We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for first time visitors to Santorini”
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2008

The El Greco is a modern, generally smartly kept hotel a few minutes walk from the attractions of Fira - the main centre of the island for shops, restaurants and wonderful views (no beach). There is a concrete path to Fira squeezed between the busy road & a sheer (protected) drop into a huge disused quarry cut into the caldera cliff (see photos). The hotel is on 3 levels, the top contains some accomodation & reception; the second contains more rooms, the main pool, snack bar & the restaurant ; the lowest level has more rooms. We were allocated a room on the lowest level. It was basic & disappointing with mould on the bathroom ceiling. We complained on the second day and were immediately offered a poolside room - much better. The buffet breakfast was ok, but nothing special. However the buffet was always kept well topped up. We dined in on 2 evenings; again no grumbles. Staff were good, especially in reception. The rooms were clean & towels (at least) were change daily. Pool towels were available from reception. In October there were plenty of poolside loungers available. There was no evening entertainment. The comfortable lounge area had a small bar & TV. Our rating was 3+ stars

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_Vidsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and we loved it. It had two big pools and was clean. The service was great as well as the food in the restaurant the breakfast which was included. The hotel was very pretty. The room was comfortable and has a nice size room. It was also at a great location which gave us the ability to take the bus to the beach and other towns. It was also walking distance to Fira and other towns. Next time we will probably stay in a villa in Firostephani or Oia but for our first trip it was better to be closer to Fira.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank normajeannyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights as one leg of your honeymoon (the other 2 were athens and mykonos)

The hotel itself is very beautiful and across the street you have a beautiful view of the caldera. The back of the hotel gives a view of the other side of the island/sunrise. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from Fira.

The rooms were clean as were the grounds and the pool. The hotel restaurant food was decent as was the included breakfast buffet.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although we did ask to have a bulb replaced in the reading lamp above the bed twice. It never got replaced.

One thing to note if you have a very low ick threshhold (we can't confirm this, but strongly feel the following to be true). I would recommend having your towels washed everyday. We tried to "save water" by not having our towels washed everyday. On 2 separate occasions we had a hair clump of the wrong color drop out of the towel. We had noticed the staff drying the towels outside on rails outside the rooms and we assumed they didn't make sure that the towels made it into the correct rooms.

Overall we did like this place, and would recommend it with the aforementioned exception.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daddycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

The first and foremost mistake most Americans make while travel abroad is comparing our hotels to Europe. You will not find our normal types of rooms in Europe unless you are paying a ton of money. As you travel more through Europe, you will learn this.

That being said, El Greco is a great hotel. The staff are very nice and accomodating. They can answer all of your questions. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Not like American rooms, but you ARE NOT in America. Just a note - showers in Europe are small. Do not expect American showers.

The location of the hotel is perfect, only a 10 minute walk to the heart of Fira. Also, an incredible view of Caldera and the Aegean from the front of the hotel.

The hotel has three pools. One major by the bar and restaurant. Another smaller, more private pool in back. Yest another smaller, barely used pool further back. All are nice and well cared for.

The breakfast buffet offers good Greek cuisine. Don't expect to find much eggs, bacon and sausage.

The hotel, as much of Greek Islands, are on multiple levels. It may be difficult for the mobility impaired to get around. There are some ramps, but probably would not accomodate a wheel chair. The ramps are very steep.

Overall, a great place to stay. I would highly recommend. The hotel doesn't offer a ton of amenities, but that is common of Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pusk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We were moved to this hotel after our original was overbooked (Marilla Village - 2 days notice via first choice). However, we were pleasantly susprised despite worrying about some of the reviews on here.
Overall I thought El Greco was a great resort - lovely surroundings, very clean pool, extremely helpful staff and we had a nice spacious room (kitchenette has minimal facilities though). It is close to Fira (5 minute walk) where there are numerous restaurants and a lovely sunset. One of the minor negatives is that El Greco is on a busy roadside but most of the resort is set back from there so the noise is minimal (some rooms balcony's are onto the road though).
Breakfast had plenty of choice (yes, its not the best for fresh fruit (mostly tinned apart from watermelon) but everything else is more than adequate).
It is a really great base to explore the rest of the island easily which is pretty small anyway so to get to places like Oia (a must) or Perissa takes around 20 mins max. Plus has a lovely main pool and 2 other smaller ones to enjoy some chilling out in the sun.
We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank W8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

It is a very beautiful hotel in a very nice place. Services are good and it is near the main town. We did not have any problem

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ithan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Built on the hedge of an ancient volcano caldera, the El Greco is ideally located for enjoying a fantastic scenery from dawn to sunset. Fantastic view of the caldera and the contemporary volcanic island in the midlle of it, superb sunset view.

Moreover, the hotel is really amazing. The triple-room we were given (two adults + a kid) was even larger than the hotel suites and definitely not just a double room with an extra coach-bed. The room was roomy, well furnished, well decorated and very clean. As the hotel is more like a small village, the rooms are actually semi detached bangalows.

The pools are large and clean. Two large pools in different levels of the hotel area, a baby pool and an open jacuzzi pool.

The breakfast was average. Nevertheless the restaurant offered good dinner (a la card) for reasonable prices.

The staff was amazing. They were very helpful and understanding. Our departing flight was at midnight and, although we had to check out of the room at 11:30 am, we were allowed to stay in our room till late in the afternoon (virtually upto the time we departed for the airport), free of charge, because we had a baby child... This service, and not only, were indeed much apreciated.

Although quite expensive, the El Greco was the best hotel experience I ever had in Greece. We were told it was the best place to stay in Santorini and we were not decieved.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 81 in Fira
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
1.3 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 81 in Fira
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $124 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing