact that i had read some unfavourable reviews about it earlier. What we found was a beautifully maintained hotel (not 5 star by any means) with owners who were very pleasant and friendly and went out of their way to assist us on more than one occasion. Our room had a lovely balcony with an ocean view, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower probably needed an update! Breakfast was supplied and the food presented was tasty but more than we could eat- a typical European breakfast with too many carbs! We would happily recommend the Melina hotel with its good location and affordable rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Melina Hotel for 3 nights end of September and we were pleasantly surprised. It is a smallish, family run hotel, situated within walking distance of Fira, but in a quiet street.

Yannis, the hotel manager, was extremely helpful and friendly. He gave us a map of the island and of Fira and recommended where to go and what to do. He also helped us to rent a four wheeler (and negotiated a good deal on that) and assisted us in changing our transport back to Athens.

Our standard room was comfortable, always clean and we had a nice view over the ocean. The bathroom was a bit tiny, but this is not a 5 star hotel, so it didn't bother us.

Breakfast was toasted ham and cheese, more bread and preserves, a boiled egg, a big slice of cake/sweet bread, juice and coffee. It was more than enough and we never finished all of it. If one is a vegetarian or gluten intolerant, it may be a problem, but I am sure Yannis and the staff will accommodate ones needs if disussed in advance.

Guests have free internet access and usage of the hotel's computer. We could Facetime our children from our smart phones without additional costs, which we appreciated.

We had a lovely stay at this charming hotel! If you want a fancy hotel with a big breakfast buffet and a view over the caldera, this one is not for you (but expect to pay more too). But if you are looking for a neat, comfortable place to stay with a more personal touch, we can recommend Melina Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and the staff are nice
The unusual thing is that the reception stays till 10:30 pm only
Another unusual thing is breakfast. It not like a buffet but you take a seat and they serve you which I personally didn't like because I prefer to choose what I want to have for breakfast
It is not on the cliff and there is no view. You need around 5mins walk to town

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.6 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#40 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astir Thira Hotel
Astir Thira Hotel
#48 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Dahlia & Jasmine Collection by Angel Studios
0.6 mi away
Amerisa Suites
Amerisa Suites
#64 of 80 in Fira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#44 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Hotel

Property: Melina Hotel
Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Melina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Melina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Hotel Fira
Melina Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing