We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a family if you just need a place to stay and unwind after a long day”
Review of Melina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melina Hotel
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were traveling with my kids, my sister and my parents and the Hotel was comfortable, clean and was close to the center of Fira.I loved the colors and the flowers. If you are expecting a nice view forget it; the hotel is located in a residential neighborhood so there is not direct view of the ocean, you can just walk to the commercial area and have plenty of the view. Breakfast is OK, hard boil egg, ham and cheese sandwich, coffee and marble cake,every morning the same. The Pool area was very nice, my kids enjoyed it a lot after a long day of touristic activities. The Hotel is run by the owner, he is there all the time taking care of everything, he is very helpful and willing to fulfill your request. We were please with the choice. I would recommended it if you are looking for a place to spend the night and unwind after a long day of activities.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 you can request one of the rooms on the third floor.They had plenty of spac...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthpeacelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Melina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel is nice, needs a little updating but nothing to complain about. Room was big, we had 3 single beds (2 pushed together as a queen). Bathroom was ok, shower a little interesting to use but we managed to get it to stay on (with the help of string). Room was clean when we arrived, and maid came in both days to clean up and make beds.
TV was good, had lots of english speaking channels (unlike a lot of other hotels we stayed in while in Europe). Balcony overlooking water, which wasn't close but you could still see it. Private entrance, no need to go through reception area every time. Breakfast was ok, toast, ham and cheese toasted sandwich, cake, boiled eggs, juice and coffee/tea. Owner was very helpful, gave us great directions, good place to eat dinner and watch the sunset and looked after our luggage when check out was 11am and our flight wasn't until 7:30pm. Let us use pool area after check out. Only 5 min walk to 'town', close enough but also in a good, quiet area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a good location and a great pool for relaxing after a day of sighseeing. The owner is very helpful and friendly too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The room was small. The actual hotel area was very nice. The owners were not very nice. Any where you go there is so much dust and dirt that by the time you get back to the room you just want to jump in the shower, which by the way was a hand held head. My Husband hand to hold the shower head above me to wash out the shampoo, in the end Ihad to Macgyver it to stay up on the wall. The owners son, YIANNIS, complained to me about a towel that was dirty, I could hear the mother screaming from the back room about it, they wouldn't let up till I offered to pay for the towel. The breakfast was very bland, pre made toast left in the oven till guests arrive. It was a quiet location though and just a 3 min walk from the bus station and main town of Fira, so placement is excellent if thats all your looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mericauchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Melina in July and unfortunately were not impressed with the hotel which, whilst cheaper than hotels in the centre of Thira, was not inexpensive.

Although the exterior of the building and the pool area are nice, the rooms themselves are very dated. The TV was old and only had a few Greek channels which so poorly tuned as to be worthless, the radio did not work and the furniture was also old fashioned. It is clear that no attempt has been made to decorate the room for many years and there are no great views here as the hotel is not in the centre of Thira; we over looked a car park! We also found that the bathroom smelt quite badly of sewage and, as the bathroom opened onto the living area, this was a problem. The room had a mezzanine level where the beds were, although the stairs would not be suitable for children or older visitors as they were very steep and potentially dangerous, particularly in the middle of the night.

Breakfast was not a buffet, as it was in all of the other hotels in which we stayed on the Greek islands, but a set meal consisting of a toasted cheese and ham sandwich, bread and cake (we would have preferred a bit of variety; there were no fruit / yogurt / cereal options). This breakfast was the poorest of all we had whilst in the Greek islands. There is also no separate breakfast area but rather there are some tables in the reception area.

Our biggest disappointment was the attitude of the staff at the Hotel Melina. The lady who served breakfast seemed not to want to be there; sighing perpetually when people arrived to eat breakfast, particularly as it got closer to the end of service. The toilet seat in our fell off midway through our stay and the manager seemed angry about this. Whilst he did provide a new lid he merely left it on top of the toilet, unattached. This meant that we could not use the toilet properly and the sewage smell mentioned above became worse. Finally, on check out although we had paid the full price in advance, we were accused of not having paid for our room. We explained that we had paid in advance and Melina called the manager who told her that we had not paid and it was not until we found the confirmation of payment that they believed us! And to add insult to injury the amount Melina quoted for the room when she thought we had not paid was much less than we had paid for it. So it appears that, because we booked through the website (not even through an agent or third party!) we were charged extra, and I definitely do not think the room we got was worth the price we paid. We may have been less bothered by the inadequacies if we had paid the lower price we were quoted at reception and/or if the welcome had been warmer!

Overall, our stay was average at best and we will not be returning to Hotel Melina. One to avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnnymakeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just returned from 11 nights at this hotel and it is what it is, a little Greek hotel and the owners give you everything you would hope from a small hotel.
The pool area is lovely, there were beds available every day and sometimes we were the only ones around the pool for 4 or 5 hours. The rooms are decent, ours had good air con that done the job without being too noisy and had a good balcony. The shower was very small and not very forcefull but the owner improved it for us on the 2nd day, but if you are used to power showers, you are never going to get that on a Greek island. The rooms were cleaned every day to a good standard.
It is just off the main road into Fira, just 2 blocks away and only 5 mins to the supermarket and 6 mins to the bus station and only 10 mins max to a Caldera view. There are nearer hotels but with all the bikes and buggy's around, it was better being one road away from it all and turning into the road where melina is was always a nice feel as it was quieter.
Thye have free wi fi that works in the room and on the balcony which was a huge plus.

The owners and staff (and the dog) are lovely and they even gave us a bottle of Santorini wine as we left, thats never happened to us before!
Constructive criticism would be to not leave the towels in the sun for as long, as they were often quite hard and they need to vary the breakfast, it isn't a buffet and it's the same every day, which is OK for short stays but not long ones. It did seem to be what a tradional Greek breakfast is, but toasted cheese and ham sandwich and cake for breakfast is not something we are used to, maybe they could offer cereal or fruit to the toast and boiled egg.
Perfect place for lazing around the pool and if you like a walk to and from town to build up a thirst/walk off your meal

Michael

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeguim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Based on the TripAdvisor reviews, we were excited to stay at the Melina. However, upon arrival we faced nothing but disappointment. We expected a short walk to the center of Fira, but although the distance is short, the area you have to walk through is not good. You do not feel like you are in Fira. The manager, Yiannis, provided us with incorrect information multiple times. He did arrange for an excursion for us, but disregarded what we said we wanted to do and signed us up for the wrong one, which we had to straighten out ourselves. We had several bugs in our room, including two in my bed, and the overall cleanliness was not up to par (ie - no drain in the sink and ripped towels). Breakfast was all starchy bread and cakes with no variety and very slow. If we would have been in Santorini more than one night, we definitely would have moved to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mankerholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santorini
Hotel Santorini
#46 of 80 in Fira
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astir Thira Hotel
Astir Thira Hotel
#53 of 80 in Fira
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leta
Hotel Leta
#49 of 80 in Fira
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#43 of 80 in Fira
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solaris
Solaris
#64 of 80 in Fira
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amerisa Suites
Amerisa Suites
#66 of 80 in Fira
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina Hotel

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Price Range: $81 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina Hotel Fira
Melina Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing