We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island, excellent hotel”
Review of Aigialos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aigialos Hotel
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

On a whim, I took my daughter to Greece for a week. My wife and 6 year old stayed back in the USA. After one day in Athens, and 2 days in Paros, we spent two incredible days at the Aigialos. We were greeted by a staff member as we emerged from the ferry from Paros and were taken to the hotel. The staff there seem to number nearly one staff member per room. Vivi the office manager while new to her role as the manager ensured that we knew that any need or request that we might have would be taken care of. They treated us to some mastiha in cold water, tools for freshening up and a bit later, a bottle of wine, plate of fruit and a frozen fruit smoothie. The location is just minutes from the heart of Fira which provides you the convenience of the downtown without all the people and congestion. Our balcony had a incredible view of the caldera and we enjoyed simply sitting and looking out on what may be the most beautiful spot in the world. Breakfast which was included was made to order, filling and delicious. Coffee, fresh squeezed juice, breads, butters, eggs of various types, Greek yogurt needless to say it more than expected. The staff was eager to please and help provide recommendations. The restaurant for dinner was good but had I to do over again with only two nights would have probably chosen a different location. Wish I was still there and not contemplating the flight back to the USA tomorrow. The room itself had a bedroom with a wall unit AC and then a parlor with two single day beds. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms very nice and the room included both a hot water kettle (Starbuck instant!) and a small fridge. Santorini despite the Greek economic crises is still a sellers market and the prices reflect this. Having said that I felt like we received wonderful value and a priceless memory.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MD_Traveler_bornin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 488 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the minute I emailed the hotel for a reservation and got a response from Vivi, their wonderful manager, I knew this was a very special place. What a delight from the moment we were greeted at the airport, to check in where rose water with sugar awaited you, to the wonderful rooms we stayed in and the amazing rooms from the caldera.Not only the front desk staff of Dimitris, Giannis and Ioakeim but also the restaurant staff were so accommodating. They literally could not do enough for you. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MariaV10128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

In short, staying here was arguably the best thing we did in Greece. We were greeted at the airport with a sign and a driver to take us to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, the staff greeted us and offered to tell us about the island during check-in. We actually ended up doing everything that the staff recommended (dinner at the hotel, a catamaran boat tour of the island, and walking the 7 mile train from Fira to Oia). I should mention at this point that Top-Chef Season 2 contestant Marisa Churchill was on-site to made additions to the summer seasonal menu. We got the chance to meet her and talk about the local food and her time on Top Chef. Not a bad way to start the vacation!
While we waited for our room, we were served a bottle of chilled wine on the pool deck. The pool is very small but quite refreshing. It was originally used to process grapes for making wine.
The room was quaint and traditional (Levantes Suite). It came with 2 A/C units that were very powerful. The small patio had a great view of the Caldera. We took breakfast (included in the price) on the patio twice. Another night we had dinner by the pool area. The tomato keftetes (or tomato balls) were the best we had anywhere in Greece. I got the lamb dish and my husband the fish. Both were excellent. For dessert we had the chocolate soufflé/lava cake served with homemade ice-cream. It was simply fabulous. We paired this with a homemade Vinsanto dessert wine.
Another night, the staff made transportation and dinner reservations for us. When it was time to leave, the hotel arranged transportation for us to the airport. We were so sad to leave.
In short, this hotel is well work the money. It is conveniently located a brief 5-6 minute walk away from the bustling shops and night life of Fira. The view is amazing and you’re just far enough away from the shops to make this a quiet, romantic hotel. The staff was genuinely warm and welcoming and full of helpful tips about things to do around the island. Thanks to the men and women of Aiglaios Hotel, we had an amazing time in Santorini.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in the Voreas suite of this amazing hotel. What made it amazing. Was it the view that caused you to catch your breath everytime you saw it from a different vantage point? Was it eating breakfast with the family on the Veranda while the cool winds of Santorini touched our senses? Was it the spacious lodging of the Voreas suite that allowed our family to stretch out and feel at home? Nope, what made this hotel amazing was the staff. Each and every person went "above and beyond" to ensure that our stay was a satisfying one. From the housecleaning staff to the hotel manager, everyone was incredibly helpful and genuinely interested in ensuring that we had smiles on our faces during our time on Santorini. The office manager, Vivi Tsota, was especially helpful and always energetic.

Our family would definately return to this gem of a hotel as would my wife and I for a more couple oriented trip.

Room Tip: Each room of this small hotel is different. The Voreas suite has a front veranda with an amazing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elshovima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

With an excellent location and staff who are always willing to help this was an exceptional trip. The Hotel is on the edge of the Caldera and the views of the sunset were wonderful specially with a meal served on the private balcony. Indeed all meals could be served on the balcony and the service was always delivered with a smile and could not be faulted at all.
This is a small friendly eatablishment and the small pool is loocated by the bar and the seating which may be the reason we did not actuially see anyone using it. Similarly there are so many eating establishments nearby that we tended to use those often and the restaurant was quiet most evenings whuich was a pity
The sound of the donkeys passing the Hotel each morning on their way to the harbour was a nice experience and we shall not forget this place in a hurry and would certainly return
The Kaikias room was so cool and there was always a breeze so we did not have to use the air conditioning at all which was a nice surprise

Room Tip: We would suggest having a room towards the top of the Hotel with a private balcony but they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DaveCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Aigialos Hotel is at a previlage spot in Fyra, not too many steps to reach it and with a fantastic view of the caldera. The sunset can be enjoyed everyday from the hotels yard, just amazing! The people that works in Aigialos are all more than helpful, always smiling and willing to fulfill every single wish you might have. The food is excellent, fresh and home made, very important thease days. In one word, Aigialos is more than perfect! Thank you all for making our staying in this special island even more special!
Voula, Froso, Despo (Cyprus)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank despo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Upon arrival at the Hotel Aigialos we were made most welcome and a brief rundown of the hotel and surrounding ares of interest were explained along with recommended restaurants.The location was very good with many excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance.
We were shown to our room. Kaikias House, which we were able to choose through the hotels web site prior to departure. Something that many hotels don't permit.
The room was spacious and quite immaculate in every way. We had an adjoining balcony where soon after arriving a selection of fruits and a bottle of chilled white wine were delivered.
Taking in the view was simply amazing. Each morning cruise ships would arrive and be moored below the hotel, just adding to the spectacular scene.
The staff and their attention to detail was first class, but at the same time they operated in a almost informal manner which made for a very relaxed but most professional atmosphere. One could not fault the service that was readily provided. We were very satisfied with every aspect of our stay at Aigialos Hotel.
Vivi and her staff provided a wonderful stay for our four days in Santorini.

Room Tip: Advise time mode of transport prior arrival for Hotel pick up. View Hotel web page to choose room p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aitkenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Suites
Aria Suites
#18 of 80 in Fira
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.1 mi away
Athina Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigialos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigialos Hotel

Address: Ypapantis street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fira
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $385 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aigialos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aigialos Collection consists of sixteen, renovated neoclassical houses that were originally the fine homes of the island's noble captain families. The architecture and design of the houses bring to life the traditional way of life of the island's nobility. Restored to perfection by master masons using local volcanic stone and coloured lime plaster, the houses are linked by cobbled walkways. Situated on the rim of the caldera, sheer cliffs that rise from the sea, the hotel overlooks the island's famed volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aigialos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigialos Hotel Fira
Aigialos Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing