We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice grounds and good location-grumpy staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice grounds and good location-grumpy staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is right on the main road to Fira- you can actually walk to Fira and all the shops/restaurants from the hotel. The jaw dropping views of the sea that Santorini is famous for are on the other side of this road, so you must cross the street to see these sunset views. A few of the hotel rooms face the view, but most do not. The rooms are clustered around a number of different swimming pools with hot tubs. The water was clean and clear, but the hot tub was not that warm, which was a bummer, as nights in Santorini get cool in May. The beauty of the pool areas, entry and lobby were marred by the surly attitudes of some of the staff. The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet:like all the other hotels we stayed at in Greece, it did not offer much in the way of fresh fruit(some stale looking oranges, and apples that were mushy). They have water dispensers with drinking water and several staff members were quite rude about letting us Americans/Anglos know that it was NOT okay to fill up your water bottle before walking into town. That got old really fast, given the amount of money we were spending for our room and meals.

Overall, since Santorini is not much of a beach town, the way Mykonos is, I think that the focus on the pool areas of the hotel is a waste. I never saw many people using the pools, and at night, which was a great time to use the hot tub, no one was in them, probably because the air was chilly and the hot tub was lukewarm.

Overall: rooms were decent, grounds were nice, food was okay. Would stay there again but really bargain for a discount on room rates.

Room Tip: do not accept a room higher than 600's or else you will be relegated to the back of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    588
    168
    66
    41
See reviews for
362
741
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Especially in the coffee shop, which is open late at night. We had the same wait person, and she was a refreshing personality after a long day of being tourists. The pool, the grounds, and the ocean views were gorgeous. The only downside of the hotel was, unfortunately, the comfort of the bed. Quite hard. Also, there was a step-down from the bed area to a sitting area which we about broke our necks on. We sorted that problem by placing a chair in our way so we wouldn't forget. The room had a small sitting area and a kitchenette, which would make self-catering a viable option. Overall, it was a nice room for the price. Just wish the beds were a little softer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was excellent with view of Caldera and well located 5-8 ' walk from Fira. There is also a supermarket "Carrefur" just 3-5 minutes walk from the hotel. Close to the local bus station and you can get a bus to see all island in a very good price - 1.6- 2.2 Euro in one direction. The hotel is a perfect place to relax -big with nice architecture and quiet. The bar at the pool was really good . The hotel staff was very helpfull. Very clean rooms, pools and area. The breakfast was good but every day was the same. The restaurant was very good but you can go to Fira town for dinner.

Room Tip: Room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has an excellent view, very good location, clean water-pool, pretty near with the city and near to supermarket as well. A well view of Caldera. Also the personnel very friendly. Santorini is a nice place not only in summer but in spring or autumn as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

An island so pretty, a hotel so beautiful (at a great location), the hotel staff so friendly...what more does one need for a fantastic vacation??? The hotel faces the sea and has three swimming pools and a coffee shop open till late in the night. Some rooms have a small kitchenette too. It is very close to the shopping area. One can also avail the car rental facility the hotel offers as driving I around the island is easy and economical.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper level where you can see the sunrise on one side and the sunset on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PranavIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

On the main road but quiet. Majority of rooms offer no view at all (if you come to Santorini for the first time YOU HAVE to stay somewhere with a view to the volcano). Simple rooms are pathetic, superior rooms are descent, suites and villas are good but could be perfect with minor changes and additions (decoration, services, amenities, better linens, cleaner private pool). Breakfaste is a desgrace for Greek standards. It is only good for people with no sense of taste, who are used to eating McBreakfast every morning. Fresh bread, fresh orange juice and variety of cheese and hams are a MUST for a hotel that wants to be called a "resort". The effort for quality service is obvious but still the result is poor, not because of the staff (very sweet and willing to help at all times) but because of the bad management and lack of organization in general. I have to say that upon our arrival the rooms we got were wrong (simple roooms with no view instead of seaview suites) but after complaining the front desk immediately offered us private villas with own pool (but no seaview). This hotel is a perfect example of the old, pre-crisis hotteling philosophy in Greece: build big, promote and advertise bigger, offer as less as possible. Overall result: Average.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arisalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The place has great ambience. Truly a relaxing resort. Has three pools and beautiful landscapes. Friendly staff and flexible and helpful as we requested for a room change and was seen to it effectively to our satisfaction.
Location - perfect, 5 mins walk to town of Fira
Hotel overlooks the volcano, a great view for sunset shot.
Breakfast is great with a great variety of choices.
Wifi is also available for the workaholics.
A kettle is not provided in the room so if you do crave for a coffee you will have to buy one at the bar.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Khosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing