We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN AMAZING STAY!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lava Suites & Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lava Suites & Lounge
Ranked #15 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Santorini for our honeymoon and Alexandra arranged for a taxi to pick us up and bring us to Lava Suites. The hotel was stunning, the views brilliant, the food phenomenal and the service extremely exceptional! Not only did Alexandra arrange for our transportation (fantastic Vespa), she also provided us with a cell phone to contact her whenever we needed. If we required restaurant ides, information on tourist sites or were simply lost, she was always available to help. The staff at Lava Suites made our vacation memorable and unforgettable! We would definitely recommend Lava Suites and would stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Everything from staff to rooms to views to food is exceptional! Do not hesitate to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    26
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
22
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Lava Suites. The staff were very helpful and helped us with our luggage on arrival. Apart from the beautifully decorated rooms the views from this place is so amazing.It is one of those picture perfect photos that you could find only in travel magazines. Basically Lava Suite is not a hotel, so don't expect too much as there only a few people running this place. However having said that, the staff is extremely helpful and nice. The breakfast is fantastic. Not only did Rigas ensure that we had something different everyday, he made sure that is good enough for MasterChef judges in terms of presentation and taste as well. I will always remember my stay here. It is a dream holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here for my honeymoon and the place is exquisite.

The all white decor and personalized attention to detail is fabulous.

It is, as the name suggests, a Lounge bar with suite facilities so don't expect any hotel specific services but if you have come to Santorini to check out local restaurants and/or sit in your room and savour the Caldera this is perfect.

The trek to the place, without them helping you for directions and lifting luggage, can be trick hence book the Air port pickup.
The staircases to the place are lil tricky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darshan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited Santorini during September for our wedding/honeymoon. From the moment we arrive at Lava Suites, our experience was amazing. We didn't really know what to expect, as there aren't many phots on the website. We took a leap of faith when booking our suite, based on the reviews we read on here.

We arrived on the island around 8pm, and someone from the hotel met our shuttle on arrival from the airport. The hotel is not accessible from the road. One must walk down the cobblestone paths to reach it. The hotel employee carried both of our bags (both in excess of 50 lbs) from the road to the hotel for us, for which we were very thankful! On arrival, we were greated by the villa manager, who escorted us to our suite, gave us an overview of the island, a cellular phone to use during our visit with his number pre-programmed, and a welcome bottle of wine.

Everyone at Lava Suites was extremely welcoming and beyond helpful and friendly. The service was immpecable every step of the way. There really aren't enough complimentary adjectives to describe our experiene! The view from the lounge was breathtaking, and the breakfast provided each morning in the lounge was wonderful. Samson, who prepared our breakfast each morning, was very attentive, taking notice of small details. He observed that neither of us ate the yolks from our hard-boiled eggs, so the next day he removed them and stuffed the eggs. It may sound silly, but we have never had a waiter be so observant or thoughtful!

The night of our wedding, they prepared our suite for us. We returned from dinner to find rose petals leading a path to the bedroom, ending in a heart on the bed. There were candles lit and a chilled bottle of champagne waiting. How thoughtful!

The staff at Lava Suites is amazing. The food is great, the views are mind blowing, the location of the hotel is stellar as well. It is less than a 5 minute walk away from all of the stores and shops in Fira, but just far enough removed to be peaceful and quiet. We also enjoyed the small pool, which is well maintained.

I would highly recommend Lava Suites. We felt like we had found a hidden gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MirandaJ858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

When we arrived in the morning, there is nobody at the reception to welcome you or at least someone to put your luggages in storage. The place is not very accessible if you have luggages. But once arrived, what a relief!
The staff started to arrive gently one by one and they offered us a nice breakfast so far.
After we finished our breakfast, someone explained me that he will lead us to our room suite.
I followed him with 2 other people over 60 years old … we went out of the property and started to walk along Fira's coast.
I thought they may have more than one property : but they sent us into another cheap hotel that has nothing to do with the view of the one we booked. We ended up in a lower rank and half price Hotel. The room was booked month ago and if there was an overbooking issue, they should have seen it long ago and warn us so we could just book another hotel.
I don't know if it is a common practice but that is not right at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mickaelung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Lava Suites we were made to feel special. We booked an executive room for five nights but was upgraded to the Master Suite for three of them. This was amazing with wonderful views of the Caldrea from the lounge window. The hotel was in a great location set a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the town. From the terrace the views were stunning and a perfect place to watch the sunset. The breakfasts were unbelievable so much choice and beautifully presented. But it was the staff that made the holiday so special. The Manager was extremely helpful and gave us a mobile phone to call him if we ever needed anything when out and about. All the staff were welcoming and polite Samson and Helena were fantastic and faultless in serving and preparing drinks and snacks they made us feel so at home. We will definitely be returning to the Lava Suites and Lounge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We didn't stay here as we were on a cruise ship, but rather spent the afternoon in the lounge overlooking the gorgeous ocean and view of Santorini in their comfortable plush outdoor seating. The food was amazing and the bottled water was actually reasonably-priced (which is rare in Europe). We drank wine and beer with our sandwiches, which were also well priced considering the location had a million-dollar view! The bartender and wait staff were friendly too. The location is a close 5 minute walk to the cable car, so we were able to stay longer before making our way back to our ship.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthTDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.3 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#30 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Suites & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Suites & Lounge

Property: Lava Suites & Lounge
Address: Caldera, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lava Suites & Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two neoclassic mansions built with flair adjoined into a romantic accommodation villa. The mansion was historically a summer home of Murat, the King of Sicily and General of Napoleon. Nested at the top of the Caldera cliff, in the heart of the island's capital, yet secluded from the visitor's crowds, offering panoramic view of the sea and the volcano as well as its famous sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Lava Suites & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Suites & Lounge Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing