We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“individually tailored service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama's House

Mama's House
Ranked #28 of 180 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“individually tailored service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

lovely place. not really big enough to enable a round of applause. truly honest opinions of waiters about the daily meals, which fresh which best which more or less in the day of eating. if lucky, get to be served by Khatuna -- a very serious but hilariously funky waiter lady who manages to impress by knowledge of local stories and anecdotes! she makes your day there atop of the delicious grilled seabass!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esthetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    545
    215
    71
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“1st night in Santorini”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We chose Mama's House based on the recommendation of the hotel in which we were staying. Mama greated us. A bit of an entertaining character to say the least. The food was OK. The appetizers were very good. The entres, not so much. The sea bass was excellent. The rest Ok. My baked potato was served ice cold, which they replaced and apologized for. We noticed that other patrons seemed to be in and out quickly. Not a criticism - just an observation. It was a short walk from our hotel. We finished with an Ouzo. I was expecting a clear drink, but it was cloudy and it tasted like annesete. We'll have to try another one tomorrow night to confirm. Re the bar rating, there wasn't a bar. So once rated, I couldn't de rate it. The weather was great. I enjoyed the evening, regardless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRTinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate here with our teenage daughter in July and had a very nice dinner. Pretty patio, good food, and good service. Reasonable (not cheap but not expensive for the area)prices. No view, but very pleasant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LotsofHappyTrails2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Came across this place on our second night. Gorgeous food, great service and lovely
Atmosphere. Will definitely be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dior1911princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in Santorini, and have to admit ate here 3 times. Despite the competition it was reasonably priced, service was excellent, and a high standard of food was served. We found in Fira and Oia is really pays to walk away from the sunset places as although the food is good quality, didn't have a bad meal in two weeks, the prices over looking the Caldera were a bit silly in some places.

Ok to do it once but better value for money can be found. That is why we liked it here so much, it's hidden away by the bus station and after 8 it's hard to get a seat so we guess other people agree with us. Also they managed really well when the electric was hit and miss

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's House also viewed

 
Fira, Santorini
 

Been to Mama's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing