We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very bad managers/owners attitude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gianna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gianna Suites
Ranked #28 of 48 Fira B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very bad managers/owners attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

To put our experience into context it is important to realise that Santorini is a very touristic island and as tourists yourselves you just become another number. We booked our room through the hotel website as it was cheaper and when we arrived we were told there were no available rooms in the hotel and we were given various excuses about faulty baths and were assured there would be a room the following night. We were then put in a neighbouring hotel, which was certainly not of the same quality. The following night we were given the same excuses again and had to remain in the neighbouring hotel. We felt taken advantage of and felt very unwelcome. Luckily one of us spoke Greek and made our dissatisfaction known and we were given a discount. I think it is safe to say that we would not recommend this hotel to anyone simply because of the attitude of its managers/owners, although we have no actual idea of what staying in this hotel is like.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Voula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    15
    13
    31
See reviews for
7
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend only two nights and it was the best hotel among all we have visited in Greece. Really nice service, good breakfast and amazing views from balcony. Rooms are very clean and nice. I recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iv0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We were supposed to have a bedroom for 4 people, we found out that the room was for 2 people only, and they had added 2 uncomfortable beds. But instead of paying the room + 2 additional beds, we had to pay as if we had had 2 rooms !! So it was VERY expensive.

Besides that, the staff from hotel was rude, and the food of the breakfast was not fresh and disgusting.

For the same price you can easily find much better quality and warmer welcome !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abcxyz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fira hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed here for five nights this summer. Like the other review, there has been considerable money spent on updating the outside of the property and it is beautiful. The pool is lovely - though only has the sun on it in the morning, and is in the shade mid afternoon, if the owner hasn't gone out and locked up access to it. Sometimes she leaves a key out, but most of the time she forgot.
However the money needs to be spent on the rooms themselves. The furniture is a bit of a mismatch, and the room was quite small. The wardrobe had seem much better days, one door wouldn't open and the other had a screw sticking out which you had to be careful not to catch clothes on.
There was air conditioning which was a god send, however it did smell funny and despite telling the owner, nothing seemed to be done about it.
It was the bathroom which was most amusing - the size of most downstairs cloakrooms, literally 5ft by 2ft, including the shower toilet and wc. to say it was cramped was an understatement.

I didn't mind the location, though be warned there is a steep hill to negotiate to get out of the property and is a bit dodgy coming back down it on the way back as I almost slipped a couple of times. It's about a 15 minute walk back into hte main part of Thira town and you do have to negotiate the never ending stream of quad bikes that are going to and from Oia.

If I went back to Thira i don't know as I'd stay here again, but I certainly would recommend it as a cheap cheerful and friendly place to stay. Though not the most spacious.

Be warned if you arrive by ferry, you do need to try and arrange a taxi before hand. Athiniois port seems poorly equipped to meet the boats, there was only one taxi and had to wait half an hour and then five strangers shared to get us into town. Also, the taxi drivers are opportunistic. Took 12 euros from each of us, for a 12euro fare.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellonophile20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Location: it’s very close to Thira – just next to the folklore museum, which is about ten min walk from the bus terminal. However, the map on booking.com is incorrect – it’s misleading for us to believe it’s actually IN Thira. The area is quiet.

Rooms: the house looks nice from outside but I have to say I’m a little disappointed with the inside, especially the bathroom. The room itself is spacious and feels neat and the furniture and facilities (AC, fridge, TV) are simple and functional, but the wardrobe is shabby. So is the bathroom – didn’t like the shower.

Services: we only stayed one night before we caught the flight back to Athens, so didn’t use many of its services, except for the swimming pool, which is very good I must say. Another note on the services: they don’t provide port pick-up and, when I asked for direction from Thira, they simply told me to get a taxi, without bothering giving more information rather than “next to the folklore museum” (the museum is usually not shown on the Thira map because it’s outside of the Thira centre!) so that didn’t help at all!

In general, we think it’s over-priced for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alizea Villas & Suites
2.2 mi away
Santorini Mesotopos
Santorini Mesotopos
#9 of 48 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anatoli Hotel
Anatoli Hotel
#1 of 48 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altea Apartments
Altea Apartments
#14 of 48 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Giorgio Villa
San Giorgio Villa
#3 of 48 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Fira Hotel
Central Fira Hotel
#12 of 48 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gianna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gianna Suites

Property: Gianna Suites
Address: Main Street, Fira 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Fira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gianna Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional as much as modern exterior decor will give you the best welcome.Soft colours and a paved with slabs courtyard light the spark in order to discover the greatness of Santorini.Facilities & ServicesVilla Gianna’s people know how to make your stay just unpretentiously splendid. During the 26 years of villa’s operation they have accommodate visitors from all over the world and know the art of hospitality.With care and fresh goods will prepare your breakfast that you will enjoy in the courtyard under the blue sky and the bright sun that light up Cyclades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Gianna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gianna Suites Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing