We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely NOT a five star and not worth the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as part of our anniversary trip to Santorini. We stayed first at the La Maltese which really set a high bar in terms of excellence and what a five star hotel should be like (and I will write a separate, glowing review on that property). We then came to Astro Palace and while the hotel is nice and new, the property and/or rooms are lacking in several respects.

1. The "gym," as previously mentioned, is a dump. It's a small, dank, dark room with 3-4 machines.

2. The morning breakfast is something that one would expect to receive from a Doubletree or a Holiday Inn Express. Both solid hotel chains, but not five star hotels. There were cold cuts, cheeses, some different types of eggs, seriously undercooked bacon, sausage that looked and tasted like cheap sausages that I could buy in the U.S. easily, and spanikopita/tiropita. Decent variety, but as mentioned, not five star quality.

3. Housekeeping was a joke. We left for a sailing trip at 9am and returned around 4pm. Our room had yet to be cleaned. Housekeeping did not arrive until past 5pm, but at that point, we were relaxing and getting ready to go out for the evening, so it would have been intrusive to come in. There's no reason to take that long to clean rooms in any hotel.

4. The air conditioning was highly insufficient. We turned on the air and even left one room key in the slot to keep the air running at all times and all that happened was that our room turned slightly swampy. The air temperature in the room was OK between about 2am-9am, but before and after those times, it was muggy. This might have to do with the fact that we were in a jacuzzi room and they didn't provide a cover for the jacuzzi which likely exacerbates the problem. We called after one day of rainforest humidity and asked for them to fix it or to be moved to another room. We were told the hotel was full, but they would send a technician. We waited in the room for 2 hours for a technician and no one showed up. Mind you, our room location should have been one of the cooler rooms because it did not receive morning or afternoon sun at all.

5. The jacuzzi is nothing more than a lukewarm tub in your room. The jets turn off maybe every 2 minutes and there's no way to make the water warmer. In addition, the tub had clearly not been cleaned in a while because I saw mildew and mold in the corner of the tub.

6. The bed is hard as a rock. After 2 nights in the bed, my back hurt.

Overall, the hotel is OK. Not five stars. Not four stars. Maybe a 3 star hotel? But at this rate, it is not worth it. There are better hotels to be had.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 860 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

I am currently being held hostage in a jacuzzi "suite".

1) The air conditioner doesn't really work and the promised technician as never arrived. It is a swamp in here and the only way to get a shot at a decent nights sleep to keep the doors and windows on vent setting. Only problem with that is that there are no screens so the mosquitoes and other bugs come in for a visit.

2) The jacuzzi is more like a room temperature pond with jets that shut off every 60 seconds. Also, the 3rd grade level painting job of the color by numbers nude couple sunset scene just really classes the room up.

3) The bed is hard as a board. I love a hard bed but you might as well be sleeping on the floor. If you ever make the mistake of rolling onto your side, you'll feel it in 15 minutes. No relief from the pillows. It came with 2 pillows and, despite a request for more, we remain with two pillows.

4) The breakfast has been disappointing. I have an adventurous palate and will try just about anything. The bacon was soggy and undercooked. The sausage is like little vienna sausages. The fried eggs could be used to patch a tire.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOriginalZorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Such a wonderful place!! First I have to say we arrived at 4 am at Santorini but at 8 am they had our room ready ( check in is at 12 or so ) so we could go in the room. Spacious, beds are comfortable, there ´s a sofa and a small balcony with great sea views! Bathroom is totally new with a nice tube.
Breakfast is ok though not much variety! Definitely the best thing is the pool area, its great relax!! Plus the service is very good, from reception to waiters, maids, etc They are very friendly and helpful!!

Room Tip: Standard room is a good value, suites with private pools are nice but maybe too expensive high seaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank depo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We honeymooned at the Astro Palace having booked last minute and were unsure what to expect. We couldn't have been happier. The hotel is quite new (2010) and has very clean with tastefully decorated rooms. We had a lovely honeymoon suite which came with it's own small swimming pool. The breakfast was ample with plenty of choice nd goo coffee! The staff were very pleasant and accommodating, always with a frendly smile. Whilst the hotel was nice and quiet (best suited to adults) it was only a 5/6 minute walk into the centre of Fira with all it's charming streets. Beware of caldera front restaurants - double the price of those within the town!! Overall we would highly recommend the Astro Palace to couples both young and old who want a peaceful relaxing holiday in the sun with a small bar and restaurant but without the fuss of nightly entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redding8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the last night of our vacation in beautiful Santorini after we had left the beautiful and very luxurious Asteras Villas in Fira. I have to say we were very disappointed. Maybe its because we had come from Asteras and expected too much but there is still much improvement to be made at Astro palace. Firstly it was expensive for what we thought was no more than a 4 star hotel at best, way too far from Fira to walk, when other reviews say 100 meters then they must be talking about a different hotel, the menu was very poor to say the least and absolutely set with no movement. We asked for 2 main courses of fish and we asked for side orders of french fries and we were told that it was not the hotels policy to deliver side orders. Only what is on the menu came together so if we wanted fries we would have to order a burger also which to be honest was pathetic. If i pay 5 star money i want 5 star service.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MattieC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here a a few weeks ago and loved every minute. The staff were lovely and we were actually upgraded to a jacuzzi suite! The rooms are very clean and the hotel facilities are great including 2 pools, pool bar/restaurant and a health spa. The hotel is only a 100mtr walk to Fira town which is great when you are heading out for dinner. They can also organise anything and everything for you. We told them we wanted quad bikes so in the next 15mins we had quad bikes. We said we wanted to go out to the volcano and hot springs-they provided us with a list of possible tours, booked the one we wanted and gave us directions on how to get to the port. Definately reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This place is new, less than a year old so they are still fine tuning things. It's a small resort but higher end. I would give it 4 stars rather than 5, for now. Staff are still on a learning curve, but very helpful. Very quiet and relaxing by the pool and a view of the sea. The pool is of moderate size and they have a bar. Most rooms have a view, but on the side opposite of the cauldera, which is fine. The hotel overlooks fields but is slowly being filled in with acreages. I did like the landscaping and flowers. Rooms are large and bathrooms nice, but the TV is quite small. The lady manager is very nice and helpful. Her recommendations for restaurants were perfect, just tell them whether you want traditional or modern or expensive or inexpensive or view or no view of cauldera. Easy though uphill 5 minute walk into town pass the buses (if you can't do this walk into town then you are in really bad shape my friend!...I'm 52). Ample parking on gravel for cars. This is a small island but the roads only show town names so no street signs. Less than 15 minute drive to airport once you get your bearings. Driving is a little crazy in Santorini, kind of like mexico where scooters and quads are weaving through traffic. The parking police patrol regularly so only park in parking lots "P" or only on the right side of the yellow line anywhere on the island. All parking was free except in Oia where it was 2E. Oia was a 20 minute winding drive from Fira and I was going fast. Fira is definitely more central and easier access to the beach towns. Things that still need work: the place is hard to find by car as it is on a oneway backroad on the east edge of town and they have a small sign at the entrance, so you have to know where you are going (from the airport once you find Fira, turn right at the Copy Centre as you enter Fira, if you see the hospital you have gone too far, then follow it winding into the country maybe a half kilometer and there will be a small low easy to miss sign on your right next to a field just opposite a road that goes uphill to the tourist buses; the breakfast is full and hot but is virtually the same thing every day, we had better variety in less expensive hotels in Florence and Athens, no fruit other than sliced cantaloupe and watermelon, also hard to find anything with high fiber; hot water was unreliable, yes cold showers; the lobby was horridly hot upon arrival...should be air conditioned; the young gal that met us upon arrival to show us around was a nice touch but we were so hot we just wanted to get to a cool room; ground floor rooms still get a few insects including the odd ant and spider even though they thoroughly wash the floors every day, but this is not unexpected as any ground floor will have this problem as we have found in hotels everywhere we stay; they gave us 2 ground floor rooms with a view when we asked for upper rooms with a view, even though there were numerous empty rooms at the hotel; they should allow space for you to put one or two drinks in the mini bar given the high price they charge to stay there, a sign telling us that we cannot put drinks in the minibar is not acceptable, but we still put drinks in the mini bar with no problem; air conditioning worked well in the rooms but would shut off when you left the room, acceptable as it costs money but be aware of that, wifi worked and was included but was spotty. We did not see any mosquitoes. All things considered I would definitely stay here again because staff were not snotty, but rather helpful and the place is very peaceful and relaxing. TIP of the day: I used my gps on my iphone to get my bearings when driving to find beaches on the back side of the island, to bookmark the hotel location, or to make sure I was on the right road to the airport. Turn off cellular data or you will pay roaming charges if from northamerica and the gps is free. I preferred maps2go for the island of Santorini though google maps works but would take up to 5 minutes for the base map to download so be patient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fira
1.6 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 81 in Fira
834 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 75 in Kamari
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Fira
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 81 in Fira
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astro Palace Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astro Palace Hotel and Suites

Address: Eikostis Pemptis Martiou, Fira 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: $182 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astro Palace Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites with private pool is a new hotel built in 2010 located in Fira town. All rooms have sea view and half of the rooms have also a private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astro Palace Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astro Palace Hotel Fira
Astro Palace Hotel And Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing