We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely family run restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aris Restaurant

Aris Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 178 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We net the owner during the day and he told us he had bee there for years and had built the business up from scratch. Later that day we had an evening mean here and the food was delicious. I can recommend this restaurant as a well priced one serving really good food. Well worth a try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SmedleyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    41
    16
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MEXICO CITY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad attitude from server/ Pesimo servicio del camarero”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Many times I've been to Santorini and also this restaurant never was I treated so poorly like today. As I approach this old server and ask if I can pay with my credit card he responds yes in a very unfriendly manner. I continue to find the right table with the perfect view he comes up to me demanding to know what I wanted to pay with my credit card. A coffee? A drink? He asks sarcastically I in return answer I want to pay for my lunch, astonished by his attitude I say to myself Jesus!!!! Then he challenges me asking is there a problem after which I am now upset and respond...........YES YOU ARE THE PROBLEM, WITH THAT ATTITUDE YOURE NOT GOING TO HAVE CUSTOMERS IN YOUR RESTAURANT UNTIL YOU CHANGE AND FIX YOUR MENTALITY ABOUT THE WAY YOU APPROACH PEOPLE, he then conitnued to say something in greek and as I was wlaking out I saw him gesture with his hands for me to leave. I went straight to the reception og the hotel Aris and made a complaint to the receptionist who was very polite after my disappointing experience. Never will return to this restaurant again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Olimpos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the 77 steps; a great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We strolled around Fira looking for a good place to have our last meal in Santorini. Unfortunately we had failed to make reservations and the recommended restaurant was full. Upon looking down the mountainside we saw a restaurant with table cloths that looked interesting. Took us a minute to find which stairs to take down, and viewed the menu prior to all journey down closer to the water and Aris restaurant.

Our waiter was quite friendly and I asked the question I frequently do "what's really good on the menu?" I'm always a little surprised when the response is non committal, as was the response I received the previous night. But not at Aris. Our server had strong opinions to try the lamb, the cheese appetizer with a certain salad, the fish of the day; as well as the " I'd try another selection."
The best tip may have been that Santorini doesn't make good red wine (as we had found out the night before), but the white wine is very good.

Fortunately we tried all the recommendations and everything was fantastic and we enjoyed our best meal on Santorini. And after the great meal, the hike back up the 77 steps was needed and required.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tisidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The food was the best out of all the restaurants in GREECE period!!!!!! The food was so fresh the people where so friendly and the service was top notch.Amazing amazing amazing!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“APPALLING”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Where to start! I do not complain or even write reviews, but it had to be done! First off, the service was TERRIBLE! The waiter (older man) was HORRIBLE! Rude, snidely, just completely incompetent! Snappy remarks were made, huffing and puffing about anything asked! Horrible! Then after not even having a menu for 40 minutes, the food was TERRIBLE! The worst I have ever had, my pasta was so bland it was like chewing plastic! The sauces were comparable to sewerage! 5 meals and not one remotely satisfied! Then brought a "complimentary" desert, only to be charged 6 euro per person for service (which was shocking anyway) due to the fact that they had provided extra service (desert!). So over priced, so rude, an all round TERRIBLE experience!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieSarah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aris Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing