We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel with BELOW Average Day Staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Hotel with BELOW Average Day Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

The hotel itself is really nice from the outside and its interior grounds, i.e the pool, etc. However, the rooms need to be updated to reflect the pleasant exterior. Also, a change in the day staff would be highly recommended. Both the front desk and the Pool Bar/Restaurant were employeed by people that either hated tourists, their jobs, or maybe both. Extremely bad attitudes. I'd stay here again (minus the staff) but I'd venture to guess there are better places to stay on the island. El Greco is a close walk to downtown Fira.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank smbooth1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    588
    168
    66
    41
See reviews for
362
741
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

We have just returned (my husband, my 9 year old son and myself) from a 2 weeks vacation in Greece. It was wonderful. One of the destinations from our trip was Santorini. Lovely to say the least. There are many places to stay there (in 3 different towns, just to mention a few - Fira, the capital and the most expensive, Imerovigli, just next door from Fira, cheaper and far better accomodation and Oia with a lot of hype around it, maybe as expensive as Fira). There are other places too: Akrotiri and Kamari, which are really cheap compared with Fira, Imerovigli and Oia, and are a 10 minute drive. There are buses every 1/2 hour and they cost 1.10 Euros per trip.
Best views are from Imerovigli and I would say best Hotels (value for money - really high end).
As you might have noticed I haven't mentioned yet, El Greco. There is not much to say about it. Rated as a 4 star, inside looking like a 3 star. Trying to be American in a world that you came for something else.
Rooms are quite run down, service is OK, very busy and noisy (at 2 a.m. people are still drinking at the pool bar outside, making a lot of noise). Neighbours upstairs are moving the furniture around all day and night making it hard to sleep (at all) or even to relax. Food is OK towards boring. Good part they have few nice swimming pools.
I wouldn't recommend it!

Helpful?
20 Thank lovetotravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stayed at El Greco for 4 nights in June 2004. We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty and laid-back atmosphere of this hotel. El Greco is within walking distance (approx. 15 minutes) of Fira's center - quite a manageable jaunt, even with a six-pack of Heineken in hand! The location creates a nice buffer between Fira's loud nightlife and the peace and quiet we found at the hotel. The staff were gracious and helpful, the rooms clean and appealing, and the food good, if not excellent. We plan to stay at El Greco again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Holly_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

We stayed at the El Greco for s night in May 2006. The we stayed in was clean and quite big. The beds are faily comfy, my Wife and I shared a real queen bed, which is rare for Greece. The Breakfasts are terrible, canned fruit and the same old cereal and under-cooked bacon. There was this female dog that just had a littler of puppies, so she hung around the deck of the restaurant during service begging. Was an unpleasant site to see a street mutt gobbling down left over scraps. I kinda lost my appetite during most breakfasts. The pool had way too much chlorine in it, and on one occasion, we witnessed a dog drinking out of it. The staff seemed to be indifferent of hotel guests, just kinda sulked around!! There are lots of hotels in santorini, try something different.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JDDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

The El Greco Hotel is in a great spot, just about a 5 minute walk from downtown Fira. I was surprised how big our room was, with a beautiful bed and very clean interior. The staff were not all that friendly, but all in all it was a great experience. Santorini is absolutely beautiful.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank JGree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2006

went to santorini with my fiance two years ago nearly. from the sounds of it, the hotel hasn't changed too much. I am a travel agent and my fiance was then a hotel manager, so we know all about exaggerations and "glossy" descriptions in brochures and on websites, so when this hotel was in a certain travel companies "a la carte" brochure, i knew to take some of the descriptions with a pinch of salt. i did, however expect a little more than what we got.
upon check in we got allocated a "studio" room, and a porter took our luggage. we tipped him 10 euros, and he seemed very shocked and happy, which makes nice change from some hotels that we've stayed in! we were very tired and felt grotty so after a prelminary look around our room, we crashed on the bed for a short nap. upon waking, we looked at the room with a clearer vision, and weren't very impressed; our TV didn't work, we had no towels, the room was full of flies, and it was all together quite small and pokey - all in all not what we thought it would be! hey ho, we thought, and i stolled over to reception for towels and to ask if somebody would have a look at our TV. although we were a bit disappointed in our room, we weren't going to complain-rightly or wrongly we are not like that, and as long as a place is reasonable and clean, we are happy-easily pleased!!! i was met with smiles all around (my tip, maybe?) and when i told them about the TV and towels, was told that i was a very nice lady, and they upgraded me to the duplex suite free of charge!! we were most impressed, and didn't expect it at all! the duplex suite is beautiful-very spacious with a huge balcony.
one thing that i did note, was that the reception staff were being bombarded with complaints from very brusque, rude people, and although i do feel that my tip helped a bit, the fact that i was smiling and pleasent and didn't expect too much was even more helpful, i'm sure!
here are some other pros and cons:

PRO'S
*quite a good location-10 minutes walk from Thira (the most beautiful place in the world, i think)
*breakfasts are fine and quite good by Greek standards
*Strawberry diaquiris are amazing at pool bar
*extremely helpful and modest manager-when we offered a tip to all the staff to say thank you on check-out, he declined it and said that it was not required, and that good service was their pleasure.
*very nice layout to hotel, in a village style. quite chic
*receptionists very nice and helpful
*free pool towel hire

CON'S
*rooms could be cleaner. the bathroom tiles were smeared and had runs down them-they needed a real good scrub!
*squeaky beds and floorboards in duplex suite!
*love dogs, but there were dirty stray dogs around front swimming pool!! not at all nice! they drank out of the pool! never went in again after i saw that!
*service at pool bar for lunch was excrutiatingly slow, even by Greek standards! plus the pool bar staff weren't too friendl

all in all, our trip was amazing (santorini is a must see before you die kinda place) the best holiday we have ever had, but don't pay too much money to stay at this hotel, and if you do stay, a little friendliness and tolerance goes a long way. if you go with not too high an expectation, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank schiaperelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the El Greco for four days on our honeymoon. We loved the design and layout of the hotel. It must have been a slow week when we were there, because our stay felt very quiet and private. Our room was always clean and the breakfast buffet was nice. We also enjoyed the poolside bar. Contrary to other reviews, we actually enjoyed the fact that it was a 10-15 minute walk into the center of town. Our only negative experiences with the hotel were that the pool/hot tub were too cold to use and the bed was hard and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank aashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing