We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza and lovely Santorini wine”
Review of El Greco Taverna

El Greco Taverna
Ranked #128 of 188 Restaurants in Fira
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice pizza and lovely Santorini wine”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

For about 10€ you can get a lovely Greek Pizza and for 12€ you can enjoy a bottle of Santorinis finest white wine which comes in at 14.5%. The free delivery to our hotel was a nice bonus but the food was a little cool when it arrived. Other than that it would have been 5 stars. Eating in would be the better option which we also did. We loved the place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aidan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    79
    32
    19
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santorini, Greece
2 reviews
“THE BEST TAVERNA IN SANTORINI”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

i was in this taverna with my family and the food was very delicious,they have traditional pizza italian and greek cuisine like moussaka gyros... fo thise rissent this is the best taverna in santorini. And the staff was very friendly and the menager thank you Tony :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REDONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
1 review
“LIAR- DONT GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff spoke Chinese & pretended to be nice, because my friend and I are Chinese. Yes, he did get what he want & we did go there. He told us and promise us that we would be offer 10% discount, but actually we didn't get any. Ok, that's not the biggest problem for us. BUT, after we got the bill, that's really pissed us off!!! Before we ordered the food, the waitress gave us some bread, and then took our order. After we ordered one sea risotto & fried calamari and finished it, the cost wasn't the same as what we have ordered!! The bill showed there was "another item" which cost 3 Euro. Great!!! That's the price of the bread!!! How come they can serve food which is not free without noticing customers!! Such a liar and cheater!!! They should tell customers that the bread is not free and they can decide whether they want or not, instead of serving it as free of charge and then ask customers to pay for it!! Also, there are too many flies!!! When we were eating, they were flying all around us!! Disgusting!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, easy homey food, good value”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I went there for "real Greek food" and I think that's what I got served.
The food wasn't fancy but good and the portions were huuuge (at least for my tummy)!
Service was really nice and the prices were exactly as the menu said.
I can't believe other people had such a bad experience there... Maybe just a bad day.
I really enjoyed eating there and would recommend it. It's sure not the best restaurant in Fira but it's not the worst either ;)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Solid food, not the best in Santorini”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food was good, but not the quality of other restaurants during our week long trip in Santorini. Greek salad was a good value at 5 euro, and enough for 2 people. Might try something else next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDNFamilyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Greco Taverna also viewed

 

Been to El Greco Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing