We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Murphys

Murphys
Ranked #154 of 180 Restaurants in Fira
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Popped into this place for pre-meal beer, wish we hadn`t! Small beer @ 5.50 euros each, glasses not particularly clean and cigarette smoke, even from the bartender who came to talk to us. English guy, who , apart from blowing smoke on us, was ok until we complained about the price, then he became quite abrupt. Avoid this place, it`s the only poor thing we encountered during our stay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveJoyCritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    21
    23
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sleazy Bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Came into this pub with my Boyfriend in the middle of the day for a quiet drink. Promptly served by an annoying bar man who kept making blonde jokes,left my chair to take a look around and found pictures of naked women on the walls,Im not a prude but felt a little uncomfortable by this. When we were drinking the bar tender was putting blackcurrent into a jagermeister bottle,suspect behavior. Did not return another night. Definitely not Irish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralphy2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fake Irish pub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This pub is a tourist trap. Don't bother. The drinks are overpriced and the service is awful. It is an insult to call this place an irish pub.
We ended up leaving 5 minutes after sitting down because the greek bartender ignored us. This pub is extremely small and there were 2 couples sitting at the bar when we sat down at a table beside the bar, so it wasn't as if they were busy. We waited for 5 minutes, but the bartender did not even acknowledge us, she was too busy complaining to the customers sitting at the bar.
We saw the drink prices listed on a board on the wall. We couldn't believe how expensive beer was. Once we were fed up with not being acknowledged by the bartender or even looked at, we walked out. Don't waste your time with this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veclempt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It is what it is.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Youve got to know what to expect when you go into a pseudo Irish bar. Drinks are a bit toppy in this one to be honest, but they've got as much football as you'd want to see. I went for an international game, had a few drinks & left for a decent Greek meal. Only way to treat these places. It was packed though! Lots of Americans ordering cocktails, so they've gotta be something right :-)

Helpful?
Thank EmmaH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Never go here. It's incredible rip off. They charged me 6.5 euro for a Fix. It's a Greek beer that you can get at any corner for a euro.

They are uncaring, rude and straight out dishonest.

Beware going here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphys also viewed

 

Been to Murphys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing