We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, amazing personal service.!”
Review of Antithesis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antithesis Hotel
Ranked #44 of 51 Fira B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, amazing personal service.!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on our honeymoon, and this was probably our favourite hotel in Greece. We stayed in the honeymoon cave suite. Our room was a good size and the balcony was just as big with a great view of the volcano. The view could also be appreciated from the bed since it has a window right in front of it
The breakfast was simple, and delivered to our room every morning.
Since the hotel was only 5 rooms we got to spent time with Inna, the manager, who gave us great recommendations of place to see and eat, places that are not usually visited by tourists. Inna also gave us a free bottle of Greek wine when we reached the hotel and also arranged for a pick up and drop for free.
Antithesis has a hotel to only one side, which also gives it some more privacy than other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarunJagwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    12
    3
    12
See reviews for
13
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel has a perfect location and a wonderful view.You can get a beautiful volcano view at the balcony.The staff of the hotel is very very very nice and they give us a lot of useful information.That is the best hotel I have ever stay in Greece.

I love the hotel!!! We had the Suite with Very Large Terrace privet only for us with amazing view. We had so good time at ‘Antithesis’, therefore it’s very Romantic place with unique design in very central Location, all museums, restaurants and shops just 3 minutes away from the Hotel. The Hotel was very clean, very helpful staff, the rooms are traditional Caves very nice, what make’s very special that place. Very important we had the Best view with Volcano, Sunset and Aegean Sea. We all ready book the Suite for our next visit in Santorini. The best place for Honeymoon!!!

I totally Recommend to stay at 'Antithesis' Hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mama35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Right from the beginning it was not the best- we were travelling as 2 couples, the staff knew this yet they came to pick us up from the airport with a tiny car which only seated 2 people and barely fitted our luggage- Needless to say, 2 of us had to wait behind while the driver did a trip and then came back to get the remaining 2 of us.(40 minutes later) Then when he dropped us off, he left us to find the hotel on our own accord from the cliff top and carry our luggage down those VERY STEEP and dangerous steps. Please be aware- these steps are not safe- it is very hard to climb up and down these if you are not fit young and strong and forget about luggage, its a nightmare to bring anything up and down those stairs. The rooms are VERY VERY small- my husband is 6'2 and bumped his head on the side of the cave wall each time he stood up- they are not spacious at all. The shower is situated ABOVE the toilet- there is no door for the shower/toilet so it is all open!.Forget privacy when you go to the toilet as it is non existant .Each time you take a shower, the entire space gets wet and the water seeps into the room. it is incredibly inconvenient and messy and way too tight. Our air conditioning didnt work for 2 of the nights and the staff kept insinuationg that it was our fault for "messing with the remote!' we had to sleep without an air conditioner on the last night as the manager did not follow up with the fixing of the air conditioner as she had promised and she went home for the night ; hence we returned from dinner to a very hot stuffy room and just had to deal with it- she did not offer any compensation or reimbursement for our inconvenience- The breakfast, although brought to us on the balcony which was very nice, was ver very basic consisting of old pastries, boiled eggs and stale fruit- this was not very satisfactory. For the price we paid- $150 Euros- we felt this was completely too expensive and was not what was quoted on the website which had changed when we got there. the view is spectacular- this i can say was the best thing- in fact breathtaking- if you are happy with a hotel that has location but nothing else at all in the form of conveniences, then you should go to this hotel- otherwise, if i were you, i would very much have second thoughts about going there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjorieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is a small hotel/b&b on the Fira cliff face. The hotel is on three levels, with a suite on the top level, a junior suite on the middle level, and a standard room + reception on the third level (there are only the three rooms).

The first thing to know is that the steps are STEEP and there is no hand-rail. I only had carry-on size luggage, but even getting that down the steps was scary. If you are overweight, not agile, or plan on bringing large cases, you may wish to take something to settle your nerves before attempting the steps.

Rooms are like caves cut into the rock. They are quite small, and for the most part I (6 feet) couldn't stand upright except in the middle of the room. I stayed in the junior suite, which has an ensuite bathroom/toilet. You should also know that the shower is not separated from the toilet or sink at all (i.e. no shower curtain or anything). So you need to remove everything you don't want to get wet (toilet paper, etc.) before taking a shower. That was pretty annoying.

More positively, the bedding was quite comfortable, the A/C worked very well, and everything was functional.

Of course, the biggest selling point for anything on the Fira cliff face is the sunset. For this, Antithesis gets high marks. Certainly from the upper two floors, there is an unobstructed panorama over the caldera at sunset from the patio. Excellent.

Location is also very good, close to all the shops and restaurants.

Service was a bit hit-and-miss. We first had to ask for toilet paper (that's one trip up and down the stairs), then a coffee maker (that's a second trip), and then found that we didn't have any mugs (OK, we gave up at that point). Breakfast started at 8:30; no complaints, but it was pretty spartan. The WiFi access point is in the reception on the lowest level, so you can pretty much forget about getting a signal from the suite level.

Staff were a plus, and went out of their way to help (it got to the point of 'hovering' sometimes). Every request was responded to cheerfully.

A taxi from the airport should cost you about 20 Euro including tip. Most taxis don't have any idea where the hotel is, and they can't take you to the Antithesis' door anyway. Best thing is to ask them to take you to the Atlantis hotel. Then walk right along the market, and head left down the footpath to the orange stucco of Antithesis.

Overall, I thought the Antithesis was a bit overpriced considering the quality of the accommodation. You can get an equally good sunset view from the footpath above the hotel. For a romantic evening on the patio, I would see if there are better deals at neighboring places, but wouldn't have a problem staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I booked a suprise night last weekend here and it matched all expectations. Accommodation kept in contact via e-mail, they could not do enough for us. The rooms are spotless, beautiful and so romantic. Cave liked rooms with their own baconies with the bst views of Fira. I say in the morning watching the cruise ships come into port from 300 feet up. Best views in the world and I've been to the Grand Canyon, but the view here is from your room. They also provided breakfast on the balcony for us.....fabulous, everyone who goes to Fira or santorini should have a romantic night here......my other half loved it so much I'm in her good books for years!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Located just below the lower half of the Archipelagos restaurant on the Caldera, and owned by the same people. These apartments are traditional and built into the natural caves left within the cliff face following the volcanic erruption that has left the island in its current layout.

We spent just one night here during our week long holiday. Our hotel was situated further back in the Katikies area of Fira so we therefore did not have a Cladera view each evening. This was our special treat.

To our knowledge there are only 2 apartments here, both of which we viewed.
The small studio style apartment is tiny-with a bed and small kitchen unit with cooker etc opposite plus a small shower room with toilet and sink. All very clean but a struggle if you like space. The terrace outside is lovely-a small pagoda covered in vines with a view over the caldera and the famous sunset.
The large apartment is still a little small but a great deal more spacious than the studio. It also boast the best terrace ever! It has two wooden chars with linen supports and a wooden table between them (for the ultimate uninterrupted view). There is also a seating area in the corner beneath a wooden pagoda (offers no shade) which is much more plush with padded cotton seats and a large rustic looking table. The partment itself has a large seating area that would easily sleep another 2 adults if needs be. The bed is suspended above the floor with a large window that overlooks the church beside the apartments and the caldera. There is also a small kitchen area with fridge, cooker and air conditioning unit. The shower room is a smaller adjoining cave with a good shower, sink and toilet. very, very cute. We chose to stay in this larger apartment after Dimitra, the owner offered us the room at a slightly better rate than usual.
The restaurant offered to serve our meal on our balcony at sunset, following the loss of our original booking in the private lounge area of the restaurant (group booking). Good choice! We're glad this happened as we had the most beautiful service-the rustic (if a little uneven-we broke a champagne glass due to poor balancing) table was covered with a green linen cloth and tall candles/lanterns and a few shells. It looked very pretty indeed. The meal was lovely, as expected and they didnt seem to mind the fact that we were drinking our own champagne.
We watched the sunset alone, undisturbed and with very little spectation from the caldera top above us. Overall it seems very private.

The only qualm we have is the fact that the apartments don't seem to have been maintained very thoroughly. There are cobwebs on the windows and the floors need to be scrubbed, as they are very old and dusty. However they are overal rather clean.

We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kavalari
Hotel Kavalari
#36 of 80 in Fira
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Grey Goose Hotel
0.0 mi away
Andronis Honeymoon
Andronis Honeymoon
#2 of 77 in Fira
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Thireas
Hotel Thireas
#8 of 51 in Fira
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel Luxury Suites
Angel Luxury Suites
#45 of 77 in Fira
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Roussa
Villa Roussa
#31 of 77 in Fira
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antithesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antithesis Hotel

Property: Antithesis Hotel
Address: Caldera Cliff, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antithesis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Antithesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antithesis Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing