We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, avoid like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Butterfly Caldera Villas
Ranked #39 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting, avoid like the plague”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed. After 4 weeks traveling through Europe we got to santorini exhausted and looking forward to relaxing. The staff we're disgusting and made us feel as though we were intruding constantly. They were completely rude the entire time and made us not enjoy our stay at all! The hotel is a fair way away from the centre of santorini. The breakfast was plain and not very nice and the pool "bar" was a fridge behind a makeshift bar that generally had no one in it. Rooms are dingey and old also. Better off staying next door, we went there for lunch and were thoroughly disappointed that we hadn't stayed there! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tash626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    58
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

If you want to be away from the maddening crowds of Fira yet be just 10-15 minutes from town, this is a dream location. Cliff side on the Caldera. Perfect westward views for sunsets. Nice rooms, spotless and clean. GREAT pool.

Room Tip: They are ALL good rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfloating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We came for a wedding, and were a large group of wedding guests staying at this hotel, including the couple who was getting married. The lady in charge of the hotel was overall unfriendly, unpleasant and unhelpful. She had no booking system, and had not registered the extra night we had booked in advance - this was also the case for my mother. She was not at all helpful, and was reluctant to find a solution for the situation. Also, she placed my grandfather at the bottom of many stairs, although he had had a heart attack just a few days earlier and was told by the doctor to rest. My mother had to make a big scene before she was willing to take the situation seriously.

The breakfast was disappointing, as we were paying more than 100 euros a night - we were expecting a bit more than two slices of white bread, one slice of cheese and one slice of ham per person. If you wanted an egg or yoghurt, you had to ask for it. One morning, we were told they were out of eggs! In all, the staff (especially the lady in charge) were cheap and seemed to be more focused on saving money than making the guests feel welcome.

As we were celebrating a wedding, we expected to be taken care of by the staff, but this was not the case. Instead, we were yelled at one evening when we were gathered by the pool. It would have been ok if we were being loud, but that was not the case. And it felt unfair when the hotel staff were having a party outdoors he next night (around midnight) themselves!

The rooms were ok, but at this hotel, you obviously pay for the view, which was great - but that's about the only great thing about this hotel. You don't get what you expect - the web site says there's a bar, but I didn't see any. The "pool bar" was closed at all times, and the "TV room" was a joke.

We're usually not very picky when it comes to hotels, and again, the hotel facilities were ok, except for the disappointing breakfast and no bar, but we won't recommend this hotel to anyone because of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2011 paying €95/night for a studio

Like other reviewers I was a bit heistant because there were so few reviews.

The room was excellent - really large studio with very high celings - with the kitchen/living/dining area well away from the bed. Cooking facilities were limited but we were eating cold food most of the time anyway

Balcony was private with great views - as good as any I saw in Fira or Oia

Breakfast was included and I thought was excellent - simple enough but plenty of food and all served to you in a great setting

Really nice pool - its small but it was relatively quiet while we were there

Bit of a walk into Fira - 25 minutes and taxi would be about €10 - but close to supermarket etc

Found the owners really good and cleaning service etc was excellent also

I would definitely look for rooms closer to the cliff - I think 15 and 16 - they are the most private

I'd looked around a lot for hotels with caldera views, private balcony etc and this was excellent value for money to my mind

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

These holidays we went to 5 countries & 9 cities. Out of all the places we visited, the whole family rated Santorini as the no. 1 place we visited with the accommodation being no. 2 (would have been no. 1 if we had connecting rooms, although having 2 rooms was fine) The pool was such a big plus with the hot weather!! & very thankful to have good air conditioning. Although a little far from Fira, it was great to be away from the noise of the town & the view was spectacular! In fact the view of the volcano & the bay at Butterfly Villas was much better than Fira & Oia!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdviser04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I was pretty nervous about booking here considering there were hardly many comments and even fewer pictures to boot.

We arrived late in the evening on Sept 1. It was a crazy experience getting from the airport to Fira with a rental car. They drive like maniacs and there are basically no street signs to help you along the narrow, winding streets. I took a taxi to this hotel from my brother's hotel in Fira. I was dismayed about the 5 minutes it took to go south - and it seemed really far - but all this was actually a blessing. That night the little markets across the street were closed and we were looking for a beer to relax after the long traveling day. They gave us beer out of their own private refrigerator. The people who run this hotel are wonderfully warm and down to earth. They were always ready to call us a cab so we could go into the town. If there were no cabs (because there was a cruise ship or they were all at the airport), then they even drove us with their own car.

The hotel is quiet, clean, peaceful, relaxing, there were practically no guests. It has several different levels. We were at the bottom and it seemed the most private. Rooms 15 and 16 I think. You have your own little balcony that you share with the room next to you and a view that you can spend hours looking at. Pictures do not do this justice. And it is definitely MUCH better than being in crazy and loud Fira. Plus there is an AMAZING bakery up the street across from the mexican restaurant. Yup. That is pretty much how you describe how to get somewhere. You just have to know where things are and use them as landmarks.

We only intended to stay 6 nights. We stayed for 11. It was AMAZING. Why would you ever leave that island??? You go to visit another island and you only end up drinking Mythos and eating Tzaziki with a baguette and missing the view anyhow.

The breakfast is definitely the only thing that I think they should work on. The selection was a bit limited - bread, greek yogurt, honey, jam, coffee, orange juice, maybe some fruit if you ask for it. It just seemed like they had run to the LIDL down the street to get a few basic things.

The other minor complaint was that the bathroom was basically right next to the bed. And that was a bit awkward if someone else was in the room and you needed some privacy. They need to work on sound proofing the bathroom :D.

Out of the many friends and relatives we had staying in Fira, we believe we had the better and CHEAPER deal. Plus our pool really did have a view. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabinecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

CAUTION: Not all rooms in this place have been renovated at the same time, so you never know what you're going to get. We arrived at Butterfly Villas late at night and were given a room that was obviously way older than what is pictured on the website. It was probably furnished sometime in the 70's or 80's. The next day, we saw the cleaning lady cleaning an empty room that was newer and did look like the pics on the website. We talked to the owner, a Hungarian woman, in a very non-confrontational way and asked if there was anything she could do for us. She immediately got aggravated and started giving my girlfriend a hard time (my girlfriend is the one who speaks Greek). We finally just let the whole thing rest. Later on we came up and asked for a couple towels since our room had not been cleaned that day. The lady was immediately aggravated once again and tried to blame the situation on us saying that we slept in and didn't leave the room on time. I reminded her that we were at breakfast and that she called a cab for us in the morning, so we had been out of the room from 8:30 on. The next day, the cleaning lady (who is normally very nice) made it a point to tell us that she got in trouble for not cleaning our room. One of the other girls that also works with us was short with us one morning as well. Overall, the staff made us feel as if we wanted to leave. I would have left after the first day or two, but they charged our credit card in full, weeks before our arrival, even though they said they would only take a one-night deposit. Other guests were also having similar problems with the staff as well. Lastly, the pool bar they advertised was boarded and closed the entire time we were there with an unplugged refrigerator padlocked with a rusty chain and warm beverages locked inside. Overall, the place has a great view, but just delivered a very poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Azzurro Suites
Azzurro Suites
#54 of 80 in Fira
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nefeles Suites Hotel
Nefeles Suites Hotel
#39 of 80 in Fira
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#16 of 80 in Fira
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#24 of 80 in Fira
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano View Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Caldera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Caldera Villas

Property: Butterfly Caldera Villas
Address: St. Irene Area, Fira 840 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Caldera Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butterfly Caldera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Caldera Villas Hotel Fira
Butterfly Caldera Villas Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing