We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch food and service, even for a foodie like me.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archipelagos Restaurant

Archipelagos Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 178 Restaurants in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch food and service, even for a foodie like me.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We prepaid for a dinner reservation to Archipelagos through our travel agency TrueGreece, which by the way was terrific. W stayed at Astra Suits, which supposedly was a short 20 minutes walk to the restaurant, which turned out to be more like 40 minutes, but with the views all along the way, it was fun experience anyway.

We got there just before the sunset and the views was spectacular. The location of the restaurant is very busy, but it is below the street level with two main dining areas in two levels right on the cliffs overlooking the ocean, so you don't really feel that there are people on top of you.

The place isn't cheap, but our dinner was prepaid as part of the trip and all we had to pay for was a bottle of wine, which was around €30 or so.

Food was very solid and plentiful, some more traditional Greek and some more what we are used to as Greek in the states. Being from NY with plenty of great restaurants, it is hard to get terribly excited about food, but Archipelagos was a great choice with delicious food, great service and spectacular views. A solid A.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dknewro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    85
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food typicall recipes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice food , recipes could have more fantasy! A little expensive
Beautiful view !!! Very good service very polite staff... We will eat there again

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roula720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The restaurant has a good location on the Fira Caldera. Most tables have a very nice view.

The food is good, but not excellent. Mostly Greek/Mediterrean cuisine. They should try to simplify their dishes.

I would recommend it, but I would not go there again.

Good value for money for a taverna, right on the Caldera (there are plenty of far more expensive places).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a superb view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were recommended to eat here for lunch from the staff at our hotel (Astro Palace Suites and Spa, Fira) and I'm really glad they did as it was a really great restaurant! They have a variety of food choices. We ordered traditional greek food and it was absolutely delicious! So fresh and tasty! One of the best Greek salad's I've ever had. This is a must-do as the view while you eat of the caldera and ocean takes your breath away!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusannahAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food - great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a good restaurant... good food and amazing views.
I would recommend this since some other restaurants were over rated. Food was fresh and and service was good.

You might want to bring a little sweater if you are a woman, on the night we went in August it was very windy.

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravlerTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archipelagos Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Archipelagos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing