We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Hotel, perfect Location, best Breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lava Suites & Lounge
Ranked #15 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we arrived there by Bus from the Ferry, as the Hotel is located almost next to the cable car we found it right away. The check in process went quick and smooth, we were upgraded and had a huge room with two bedrooms, a enormous living room and a kitchen. Our check in guy even gave us a mobile phone in case we needed anything during our stay.
Now to the best part: the breakfast
it was possible the best breakfast I have ever had, not too much but the location, the view was spectacular, also the quality of the food served was very good (but and this is not negative for me there were no "options", you got what they served you but that was plenty)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't fault Lava Suites. The room is big, beautiful and has a comfy bed. The views are stunning, the breakfasts were perfect and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. We are a young couple but it would suit most types of travelling groups. It is a nice distance from Thira meaning that you get views over Thira whilst being only 5 mins walk downhill.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had 4 nights here and it was the best accommodation we have ever had. We are usually budget travellers but decided to splash out a little on this one. So glad we did. Rigas and the team provided the best stay possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were amazing - food and service, and the terrace looks out over the caldera.
The room was fantastic - excellent decor and a loft bedroom. Also, we had our own private balcony/verandah overlooking the caldera and Fira town. Perfect at any time of day or night. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: You may have to pay extra but ask for "Serenity" or something similar. On the front with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is in a good location on the edge of the caldera and the edge of town so you can escape the hordes of cruise ship passengers who day trip in their thousands. There are many terraces so you can have a different view every day. Each are beautifully laid out, with comfortable loungers and well attended by the staff who will ensure you never de-hydrate… if you know what I mean …

The staff were delightful and very responsive to our requests. They gave excellent advice about restaurants locally and In Kamari so don’t hesitate to consult them with your personal preferences, they won’t send you to their “uncles” restaurant.

We only had the breakfast in the hotel but this was nearly worth the trip in itself. These are some of the most creative breakfast dishes we have had anywhere. Too much for anyone other than the heartiest appetite by day 2 we were asking for less – although loved every bite.

We were delighted with a larger room that we were in for the first night. You would be very happy with that. Cosie Rose is not for people who have problems with stairs and the bed is on a platform at the top of a ladder. It is very spacious and attractively decorated but do ensure you’re ready for the climb.

Tip: if more than 1 person you don’t need to use the hotel airport transfer. It costs more than a taxi which sit outside the terminal and you have to wait for others to arrive as it is actually a bus transfer.

Room Tip: If you can avoid Cosie Rose (the cheapest room) you will probably rate this hotel a lot higher and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyandtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Lava Suites & Lounge last month while visiting Santorini. I probably do not have to mention how beautiful the place is, the hotel location is right in front of Santorini Caldera when you can wake up with a wonderful view every morning. The hotel and our room was very clean. Breakfast was very very nice. All staff were super friendly, especially Rigas and Yanis. I am so impressed with the excellent, friendly, and helpful services from both of them (and also other staff). I would highly recommend Lava Suites & Lounge and would like to go back there and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyes_love_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The service at this hotel is outstanding!!! It started from taxi drop off- driver called the hotel to collect our luggage (I was 3 1/5 months pregnant). greeted by Irvan? concierge. My suitcase was 20+ kg and my mothers 14kg - he carried both down to the hotel which was a couple minutes walk. I would def recommend you ring hotel once you arrive as the path is cobbled and the stairs steep.
We got to reception and were kindly upgraded to a suite (+). We stayed in the Jasmine suite. Spacious, massive flat screen tv with chill beats playing(++), big cave bathroom, day lounge(can be set up as bed), mini kitchen with all necessary facilities and candles lit in each room. It opened out to your own outdoor sitting area which was surrounded by grapevines and view of the volcano. I was sooo tired I literally just laid on the outdoor lounge all afternoon. Ordered meze plate delivered to room, delicious! Arranged boat trip with hotel manager- no problem. Breakfast delivered to room fresh and very presentable & what a selection! They arranged a mini bus to take us to Oia and to take us home. This was all possible with the mobile they give you to use during your stay. At night the restaurant is beautifully set and a great spot to chill. Loved the quiet location whilst being very close to the shops and restaurants.
My mum loved it so much every where else we stayed she would say that the lava suites was so much better!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite or room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel, the views, the location overlooking the volcano, the staff were perfect. The hotel is a five minute walk to the center of Fira and were it located in the center it would be a lot busier in the bar. The included breakfast was a great meal to start the day. A very nice assortment of food and more than ample food. Our room had everything we needed and had the nicest character, it was the blue vine room and we couldn't have asked for more. It had an outdoor seating area under a pergola that had vines of grapes covering the pergola. The staff is attentive to every need and arranged all. You need only ask and they were on it. You will not be disappointed staying here!

I would suggest making arrangements with Rigas, the manager, for pick up to the hotel as you will have trouble finding the place and you need help from the staff to bring your luggage down the path from the road if you have more than 2 pieces or its heavy. The entrance to the hotel is on the path connecting Fira and Firostefani about a 3 minute walk from where the car drops you off.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Vine Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LICanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.1 mi away
Kastro Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kalisti Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#23 of 80 in Fira
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Suites & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Suites & Lounge

Address: Caldera, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range: $147 - $1,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lava Suites & Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two neoclassic mansions built with flair adjoined into a romantic accommodation villa. The mansion was historically a summer home of Murat, the King of Sicily and General of Napoleon. Nested at the top of the Caldera cliff, in the heart of the island's capital, yet secluded from the visitor's crowds, offering panoramic view of the sea and the volcano as well as its famous sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lava Suites & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Suites & Lounge Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing