We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aigialos Hotel, Fira/Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aigialos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aigialos Hotel
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aigialos Hotel, Fira/Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My best vacation ever! For me a 5+ star hotel and service!
From the moment I have been picked up from the airport I was treated in a very special way. I was very impressed by the way all the staff welcomed me and have treaten my so wonderful all this days. My room was very spacious and cozy, decorated in a traditional style and it had a private balcony overlooking the caldera. I couldn’t stop taking pictures! I really liked everything about this hotel: the view, the service, my room, the food (amazing food-you must taste it!), I had breakfast, lunch and dinner there every day, because it was the best I could have, so why searching for better, if you know it will be difficult to find. What more could anybody ask for? It was the first time that my stay in a hotel was such a strong experience! For sure I will come back to Fira and no other place than the Aigialos hotel will see me.

Room Tip: I truly believe all rooms are beautiful and have different flairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    56
    16
    5
    11
See reviews for
89
277
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Aigialos Hotel we were treated to superior service accompanied by friendly and helpful advice to our inquiries. The hotel arranged to pick us up at the airport which is a welcomed respite from the frequent haggling needed with Greek taxis. Once we arrived at the hotel were offered a refreshing beverage during the check-in process. The staff were attentive to our every need, offering us excellent advice on local restaurants, bars, and best means of transportation on the island. The room (Maistros) has the most wonderful view of the bay, volcanic island, and cruise ships as they arrive at Santorini. Like most European rooms, the furnishings are simple but functional. The bathroom is European in design so don't expect over-the-top North American style bathrooms. However, the facilities were very clean, functional, and simple in design. The price of the room reflects the astounding views but is worth it now that a number of discounts are available for Greek hotels since the economic downturn. Tipping is customary for the staff and, based on the excellent service, is most certainly deserved. A four-day stay for two adults cost approximately 1000 Euros including breakfast served to our room, transportation to and from the airport, a welcome bottle of wine, and phenomenal service throughout. I would heartily recommend the Aigialos Hotel - especially for couples. The Aigialos Hotel is located in the most romantic part of Fira and is within walking distance to any sights you may want to see in and around Fira. In addition, there is a magnificent restaurant called 1500 BC that is next to the hotel. While costly, the food is simply a culinary experience not to be missed. Overall, Aigialos is one of the best hotels on the island. Do not hesitate in booking your reservations at this hotel.

Room Tip: For the best view choose the Maistros room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GS1498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

For a hotel in this price range, you'd expect an excellent experience, but there were quite a few things that made this place stand out.

First and foremost, the service. We stayed for 3 days, and the staff always made us feel like we were the most important guests there. They gave us good recommendations on things to do, and were extremely swift and responsive in meeting our needs (booking reservations, renting a car, answering our questions, etc.).

The food experience was also good. Dinner was just outstanding. We chose the hotel chef for dinner one night, and it was our best food experience in Greece (and we ate at many of the "foodie" restaurants in Crete and Santorini during our week long holiday). The breakfasts were ok -- the food was decent, but what made it special is that we always had it delivered to us on our own balcony/patio.

Finally, the location was excellent. Right on the caldera with an old chapel attached to the hotel grounds, the place was literally picture perfect. It was still just 5 minutes away from all the restaurants, cafes, shops, etc., but since it was a bit south of the city center, the hotel attracted only the most intrepid photographers and only occassional foot traffic. At night and in the mornings, the silence was deafeningly peaceful, and I had plenty of time to contemplate the beauty of it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortunato l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived in Santorini on the First of October, took an early morning flight from Athens. Because we had chosen the Aegean Airline flight at 5:30 am, so we had to get up at 3:00am!

Santorini Airport is small, but very efficient, so we got our luggage rahter quickly. As we exit the airport, we found the driver from the hotel holding a sign with our names on it. He was very warm and welcoming!

As our car approached the town, we saw our first sunrise in Santorini. A note for those who love sunrise and sunsets, you can see sunsets from most hotels in Fira, but not sunrise, as most of the hotels are built on the cliff facing the Caldera. If you like sunrise, you can see it in many hotels in Oia or Imerovigli.

This day happens to be regarded as the first day of the "Low or Mid" season, most of the hotels in Fira drop the price, much lower than the high season rate, so we pay quite a bit less than if we stayed in September. We were really lucky that Aigialos arranged to have an early check-in. Generally for most European hotels, you have to wait until two or three o'clock in the afternoon to check in, but we checked in at 6:30am, that is very nice of them.

Aigialos is about 100 meters from the parking lot. Our driver was super strong, he carried two large suitcases and was still able to climb the stairs faster than us. We booked the Maistros, which is considered as an "Exclusive Houses". It's on the second floor, the bedroom is in the cave, and it has a nicely furnished living room with windows overlooking the Agean Sea. Our suite has a large terrace which offers a sweeping view of the volcanic island and the sea. Aigialos also has two beautiful white domes, which really adds a lot of romantic feel, and these are especially nice when you are taking photos. We really loved the view from our room, so each morning we would have breakfast on the terrace; and every evening, we would watch sunset there. The only drawback is there is no shade/umbrella, so you can't spend too much time under the burning sun.

We selected Aigialos mostly because it's recommended by Frommers, Trip Advisor, Fodor's, Conde Nast Travller, all had recommendations of this small hotel. As far as Fira is considered, Aigialos really has the ideal location. In front of hotel, you have the island's major walking trail, so you can walk all the way to Oia, but few tourist groups make it this far. 20-30 meters to the back of the hotel is the main street of Fira, but because Aigialos is in a hidden corner, very few people come down to this way. Every day large cruise ships unload thousands and thousands of people at Fira, they would ride donkeys or cable car up the hill, and crowds would fill the town, but not around Aigialos. So is Aigialos far from the town center? Not all. It's about 100 meters, and walk 2 or 3 minutes, you would be able to reach supermarket, restaurants, and shops, and 5 or 6 minutes to the town center, extremely convenient!

The staff at Aigialos are very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was very good. Overall we are very satisfied with this hotel, and I would highly recommend it if you choose to stay in Fira. If you chose to stay in Imerovigli or Oia, you can check my other reviews.

Room Tip: The bedroom or the bathroom may not be that important, but pick one that has a nice terrace, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanTam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the moment we were picked from the airport we were treated in a very special way. Me and my wife were very impressed by the way all the staff welcomed us. Our room was very spacious and cozy, decorated in a traditional style and it had a private balcony overlooking the caldera. We couldn’t have enough of our room’s view! My wife couldn’t stop taking pictures! We liked everything about this hotel: the view, the service, our room, the food (amazing food-you must taste it!). What more could anybody ask for? It was the first time that our stay in a hotel was such a strong experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Words cannot describe the combination of beauty and hospitality when staying at Aigialos. My husband and I barely even left it for the first three days because there was no restaurant or spot in Santorini that had a better view than our own terrace.

Definitely visit Sigalas winery in Oia and try the Vin Santo dessert wine - some of the best we have ever had! It was the highlight of our European vacation. I cannot describe how breathtaking the Tramountana Suite is, it was absolutely perfect. The room was amazingly clean and the interior is very charming. It has been decorated and furnished very tastefully and artistically
Certainly this magnificent hotel-boutique corresponds to beauty of island Santorini.
And then there is the veranda. WOW! The views are absolutely breathtaking. The best thing about the hotel is the privacy! Enjoy the finest Greek hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

There are two exceptional things about this hotel which make it a great choice while staying on Santorini: First, the exceptional and friendly service offered by the staff...and second, the location. Fira can get to be a lively place, but the hotel is perfectly situated so as to take advantage of the great restaurants and bars, but is in a treasured secluded (and quiet) location. It's also convenient to the local bus stop. It was also a huge bonus to have a great vantage point for viewing the spectacular sunsets from the privacy of your own terrace. Without having to fight the mobs for a photo op up on the main pedestrian drag in town.

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuckster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
1.5 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
Athina Luxury Suites
#20 of 82 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#18 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Property: Aigialos Hotel
Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#18 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing