We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Mama's House

Mama's House
Ranked #35 of 188 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Mama's house is located right beside the taxi station in Fira. It doesn't have a fancy caldera view but what it offers is solid good food. The portion of the food is huge and is great value for the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    587
    246
    86
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had read about Mama's House when researching where to stay and eat in Fira on Santorini, and the reviewer raved about the meal at Mama's - we wholeheartedly agree. Upon arriving, Mama came over to the table to chat, saying that she adored Australians as she had lived in Australia as a young girl. Mama has a fabulous personality and food to match. We sat on the terrace and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the local wine recommended by the waitress. Particularly wonderful courses were the warm fava bean dip, assorted vegetable fritters and stuffed vegetables. A lovely experience which was most moderately priced - went to return on Easter Sunday, but like many shops and restaurants on Greek Easter, Mama was having a well- deserved holiday, so we left Santorini disappointed at not having more than one meal at Mama's - good excuse to return to this wonderful island!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DENISEMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Friday Night...”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited this lovely restaurant on Great Friday, before 4 days. To make it more clear Great Friday is called the day one day before Orthodox Christmas. This day is traditionfor orthodx not to eat meat, poultry, milk, eggs...So we were trying to find the proper place as more restaurants were closed for holiday.

Me and my friend we are working on the island. For me is the 4th year for her the first. Apart from being so many years on the island and i knew the place this was the first time i visited and i was very happy at the end that i did it.

The staff was very welcoming and the service was quick and friendly. We ordered fried squids (very tasty), ocyopus with sauce (large portion but the sauce was sweet, it was good but we prefer it just with vinegar), kalamari stuffed with vegetables (they served us but it had also cheese inside which wasn't mentioned on the menu, minor mistake). Generally the food was great and tasteful.

The only bad spot if we can say this was the toothpicks which were not packed which is a little bit unhygienic. We mention this and they say that this was made by accident.

Apart from this we will definitely visit again this place to taste other dishes and we definitely suggest it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food & Service. Value for money.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Warm & welcoming staff. Great home cooked type food. Great location within walking distance from Kamares Apartments. Did not have to wait long for our food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 04HappyCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST-VISIT whilst in Fira”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Good value for your money. Plenty of variety cooked Greek style and cooked just right. The staff is friendly and provided excellent service whilst we were there. Great atmosphere where you can sit outside in the garden or inside the restaurant when it gets chilly. If you are lucky enough to meet Mama, you will be greeted and showered with a warm hospitality giving the impression that she has known you for years.
We were in Santorini for three nights and guess what we had dinner twice at Mama's.
The location is in Fira town without the view of the Caldera but the home cooked, good value food is worth the sacrifice.
Dining with a view of Caldera Bay watching the sun set is of course scenic and romantic but at a price...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing