We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at El Greco. It really is a beautiful hotel, I have never stayed in a hotel in Greece that was so clean, the staff dont stop from morning to night and are incredibly helpful. The hotel is on 3 levels with a pool on each, 2 with jacuzzis. We found the pool next to reception and spent most of our holiday there. The sunbeds were the most comfortabIe I have ever laid on. We tried the beds at the bottom pool and they definately need changing, the base has bars underneath and the mattresses have lost their stuffing. We had a lovely room on the first floor which was extremely quiet apart from guests in other rooms scraping their chairs across the floors. Perhaps they were too heavy to lift! The room was large with a balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom was also large with a whirlpool bath and power shower. My only complaint here was the hairdryer. I deliberately didnt take mine and wished I had. It was lukewarm and extremely slow. Our room was cleaned everyday and towels changed. I really dont know how anyone could complain about the breakfasts, they catered for everybody, full English, the usual ham and cheese, cereal, yoghurt and fruit and cake! Lunchtime snacks were varied and not cheap but we found sharing a club sandwich with fries was plenty for us and as for the pizzas, blimey, they were huge. We didnt eat in the restaurant in the evenings as we like to eat in a different place everynight.

The walk into town took about 10 minutes with a wonderful view of the Caldera on the way. There is a supermarket about half way for supplies. The town itself has enough restaurants to keep anyone happy for 2 weeks. We didnt have a bad meal but my favourite was Dionysis where i had a divine lamb stuffed with feta and spinach. We also loved, Lithos, Stani, Ellis and Naussua. We found the food very reasonably priced, obviously the food was more expensive in the Caldera restaurants but it wasnt much more expensive than at home. The drinks in the restaurants was also reasonable but the bar prices. Wow! Drink as much as you can during happy hours, you'll still pay 8-10 euros for 2 cocktails. One lovely bar we found charged 12 euros for cocktails so I stuck to house wine mostly which was reasonable. One place to avoid at all costs is the restaurant Don Angelo, have a look at the comments on this site, I will say no more. Thank god we had read about it so avoided it other than to walk past and feel sorry for the people eating there. There are several good bars, Brothers looks like a prison from outside but was ok inside apart from repeating the music both nights we went there. There is a little jazz bar that we liked that sold Sangria, delicious.

Our First Choice rep John was great. It was his first year repping but was really knowledgeable and helpful. We booked the sunset cruise through First Choice and they forgot to pick us up which didnt go down well but even though it was his day off he sorted everything out.

All in all we had a fantastic time. The hotel did not disappoint and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaonadrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    588
    168
    66
    41
See reviews for
362
741
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great location, just ten minute stroll to Thira. Fantastic views , although you have to cross a road to see this fabulous view. Beautiful hotel, could not really fault it. Very friendly and helpful staff, good choice of food and quite good breakfast . Room was spotless and looked like it had been recently refurbished. Stayed on the poolside which is very quiet and away from the road. I personally did not find the bedding uncomfortable in fact it was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in, normally the beds are quite hard in Greek hotels.
Only negative thing i can say is there was no hotel/ tourist information in the rooms which i think has been mentioned before.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room, which is very quiet, road side is noisy but you do have a better view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggshellsVaradero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

It is exactly as you see on the website. Staff were attentive when required. We were originally staying roadside but they were happy to move us when requested. The 5 minute walk into town meant there were no hills or steps to climb - a much easier option than others. Just crossing the road gave you a perfect view of the sunset and there were no crowds like in town.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We loved our three nights stay at El Greco. We had a large comfortable room in a quiet part of the hotel and we slept really well. The staff is really friendly even if it is not a small hotel (I wondered if it was a family business) and the breakfast was good.

There is many pools and it is easy to find a quiet spot to relax. It is about ten minutes to downtown Fira and if you don't want to go there or in Oia, just cross the street for a memorable sunset. Santorini was our favorite place in Grece and staying at El Greco made the experience really enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northeagle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Good location, great facilities for both families and couples. 4 pool areas were very well maintained. We booked a junior suite, which was 2 levels, but found the upstairs double bedding to be below par, and opted to sleep on lower level in single beds for comfort. The uncomfortable bedding is the only negative point for this hotel. The food was great, pool bar fantastic to sit under the umbrellas and sip drinks into the early evening before strolling into Fira for a plethora of dining choices. We would certainly return to Santorini, but look for more in the accomodation.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms would be best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at El Greco for three nights. The hotel was beautiful. It had three pool areas and a pool bar that was open until late at night. They also served a nice breakfast. The pools look just like the pictures you see on their website.
The room was very nice, clean and confortable. It was decorated with light colors... it was really at greek dream and I found it all very modern and romantic in my opinion.
Right in front of the hotel we had a beautiful view of the ocean and of the sunset and within a 5 minute walk we got in the town area with all the shops and restaurants open all day until late at night.
The staff was very efficient and they even took us to the airport for free due to the taxis stike--we didn´t even had to ask: they told us a strike was going on and that they would take us to the airport free of charge... very nice!
It is a great place to stay and I would definitelly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Modern, plenty of beautiful pools, courteous staff. Is located within a medium walk from the town. Definately would recommend to friends. We stayed in 7 hotels during our travels in Greece and this was comparatively one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldercouple710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing