We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect combination of wine and food”

Santorini Wine Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.37*
and up
Santorini Wine Roads Tour with Wine Tastings
Ranked #3 of 10 Food & Drink in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit traditional wineries,and try wines made from indigenous grape varieties of Santorini. Enjoy a unique experience with our expertise Sommelier Vaio who greatly enjoys conducting wine education presentations, sharing his passion for wine with all levels of wine consumers from the novice to the most discerning wine connoisseur and traveler.Enjoy private or semi-private Food & Wine Tours, hands-on Cooking Classes, exclusive dinners and scenic island tours with us.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect combination of wine and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

After doing extensive research and looking at Tripadvisor, we settled on Santorni Wine Tours. We were looking for the right combination of a short wine tour and a cooking class. The session lasted 5 hours which was perfect for us. Our first stop was the wine museum and then a sampling of several wines. Then our guide (George) drove us to Oia for our cooking class. George was very friendly and helpful. HE answered all of our questions and pointed out numerous facts about Santorini during our day. Regarding the cooking class, this is not your typical hands on cooking class. Except for some minor preparation of our meal, it is more of a cooking demonstration. It was very informative and fun to watch our chief talk about our meal preparation. I would have preferred an intensive class where we prepared the meal. However, this was fine and would recommend it. Our meal turned out delicious and hard to miss since it was at one of the better restaurants in Oia. The total experience was bit expensive but you do get a lot since it is a combination tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    71
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A trip to do if you have time on the island and like wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We took the 4 hour wine tour on Santorini with Vaios and is his company recently. They arrived on time and had very comfortable transport, Vaios is a character, speaks very good English and is terrible at remember names - which makes it a very entertaining time!!! He is however extremely knowledgeable of the Santorini, Greek and International wines and was very capable in explaining the vinicultural and vinicultural for the island. The three vineyards we visited highlighted different styles of Santorini wine and highlighted the various approaches taken by the winemaker. We tasted some very nice Assyrtiko, Aidani and Vin Santo blends. It was also a chance to interact with some nice people from all over the world - we had people Brazil, US, Canada, Australia and from Ireland on our trip. To be recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank reybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Viaos is wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour in beautiful Santorini. Everything from the pickup in the Mercedes van to the wineries was well executed. Viaos is extremely knowledgeable about all of the wines and the history of winemaking in Santorini. He also is a studied sommelier and knows quite a bit about the way wine is made in many other regions of the world. You can tell he loves what he does. We came away from the tour with a case of six really unique wines that we packed in a box with Styrofoam padding. Perhaps one of the most unique qualities of Santorini white wine is that many vintages can age for a few years in the bottle. We had to check it, which was quite expensive, but it was the only way to guarantee they would make it to the states. We can't wait to open up our wines a few years from now and soar back to Santorini by way of our taste buds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ItaliaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“An Excellent Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband, sister, and brother-in-law loved our experience on the Santorini Wine Roads tour. Vaios is incredibly knowledgable and warm and had great information about both wine and the island's history. He encouraged everyone to share their thoughts and opinions about each wine and offered great ideas for pairings. Each of the three wineries we went to offered something special, and I especially appreciated the slower pace and snacks along the way. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an easy and comfortable way to see the island and experience unique and refreshing wines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, U.S.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good wine, knowledgeable guide, comfy ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked an Island Tour which included some sightseeing, including visiting Akrotiri and the town of Pyrgos. We were picked up in a roomy Mercedes van. Our guide George is great. He is funny and knowledgeable in terms of the history and wine. During the ride, he made an effort to chat with every group individually. We even visited a restaurant where scenes from the movie Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants was filmed. Our tour included a visit to one winery, where we tasted about 4-5 wines (sorry, I lost count since we got several pours of each wine). They were very good.

My only regret is that we took this tour at the end of our stay in Santorini. George explained different varietals of Santorini wine and taking this tour at the beginning would have helped us in ordering wines during our meals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank whoisthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Wine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Wine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing