We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveler rating
899
731
229
81
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
731
229
81
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar recommend el wedding parties beautiful hotel minute walk large hotel main pool reception staff buffet style thira town hired a car bottled water the bus every evening beautiful island superior room sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in 517 & can't fault the room. Breakfast was ok with the focus on volume rather than quality, particularly on the hot items. Servicing of room was excellent & anyone complaining about WiFi is just being picky. Air-conditioning worked fine & bed was comfortable. Great food at the poolside bar, with cold beer & cocktails on hand, if a little pricey. Carrefour Market a 10min walk up the hill (take your wheeled case to bring back the 6 packs of bottled water), with a great bakery next door offering hot & cold pastries. A perfect balance of a great hotel just a 15 minute walk from Fira town.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank Smith1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Big room, quirky bathroom (no hooks, weak lighting). very well-kept, large property. Several pools but the Brits seem to have taken the "towel on the sunbed" game to a new high, making the Germans look like amateurs. Avoid the main pool. There are better options, including the one by the spa. The breakfast is poor in terms of quality, not quantity. The WiFi in our room was spotty. The bar has good coffee and decent food. Fira town is a 10-minute walk, but it quickly turns into a stinky experience with the traffic pollution and an incredibly ugly appraoch to one of Greece's prettiest landmarks. But that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nebojsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

El Greco is a very clean, large property with 5 pools and spacious rooms. We had adjacent rooms for our family which was requested and accommodated with no problem. The hotel grounds are quite nice and the restaurant at the pool bar is a great place to hang out. I would have given the resort 5 stars if it were not for two issues. First...all the other reviewers are correct about the pool long situation. By 8:30 the ample supply of lounges is taken up by people who put their stuff out and disappear. The hotel needs o resolve that. The other issue was that breakfast repeated itself every day; there was little variety, so on day one breakfast is great and on day 5 you are looking for a change...minor issues though.

The positives are the cleanliness and aesthetics of the property and its proximity to Fira (a 5-7 minute walk). Let me also mention that the concierge at the hotel is probably the nicest, friendliest, most helpful concierge of any hotel I have ever been to. Her name is Dimitri and my wife, daughters and I asked her hundreds of questions it seemed. She was always patient, with a smile on her face and she booked some amazing activities for us. If I return to Santorini I will make sure she is there before I reserve at El Greco.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sox67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Beautiful facility with lots of pools, well maintained and in stunning condition. Located within 10minutes walking distance into town. No need to use taxis as the local bus service is available long after midnight. Can buy supplies from local supermarket if on a budget and not willing to pay for costly restaurant meals. Breakfast is free and wifi is free as well..a bit slow sadly.

Room Tip: Stay as far as possible from the main pool area, can be noisy!
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JoziTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Only a few minutes walk into town, great view while you are walking. Rooms are big and clean, staff on the front desk are very helpful. Great view from our room.
The only negatives are being given a map when you first arrive to the nearest supermarket to buy bottled water, would be nice to have a complinentary bottle of water in your room when you first arrive. Plus there's the usual sun lounge 'booking' from early morning, your lucky if you get one after 8.30 at the main pools.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Negal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews