We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“3 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here recently on our trip to Santorini for 2 nights. We had a trip with a couple locations in Greece and this was the hotel we stayed at in Santorini. We booked all 5 star hotels through a travel agent. The other hotels were a lot nicer than this one. I cannot call this a 5 star hotel. First the bed was extremely hard. The breakfast buffet was so-so. It was not very good and was usually not very warm/cold. The first morning we were woken up by the room next door banging on the wall. Very annoying. The bright side was the staff was very nice and helpful. Also it was a quick walk up to the town area for eating and shopping. I wouldn't recommend booking this hotel if you are looking for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    157
    57
    20
    9
See reviews for
116
449
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel as one of the featured resort hotels in the AMEX brochure and gave it a go despite mixed reviews in Trip Advisor. We're glad we did. We booked a jacuzzi suite which was wonderful. Took time to get the jacuzzi to heat up but worth the wait. It's a short walk to the center of Fira where you will find a huge choice of restaurants and shops. The staff were all friendly, efficient and extremely helpful. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Anna Maria & her staff were brilliant we had a wonderful few days in Thira Santorini & it was all we hoped for & more. The food was lovely & the pool bar provided great service. Nothing was too much trouble the welcome & farewell were equally warm .

Room Tip: They are all good the spa rooms can be a bit of noise in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We were there for 2 nights at the end of April. The hotel was quiet but we received the friendliest and most welcoming arrival at a hotel ever. The family room was big enough. 1 large double bed and a sofa bed for my 2 small boys.The bathroom had everything, even a jacuzzi bath which the boys found amusing! The two ladies at reception were exceptional, they were really friendly and very helpful and made our first experience of Santorini a one to remember. All staff member we came in contact with made us feel special and the kids very welcome, it felt like nothing we asked of them or to them was too much! The hotel is only a five minute walk into the main streets of Fira so great if you dont want to hire a car at the beginning of your holiday and you just want to relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the pool and are quiet and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here several nights when we were in Santorini, It's a newer hotel (built 2011) so everything is very nice. The staff were amazingly helpful, recommending restaurants, booking taxis, and getting ATVs delivered for us. The pool is immaculate, and the pool staff were there when you wanted them to be, and gone when you didn't. The bartender was very friendly, and kept the drinks coming all day and into the night. The pool bar was a lot of fun at night, a lot of the guests come down for drinks, and we end up drinking till 12 or 1. The location in Thira is easy to get to, but it's also just enough off the main road that it's very quiet. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the internet was fast (for the islands). Breakfast was very good too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

very well located and serviced hotel. went in a big group for a five days and stayed at Astro palace hotel. they were extremely accomodative and coyrteous from booking to reception at our arrival.rooms were basic but well equipped. breakfast was fresh and good each day. the location of the hotel is ideal for exploring all parts of Santorini from Fira to Oia to the volcanoes. unlike most hotels it is not up and down so perfect for kids and elders, which our group contained. most of all the entire staff was fantastic. only disappointment was that our jacuzzi was not working and that the pool water was very cold. otherwise excellent, would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshishJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel in great location in a quiet area but still with in walking distance to town. Rooms lovely and clean and staff where very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely lots of variety. Overall an excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
0.3 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
3.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 50 in Imerovigli
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astro Palace Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Palace Hotel and Suites

Property: Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Address: Eikostis Pemptis Martiou, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fira
#18 Family Hotel in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astro Palace Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites with private pool is a new hotel built in 2010 located in Fira town. All rooms have sea view and half of the rooms have also a private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astro Palace Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astro Palace Hotel Fira
Astro Palace Hotel And Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing