We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe go Somewhere Else”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2006

We stayed at the El Greco for s night in May 2006. The we stayed in was clean and quite big. The beds are faily comfy, my Wife and I shared a real queen bed, which is rare for Greece. The Breakfasts are terrible, canned fruit and the same old cereal and under-cooked bacon. There was this female dog that just had a littler of puppies, so she hung around the deck of the restaurant during service begging. Was an unpleasant site to see a street mutt gobbling down left over scraps. I kinda lost my appetite during most breakfasts. The pool had way too much chlorine in it, and on one occasion, we witnessed a dog drinking out of it. The staff seemed to be indifferent of hotel guests, just kinda sulked around!! There are lots of hotels in santorini, try something different.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JDDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for El Greco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2006

The El Greco Hotel is in a great spot, just about a 5 minute walk from downtown Fira. I was surprised how big our room was, with a beautiful bed and very clean interior. The staff were not all that friendly, but all in all it was a great experience. Santorini is absolutely beautiful.

Stayed: May 2006
6  Thank JGree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2006

went to santorini with my fiance two years ago nearly. from the sounds of it, the hotel hasn't changed too much. I am a travel agent and my fiance was then a hotel manager, so we know all about exaggerations and "glossy" descriptions in brochures and on websites, so when this hotel was in a certain travel companies "a la carte" brochure, i knew to take some of the descriptions with a pinch of salt. i did, however expect a little more than what we got.
upon check in we got allocated a "studio" room, and a porter took our luggage. we tipped him 10 euros, and he seemed very shocked and happy, which makes nice change from some hotels that we've stayed in! we were very tired and felt grotty so after a prelminary look around our room, we crashed on the bed for a short nap. upon waking, we looked at the room with a clearer vision, and weren't very impressed; our TV didn't work, we had no towels, the room was full of flies, and it was all together quite small and pokey - all in all not what we thought it would be! hey ho, we thought, and i stolled over to reception for towels and to ask if somebody would have a look at our TV. although we were a bit disappointed in our room, we weren't going to complain-rightly or wrongly we are not like that, and as long as a place is reasonable and clean, we are happy-easily pleased!!! i was met with smiles all around (my tip, maybe?) and when i told them about the TV and towels, was told that i was a very nice lady, and they upgraded me to the duplex suite free of charge!! we were most impressed, and didn't expect it at all! the duplex suite is beautiful-very spacious with a huge balcony.
one thing that i did note, was that the reception staff were being bombarded with complaints from very brusque, rude people, and although i do feel that my tip helped a bit, the fact that i was smiling and pleasent and didn't expect too much was even more helpful, i'm sure!
here are some other pros and cons:

PRO'S
*quite a good location-10 minutes walk from Thira (the most beautiful place in the world, i think)
*breakfasts are fine and quite good by Greek standards
*Strawberry diaquiris are amazing at pool bar
*extremely helpful and modest manager-when we offered a tip to all the staff to say thank you on check-out, he declined it and said that it was not required, and that good service was their pleasure.
*very nice layout to hotel, in a village style. quite chic
*receptionists very nice and helpful
*free pool towel hire

CON'S
*rooms could be cleaner. the bathroom tiles were smeared and had runs down them-they needed a real good scrub!
*squeaky beds and floorboards in duplex suite!
*love dogs, but there were dirty stray dogs around front swimming pool!! not at all nice! they drank out of the pool! never went in again after i saw that!
*service at pool bar for lunch was excrutiatingly slow, even by Greek standards! plus the pool bar staff weren't too friendl

all in all, our trip was amazing (santorini is a must see before you die kinda place) the best holiday we have ever had, but don't pay too much money to stay at this hotel, and if you do stay, a little friendliness and tolerance goes a long way. if you go with not too high an expectation, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank schiaperelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the El Greco for four days on our honeymoon. We loved the design and layout of the hotel. It must have been a slow week when we were there, because our stay felt very quiet and private. Our room was always clean and the breakfast buffet was nice. We also enjoyed the poolside bar. Contrary to other reviews, we actually enjoyed the fact that it was a 10-15 minute walk into the center of town. Our only negative experiences with the hotel were that the pool/hot tub were too cold to use and the bed was hard and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
220
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. I wish it were warmer at the time of our stay because the pools looked inviting. The rest of hotel was basic although their double bed was an actual double bed & not 2 singles pushed together like the other hotels we stayed in. The whole hotel is more like a townhouse complex than an actual hotel. The breakfast buffet was okay. The hotel is a bit out of the way however, so unless you are willing to take a hike to town, you need to rent some form of transportation (advice: negotiate).

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2006

Arrived on the ferry from Paros. Dont get ripped off by taking a taxi or mini bus from the port. The local bus that meets each ferry heads right past the front door of the El Greco, the driver is more than happy to stop, and it costs about a third the price!
Arrived (2 adults and 11 year old)and were given room right on the main road. We were not happy with noise from road so asked for change. Staff were magic and gave us a room with seperate bedroom for us, kitchen, 2 balconies - it was magnificent.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel. The breakfast in the restaurant area was wonderful. The hotel is right across the road from the view over the caldera but the town of Fira itself is about a 500 metre walk up a rising footpath alongside the road. The road in front of the hotel is a bit of a "dragstrip" so be careful crossing! We stayed for a full week and everything went very well. A great hotel

16  Thank gm1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2005

As others have noted, the hotel is not ideally situated. It looks "pleasant" from the outside, but our room was absolutely filthy - stained couch, stained bedspread, hair, brown towels, and the entire room smelled like an outhouse (I'm not exagerating). Management did not care...simple as that. Thankfully, the island is too beautiful to stay at the hotel much, but I would definitely recommend several shots of ouzo before returning to your room at night (makes it more tolerable).

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Golden0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#23 of 80 in Fira
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 80 in Fira
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#50 of 80 in Fira
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $118 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing