We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we stayed longer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antithesis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antithesis Hotel
Ranked #42 of 48 Fira B&B and Inns
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wished we stayed longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Only stayed 2 nights and I wish we would have just sat on the deck for half of that. I liken it to Haleakala crater with water, cruise ships and villages hanging from the cauldrera's edge. The challenges were parking although we managed to find a spot both nights(very small car) and luggage down the stairs to the hotel. Oh finding it was somewhat achallege too. Once settled in we enjoyed the location immensely as it was close to all the business in Fira.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibresqone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    12
    3
    12
See reviews for
13
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

this B&B only has a few rooms but the location is fantastic in the centre of Fira but in a reasonably calm area, next to an old church (closed). Great service from the staff, especially Dimitri. We got the top apartment, with a small extra price, for a couple of nights and it was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach51216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed there for three days in May. The price was 150 Euro per night for a tripple room. The room was very small and bed too. The room was just along the street and we didn't get any good view of the sea. We paid extra 7 Euro for breakfast per person, the breakfast was pretty simple and total not worth it. With this price we could have done better in other hotels and inclued breakfast. And actually the photo on the cover was not the hotel itself. It was a small church just beside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RochelleLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fira hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Whenever you will need a warm place to stay in Santorini (Fira), you should try staying at Antithesis Hotel. The rooms are very clean with a nice decoration. The view from the hotel is very interesting and tempating as well. The owners of the hotel (Dimitris & Inna) would welcome you with a smile and they would help you enjoying your stay. The room rates are very good regarding the services provided from the hotel. You will surely have an overall satisfaction from your visit to Antithesis Hotel, and definitely you will plan to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FotisMitsakisJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Something very romantic, but a lot resembles an old failing caravan.

Pros: It is romantic. Nothing like a cave and big balcony views to trigger romance.
Relatively spacious.
Really Large Balcony (if you get the top floor).
Great Views and an old church on one side.

Cons: The cutlery and crockery and bedclothes resemble an old caravan style,
really not befitting.
The lights are very dark at night.
You will likely bang your head at some point as the ceilings are curved and low.
The doors and fitments etc are all kind of ham-fisted put together.
It is not particularly clean, to be honest its hard to see inside
anyway but when we could see, we could not help but notice clumps
of black hair etc in a lot of places.
Breakfast is not great at all.

Note: there are only 3 or 4 rooms in this hotel.

The male operator seems very smooth and likeable.
However, the lady operator (is nice enough but) does seem very money-grabbing,
insisting you pay port transfers in cash immediately, and trying everything
she can to get you to pay upfront - or wants to hold your passport
until you do - seems a bit unheard of, not very pleasant at all.
Perhaps she is not from Santorini though as we didn't experience this
in any other hotel in Santorini or other Greek island.

There are a number of unbarriered stairs, but you should be fine if not
infirm on your feet. They will transfer your luggage up and down as you wish
no problem.

If you don't get the top floor unit, then expect everyone to be walking past your
door and window, as the rooms are all built outside on top of each other.
The top floor is not particularly private either but workable, as
no-one can really walk up to your window unless lost or the owners
putting out breakfast in the morning.

General comment:
Why Greek hotels don't just serve what even relatively healthy people eat
instead of mostly just loads of white bread and cakes baffles me, no-one
ever seems to be able to eat it. Bring your own cereals, fruit etc
if in any way health conscious or don't want to gravitate to diabetes.

CONCLUSION:
Although there are problems, there is something very romantic about
the room we had on the top floor - we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

However, there are plenty clean modern cave style hotels nearby at the same [high] pricetag
with the same views that may be better suited or a better bargain - these
hotels are not cheap, we tried others - while we liked this one we are glad we
did not go it after the others, as they were a lot more flash, modern and clean.

Room Tip: Top room if you want any privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on our honeymoon, and this was probably our favourite hotel in Greece. We stayed in the honeymoon cave suite. Our room was a good size and the balcony was just as big with a great view of the volcano. The view could also be appreciated from the bed since it has a window right in front of it
The breakfast was simple, and delivered to our room every morning.
Since the hotel was only 5 rooms we got to spent time with Inna, the manager, who gave us great recommendations of place to see and eat, places that are not usually visited by tourists. Inna also gave us a free bottle of Greek wine when we reached the hotel and also arranged for a pick up and drop for free.
Antithesis has a hotel to only one side, which also gives it some more privacy than other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarunJagwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.0 mi away
Santorini Reflexions Volcano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Keti
Hotel Keti
#16 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iriana Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Grey Goose Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villa Roussa
Villa Roussa
#35 of 77 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Archontiko Santorini
Archontiko Santorini
#28 of 77 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antithesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antithesis Hotel

Property: Antithesis Hotel
Address: Caldera Cliff, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antithesis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Antithesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antithesis Hotel Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing