We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Fira”
Review of Pelican Kipos

Pelican Kipos
Ranked #10 of 188 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Diner, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is a nice option for those who are looking to enjoy a coffee,a drink or their food in a peaceful environment right in the center of Fira town. At a beautiful garden with palm trees, under the cool shade of a pergola you may taste delicious mediterranean flavors, accompanied with the wine of your choice, from our rich collection. 480 different selected labels from Santorini, Greece and around the world are carefully preserved in a 400 years old vaulted cave located 10 meters under the garden. For those who are interested in, wine tasting under the guidance of the qualified stuff is provided.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best restaurant in Fira”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent a week in Fira, this is the only place we went back to. The wine and beer menu are extensive. The food is perfectly cooked and well presented, you can tell that they care about quality and service. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincepapaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    339
    67
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wine Cellar!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great place just off the main square in Fira. The tables are situated in a very large garden area surprisingly quiet for being so close to the main road.

We ordered some wine on arrival and the friendly staff made great recommendations which was welcome (the wine list is huge). My OH ordered a potato, spinach cheese bake as a starter which was super rich and filling followed by oven baked lamb shank with roasted veggies. I had tomato fritters and the same lamb dish. There was so much meat!

We'd heard that there was a 400 year old wine cellar below the restaurant, so following from the meal, we asked about it and our waiter gladly took us on a mini tour, even giving us a sample of dessert wine to try!

Another fabulous choice to eat in Santorini!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank browney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having met our 'new best friends' the day before, they took us to the Pelican as they had been before and really enjoyed the food there. They were not wrong with their recommendation! Whilst we held back a bit ( planning dinner of course!) the food that we had between us was top quality and very reasonably priced. Great open garden/terrace setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and setting”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The caldera actually gets a bit boring so its nice to eat in other locations too! This is set in a beautiful garden and has a glass inside part if its windy. The food was exceptional. The service too, really helpful advice on the food and particularly wine. Offered to supply bday cake if needed...Recommend the pork in vinsanto and the quail..no souvlaki and chips for us!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliejofsaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine and Food Experts!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This family run restaurant is a gem - it might not have a view of the sea but the environment makes you feel like your dining in a rainforest. First night in Santorini I went as part of a large group and the last night m wife and I had to return because of how nice we were treated the first night.

The fava beans our outstanding as is the fish and pasta - I had the baked veal in ceramic pot which was mouth watering -

The waiter and all staff are very knowledgeable about wine and the cellar is a must see - (ask politely when its not busy for a tour)

I would go back to Santorini for many reasons but if i had to choose one reason it would be for some more food at the Pelican.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asta_lasagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Kipos also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Kipos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing