We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service but tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Corner

Corner
Ranked #9 of 180 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Crepes are a specialty in countries all over the world.The basic ingredients are flour, milk & eggs.French people have a huge variety of recipes & ways of making crepes.In Greece there is a belief that the crepes came from "Pontos" & the name for the crepe is "Lalages".For centuries the people from Pontos have made Lalages on a round iron with mud & ash below (to prevent sticking),the name is "sats". A fire is lit beneath "sats" & when it is warm the mixture is placed at various points to make Lalages.We hope that you will enjoy them!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly service but tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Located right in the main square of Fira, this restaurant serves crepes and waffles all day. The view from the restaurant patio is nice for people watching. It is extremely easy to find and very well advertised (the map of Santorini that we got from our hotel was sponsored by Corner). Although the fresh juices are quite good, the food is average and quite expensive. A frappe coffee cost us 3.50 euro. Our breakfast for two totaled 22 euro (prices as at April 2012).

We will not be visiting the cafe again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_love988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS D, Public Relations Manager at Corner, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear customer
Thank you for your review regarding the creperie CORNER. We would like to assure you that we take into account all the reviews to continuously improve our services.

However we believe that your view contains ambiguities for the following reasons:
• Our prices are quite low compared to those found in similar restaurants in Santorini (see reviews of other customers).
• All rates are on the menu that we offer for your order. So the coffee frappe costs 3 euros and a full breakfast for two persons can not exceed 18 euros.
• In addition the coffee at breakfast is included at no extra charge.

Please note that our restaurant is not in the main square in Fira as you claim, but close to it. So it is reasonable to ask you: are you sure you got breakfast in our restaurant?

For these reasons we ask you to recheck the score for our restaurant to respond to factual findings.

In any case we would like to provide us more information to investigate your claims. We look forward to welcoming you to the unique Santorini and offer you the high quality services creperie CORNER as always at competitive prices.

M. Devetzis
Creperie CORNER
Fira, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    135
    30
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
247 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Good value compared to the coffee bar of the caldera”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Good value compared to the coffee bar of the caldera
The quality of the dishes very good. The service is almost poor as the space for the tables are almost on the road. Prices are pretty good compared to the price level of the island. The location is favored but is covered by good value.

I suggest the corner for breakfast pancakes or waffles

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS D, Public Relations Manager at Corner, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear "Iad K"
Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our restaurant.
We would like to assure you that we take into consideration all the reviews to continuously improve in all areas and one of them is the service.
We will be glad to have you with us again, providing you better service and a tastefull sweet crepe.

M. Devetzis
Corner Crepes
Fira, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Waffles in the world!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My fiance and I stopped in Corner's one day because we were both craving eggs that were not boiled. Europe is big on boiled eggs ;) Anyways we ended up getting a waffle to split as well. It was the best waffle either of us have ever eaten!! We have had our fair share of waffles, but nothing as perfect as this! I highly recommend sampling one if you are in the area. The fresh orange juice is also delicious and you can't miss that either!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS D, Public Relations Manager at Corner, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear "Tami B"
It is encouraging to have a good evaluation from an experienced member of Trip Advisor. Our goal is to strive for the best for our customers.
The Manager and staff of our restaurant thank you for your comments.
We expect to see you again in Santorini.

M. Devetzis
Corner Crepes
Fira, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I'm not sure this is the kind of place you would go for an evening meal, but for breakfast or lunch, this place is fantastic.

The standard of the crepes is superb. Good quantity with really fresh ingredients. We had to go back multiple times, despite there being multiple creperies to choose from. I'm actually going to miss this place when I go home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mat-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS D, Public Relations Manager at Corner, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Mat-Roberts
Your words encourage us. It is true that many of our customers who come for the first time keep coming repeatedly. This makes us feel fine when we host you and regret when you are departing too.

M. Devetzis
Corner Crepes
Fira, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was really authentic and not commercial. We went several times during our stay. The owner and family made us feel so welcome. It was great

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 4mariachristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS D, Public Relations Manager at Corner, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear 4mariachristine
Thank you for choosing us among other restaurants. Note that the good atmosphere in the corner is a function of your presence.
We expect to see you again soon.

M. Devetzis
Corner Crepes
Fira, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing