We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much there” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Prehistoric Thera

Museum of Prehistoric Thera
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.15*
and up
Santorini Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Oia and Fira, including Museum of...
Ranked #4 of 49 things to do in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Using finds from various excavations, this museum traces the course of prehistoric Thira from the late Neolithic to the late Cycladic I period.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not much there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Okay so we eventually found it, not an easy feat but were although the frescos were breathtaking, there isn't much to the museum. There is amazing views from the little outside gallery so sit and enjoy while you read the material given out.

If you miss it don't worry!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    448
    144
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Loved this museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you're interested in the ancient Minoan civilization, this museum is a must stop. If you have no idea who the Minoans are or when they lived, but have an interest in antiquities, you will still enjoy this museum. The Minoans were a peaceful people who lived on Thera until the volcano blew up 3500 years ago. The remains of their pottery, furniture and wall frescoes are breathtakingly beautiful. Common themes depict animals and the divine feminine - monkeys swing through the air, dolphins and fish play in the water, sensual-looking jugs have bird heads and breasts, goddess spirals are everywhere. This small museum is definitely worth a look.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgarytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Incredible collection of archeological pieces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Incredible collection of archeological pieces and frescos - some as old as 3,800 years old.

Proved very insightful of Minoan Civilization's art, culture, religion, society, ingenuity and daily life.

Frescoes and many other types of archeological pieces were unbelievably well preserved and life like - my imagination ran wild!! My experience was not unlike TripAdvisor Nikisara who had a spiritual one.

Tip: great place to get out of the Summer high noon sun and heat as its well climate controlled/Air Conditioned!!!

Tip: short walk to cable cars or funicular, restaurants and shops on main street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hayzeus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this beautiful ancient connection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've visited Museum of Prehistoric Thera while I was in Santorini 2006 summer time. Even though the whole beautiful surroundings of Santorini makes tourists very busy, strongly suggest that dont miss this beautiful ancient connection in Museum of Prehistoric Thera. Here, you can have different types spiritual experience.

雖然聖多里尼小島本身有太多吸引人有趣的景點,但興奮的忙碌遊玩之餘,千萬別錯過了這個與美麗古老文明連結的機會。在Thera 史前博物館中,你可以親眼看到,親身感受一種如沐春風的美妙心靈之旅。

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enlightening visit to Museum of Prehistoric Thira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We found this fascinating- I am a teacher so I was very interested to see tertiary students making a study of this ancient collection of artifacts.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnfromAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Prehistoric Thera also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Prehistoric Thera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing